Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Management console (Home)

    I have diskeeplite. This morning when I ran it and it had just finished, a window popped up saying:

    Microsoft management console has discovered an error and will close.
    App. Name: MMC.exe app ver 5.1.2600.00 Mod name unknown Mod ver 00.0.0 offset 00000000
    Following files will be included in error report C:docume~1donlocals~1tempwer4.tmp.dir00appcompat.t xt

    I hope one of you can help me, again. <grin> I really really hope it was only a one time dealy that I hopefully, have no need to concern myself about <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16> ...I am liking a lot about XP, but some days, I wish I had windows 98 back. <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>. OMG did I really just say that <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15> I swore I would never say that. <img src=/S/noevil.gif border=0 alt=noevil width=25 height=17>

    Victoria

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Management console (Home)

    The only way of telling whether it was a one-time problem or not is to try running DiskeeperLite again! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    The Microsoft Management Console (v1.2 at least) is notoriously flaky, anyway.

    It might be worth you trying to open in NOTEPAD (or whatever) the file pointed to by the error message, which may give some clues as to why it fell over?
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Management console (Home)

    That error is pointing to a Microsoft Word Document. {wer4.temp.dir00appcompat.txt} Appcompat.txt is an error file generated by the compatibility mode of Windows XP

    From what I am finding you are just one of many running into this problem and it's not just while defraging. One thing you might try is cleaning out your Temp Files and then try again. I am still reading some other things and I will get back to you.

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Management console (Home)

    All you have to do is right click on Internet Explorer, click on Properties, And where it says Temporary Internet Files, click the button in the middle that says " Delete Files". It will delete the save ones for you.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Management console (Home)

    Victoria,

    I see that error all the time when I run diskeeper lite from MMC. I normally just run it from the Start menu to avoid having to remember to ignore it. Executive software probably won't be of any help 'cause I'm pretty sure they don't offer DK lite any more.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Management console (Home)

    Yeah I think it has to do with the PlugIn from Diskeeper Lite.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Management console (Home)

    Victoria, Do you mean you run DKL as a program from the start menu and still get the error? Or do you mean you start MMC from the start menu and run DKL as the MMC plugin and get ther error? I've never had a problem running the DLK executable. BTW, I can not find DKL on the executive software (or diskeeper) site. Are you sure you did not d/l a trial version of DK 7.0?

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Management console (Home)

    Thanks for the input guys...but...I have used diskeeper lite on my old win98 and no problemo..I have it installed on my husbands laptop..No problemo. I had used diskeeperlite on this Xp from Nov of last year until this past July. At that point, the whole system crashed for whatever reason (I think, I had a bootsector virus, but was not sure, couldn't keep it going long enough to run a virus scan). The errors msgs. also pointed to it maybe being a hardware problem. this thing is still under warranty so I took it into futureshop to have them check it out..tech said nada to the hardware problem after a (supposedly 3 hour scan !! of all things hardware) and said it probably (!) had been a boot sector virus. Which could not be checked?? (when it finally stopped with the nasty error messages, (twice) it booted for the last time and said no O/S found) Anyway, he restored it back to factory. He so kindly (sarcasm here) told me he had updated all my hotfixes etc..for me. Till the crash with SP1 on it (came with that on it), no problemo..Since I have had it back with all the updates, its just not the same as it was b/4 the crash.(all sorts of different things on here compared to what I had b/4). I am sooooo tempted to just do my own restore back to factory at this point. <img src=/S/surrender.gif border=0 alt=surrender width=31 height=23> and install the updates I think I need, not what he thought I needed. <img src=/S/rantoff.gif border=0 alt=rantoff width=66 height=37>
    The one thing that was added when I had it there, was more RAM..I had 128 and I had him install 256 more..needed that.
    I don't think that has any consequence on the issues I am having now..
    Thanks.

    Victoria

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Management console (Home)

    Joe
    I have never used MMC. I have never even been there, I do my maint. manually, (chkdsk and the like) wouldn't know it if I saw it. I have though read about it in the help files, so I am not totally clueless about it. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15> . When I use dklite, the majority of the time I go to the start menu program. If the popup screen comes up recommending (!) I defrag. ( this screen pops up every 3 or 4 days.) I, the very, very odd time will click on it, to activate the defrag utility. I am usually doing something else, so I just close it and run dklite when I am done whatever.. If that is triggered by the MMC, I guess I have been unknowingly using the MMC. I thought that was the plugin referred to? to be honest, that day it errored on me, I am not sure I ran from start menu or the popup.
    I got the free version from Webattack..not from the dksite.. http://www.webattack.com/get/dkeeperlite.shtml
    If memory serves me well (which it has been know not to) I tried looking for it July at the executive software site and did not find the free version either. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Victoria

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Management console (Home)

    Joe
    Sorry, I forgot to add, (I was to busy writing the above novel). <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15> that I do run it from the start menu..
    and as far as not offering dklite anymore, I d/l'd it about July 17th or so..so up till then they still had it.. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    <edit> my mistake. see post below..I d/l'd it from webattack..not the executive software site. <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15>

    Victoria

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Management console (Home)

    Joe

    I downloaded Diskeeper 7 Lite (DLenFRWS9N2Xi7_0_418.exe -- there was also a ...414.exe three months earlier) from www.execsoft.com on 29 November last year, but I couldn't find it recently. Perhaps they found that everyone downloaded the freebie and nobody bought the full product! It comes up with a VGA-size nag screen when it starts up, but that's about it. It uses the v1.2 Microsoft Management Console, about which it is difficult to find much good to say...

    My desktop icon shortcut target is "C:Program FilesDiskeeperLiteDkLite.msc" -- I may have removed a "Executive Software" chunk at installation time.

    Personally, I run it, occasionally, on several computers, 98SE, NT4, W2K and WXP, and haven't had any problems at all.
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Management console (Home)

    John, 418 is the version I have also. I've also run it on many other win98, win2k machines without a problem. The only time I have a problem on XP is if I right click My Computer select manage and initiate DKL from the management console. Otherwise, never.

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Management console (Home)

    Victoria, I never start it from the popup. So, I can't say either. See my reply to John about my experiences otherwise.

    Joe
    Joe

  14. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Management console (Home)

    Thanks John. I ran it again and all went well this time.

    Cowboy: Thank you for your continuing search, please keep me posted. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Thanks again
    Victoria

  15. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Management console (Home)

    Oh those files. The way you worded it, I thought you meant tmp/temp files..sorry for the wrong assumption. Actually, I have IE set to delete Tif's every time the browser closes. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> The offline content, in the area you mentioned, I go in every so often and delete those as well.
    Thanks
    Victoria

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •