Lounger
    Thanks

User Login / Password log (Access 2000)

Hi

I am working on a small DB application and the project overseer would like to see a login page for the three users that will be using the application. The only thing I have thought of so far is to create a User table that stores the User ID and password, also a form to accept the user ID and password not sure what code to use to validate. The other requirement would be to maintain an activity log on the user. If the user is logged in and it's important to know when the users has changed a form, table or report. If someone could help I would really appreciate it. Unfortunately I am not a programmer but I am trying to learn. Thanks

Sonya

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: User Login / Password log (Access 2000)

The best way to secure an Access database is by implementing user-level security. It may seem daunting at first, but it really isn't that hard, especially if you use the Security Manager Wizard. Access moderator <!profile=WendellB>WendellB<!/profile> has a tutorial on security on his website (link in his profile, look for Support > Tutorials) with many useful links.

Usually, end users are only allowed to enter and modify data; you can keep track of this by including a UserName (text) and Modified (date/time) field in each table, and setting this field in the BeforeUpdate event of forms bound to the tables. Letting users modify the design of forms and reports is not a good idea in a multi-user environment; in the first place, the database must be locked for exclusive use when the design of a form or report is being edited, in the second place, it easily leads to database corruption.

Lounger
    Thanks

Hans