Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    dcomx.exe error (XP)

    Hi,
    For the past three days when I've gone to use my computer there has been a microsoft error that dcomx.exe has an error and has had to be shut down. I'm not sure what this pertains to. When I did a search in Google I can't find any info related to it. I searched my computer and found the file in C:Windowssystem32. I do not shut my computer down at night so this has nothing to do with rebooting it. The error seems to be there first thing in the morning.

    My antivirus program detected a worm virus two days ago and got rid of it without any issues. This seemed to start prior to that.

    Any idea?

    Thanks,
    Leesha

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: dcomx.exe error (XP)

    Leesha--

    Can you reproduce/paste the exact error verbatim with any numbers associated? Reason: I can find a lot of errors associated with dcom.exe and corrupt dcom.exe dll files on newsgroups--none in searching the MSKB hard, so I want all the help I can get. The many msdn white papers on this aren't going to help. I can get it defined for you:

    825750: How to Disable DCOM Support in Windows
    DCOM: Distritubed Component Object Model

    You could always back up; set a restore point; back up the registry key/export it; and disable it as the KB describes if you aren't networked reasoning you might not need it for networks support, but I don't know enough about that as a fix to endorse that it's completely safe. Sure would like to see the entire error then we might nail it.

    SMBP

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: dcomx.exe error (XP)

    Hi SMBP,

    I'm not sure what is causing the error so I'm not sure how to reproduce it. It seems to be a daily occurance so I will get you the info you requested the next time it comes up and post it. In the meantime I'll take a look at the document you linked for me.

    Re restoring, that will be my last resort as when I did that about 6 months ago due to a run of issues going on, the problems only got worse. I ended up having the computer reformatted for me (it was due as it had been over 2 years since it was built) and have had no issues since till now. I hesitate to do that as the computer is running smoothly other than this issue. The only new software installed is software for Sonicwall's VPN client which I've uninstalled to see if it was the cause and it wasn't related.

    The other issue is that this computer is in fact networked with 3 other computers and acts as the server.

    Thanks for you help,
    Leesha

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: dcomx.exe error (XP)

    One more thing. I noticed your link is specific to DCOM. This error was for dcomx.exe. I wasn't sure if they were in the same family or not and just wanted to be sure.

    Thanks again,
    Leesha

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: dcomx.exe error (XP)

    I do not have this file (Windows XP Pro laptop, TCP/IP networking). Please give us the following information, if you can:

    1. <LI>Right-click the file, choose Properties, then Version. Anything there that would identify the author, purpose, etc. of the EXE file?
      <LI>Start>Run>regedit, please search for dcomx in the Registry and see if you can find any references to it.
      <LI>Also, can you think of any processes that run during the night that might use this EXE? Maybe backup??
    We'll figure it out eventually. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: dcomx.exe error (XP)

    Leesha--

    I didn't so much mean run system restore as to set a restore point if you followed the KB being quick to admit, I don't know enough about the adverse implications if you did to be able to stand behind that. I don't know how recently this started--that might be a factor. I don't think you would hurt yourself trying it( running system restore) if you knew when this behavior started, I think the downside would be that you might not get the snapshot restored. Sorry about and am not sure what happened in the sitaution you related.

    But if you can get the information on the error, and some of the information Jefferson is looking for on a rt. click property--there are a number of people in the lounge who are used to working with com--component object models--I'm not one--who might be able to pinpoint this.

    SMBP

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: dcomx.exe error (XP)

    Hi,

    I've posted a screenshot of the properties for the file. I'm not sure why it says it was created Aug.1 as this started a little over a week ago. I'm not sure what program it would be related to. I'm running XP Pro on both this computer and my laptop. Both computers are pretty identical in programs. The laptop does not have a dcomx.exe file but does have a dcomx.dll file. Both computers had Sonic Wall's VPN Client installed about a week and a half ago. The laptop has never given me this error , whoever I had to uninstall the program on the laptop due to network conflicts at the office (grrrrrrrrrr). For the heck of it I unistalled the VPN client from the computer that is having the isse but that did not correct the issue. I've virus scanned twice and show nothing. That is the only thing that is different between the two computers. The one with the issue got hit with the worm virus on Thursday of last week but was caught and gotten rid of I presumed before any damage was done.

    When I looked at the author etc. under the properties it was blank. Other than the antivirus, there is nothing that runs during the night.

    I didn't see anything in the registry that contains the name of this file.

    Thanks for the help!! I like my computers to run squeeky clean and although this doesn't appear to be affecting the performance it is driving me nuts. Also, I'm been working on this computer most of the day making a video and the error came up once, so it isn't just during the night. Unfortunately is was before I was asked to get all the specifics so I will do that next time it comes up.

    Thanks!
    Leesha

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: dcomx.exe error (XP)

    Have you worked with/installed any financial programs, done day trading or similar?

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: dcomx.exe error (XP)

    I'd be inclined to rename the file dcomx_exe.old and see what happens.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: dcomx.exe error (XP)

    Hi Bruce,

    Nope to both of these questions. Just for my own constant "need to understand", why do you ask?

    Leesha

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: dcomx.exe error (XP)

    I didn't think of that. I will try this as soon as I get the error message again, and can make a copy of the info contained it so that I can post it here. It wasn't there this morning and I haven't had it since yesterday afternoon.

    Leesha

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: dcomx.exe error (XP)

    Hi, Leesh ~

    I thought it may be associated with some pecuniary app. Have you run SpyBot and AdAware?

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: dcomx.exe error (XP)

    Hey Bruce,

    Funny that you should mention Spybot. I just uninstalled it from the computer. Your mention of it made me recall that I had uninstalled it over early last week due to getting error messages re a virus being associated with it. I'd do a virus scan and nothing would be picked up. Yet each AM I'd get the same message. I figured my antivirus didn't like Spybot. Of course I've had both on the computer for forever so I don't know what the issue was. I honestly don't recall if the dcomx.exe issue started after I removed spybot or not.

    Thank God I love a good mystery! Although this one is driving me nuts. It does give me some comfort that if you guys don't have an immediate fix, then at least I'm not an idiot! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Leesha

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: dcomx.exe error (XP)

    Hi, Leesh ~

    First time I ever heard of anybody not liking SpyBot-S&D - it should be your one saving grace. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    There are NO virii associated with SpyBot-S&D. Except the same name, this relatively new virus named 'Spybot' has absolutely nothing to do with Spybot-S&D. The virus 'Spybot' (see different names below) is basically a keylogger. Here is some information from AV companies:<UL><LI>McAfee: W32/Spybot.worm.gen
    <LI>Symantec: W32.Spybot.Worm
    <LI>Panda Software: W32/Spybot
    <LI>Kaspersky: Worm.P2P.SpyBot.gen[/list]This virus is NOT part of Spybot-S&D, nor is the Spybot-S&D infected with it. I, as well as most other Loungers, highly recommend you download, install & update <A target="_blank" HREF=ftp://ftp.download.com/pub/win95/internet/spybotsd12.exe>SpyBot-S&D 1.2</A>, then run it.

    If SpyBot does not find and remove it as a result of being related to adware, spyware or some other nuisance or malware, however, my suspicion is that 'dcomx.exe' is a vestigial remnant component of something similar yet that isn't defined and crashing as a result of its inability to locate other files such as DLLs on which it may depend or may just be corrupted. I would try the renaming and if all goes well, then obliterate it and any other references of same in system files/folders and registry.

    That file may be part of the 'SpyBot' worm with which you were indeed infected and you may need to run a good AV removal tool.

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: dcomx.exe error (XP)

    Hi Bruce,

    First, I did like SpyBot and only removed it due to misreading the virus file which was in fact called "symantc:W32.spybot.worm. <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15> I'm pretty anal about my "boys" (all my computers are named as I spend so much time with them) and I can't believe this got past me. I hope I've at least redeemed myself by admitting I use and like Sypbot. If it helps, the networking engineer for my job didn't realize there was a worn virus with a similar name and he's a rocket scientist!!!

    Anyway, I will do another virus scan on "Jake". If it comes up clean I wil reinstall spybot and run it. I will then go in and rename the dcomx.exe file and pray there are no network related issues. If in 2-3 weeks there are no functional issues I'll get rid of it. For good measure I will run the tool you gave me in your post.

    Thanks so much for all the info.

    <img src=/S/bananas.gif border=0 alt=bananas width=33 height=35>

    Leesha

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •