Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Perosnal Macro does not work (Excel 2000)

    I have a macro which is used to process a form. If I make the maco a personal macro, the macro does not work. It always states the macro cannot be found. If I attach athe macro to the indivdual excel form, then I can run the macro.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Perosnal Macro does not work (Excel 2000)

    You may need to put "personal.xls!" (without the quotes) in front of the code reference in the form - or toolbar button. HTH
    Gre

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Perosnal Macro does not work (Excel 2000)

    I have that there already when I assign the macro. It is wierd because the macro is shown in the personal list

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Perosnal Macro does not work (Excel 2000)

    Can you provide a suitably censored copy of the workbook?
    Gre

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Perosnal Macro does not work (Excel 2000)

    OK, I send the form to the email address in your profile. The file is 300K

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Perosnal Macro does not work (Excel 2000)

    Is that 300K after putting it into a Zip file?
    Gre

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Perosnal Macro does not work (Excel 2000)

    Shoot. I should have zipped it. The file is 107 K then [img]/forums/images/smilies/sad.gif[/img]

    Sorry

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Perosnal Macro does not work (Excel 2000)

    Can it be at all cut down? (It needs to be not more than 100,000 bytes; which is slightly less than 100K) If not, try saving it as an HTML file and then zip it. Hopefully, it will be able to be reimported into Excel without losing the functionality.
    Gre

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Perosnal Macro does not work (Excel 2000)

    Can i just send the compressed version to your email in your profile. I can't compress it any more [img]/forums/images/smilies/sad.gif[/img]

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Personal Macro does not work (Excel 2000)

    Here is the file I believe you sent to me privately. I have managed to squeeze it down 100K by combining the two VBA Modules, exporting them, converting the workbook to HTML and back and reimporting the remaining Module. I don't see any sign of a Form. I was hoping to understand what kind of Form you were using and how you had it structured. Can you explain?
    Gre

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Personal Macro does not work (Excel 2000)

    The excel sheet is the form. The code goes though the form and inputs the data into the database and prints out a picking slip

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Personal Macro does not work (Excel 2000)

    Here is the stripped attached excel form

  13. #13
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Personal Macro does not work (Excel 2000)

    Sorry, but I am having trouble understanding how you are attempting to link the code to your Personal.xls. Are you inserting the entire Module2 into your Personal.xls?
    Gre

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Personal Macro does not work (Excel 2000)

    Yes exactly. Does it work for you? When I link it, it shows the module in the personal folder as a choice. The module does link, but when I run it, I get the error module not found

  15. #15
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Personal Macro does not work (Excel 2000)

    It seems to work OK - after I add the references to the DAO and the Access Libraries. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> Since the Queries are not loaded onto my machine, obviously the Procedure errors out at that stage. Are you invoking the PopulateDB Procedure from Alt+F8 or from a toolbar button or...........?
    Gre

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •