Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    152
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Combo box error (2000)

    I have set up a combo box in a form to retreive a record, based on the entry in the box. When I hit return I get an error message that says "Error accessing file, network connection may have been lost". The problem is, I am not on a network. Any suggestions???

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Combo box error (2000)

    Is there any code behind the Combo box?
    What is the row source of the combo box?

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Combo box error (2000)

    This generally is caused by conflicts between Access 2000 and the vbe6.dll file installed by the 2002 Microsoft applications, including Office, Project, VIsio, etc. Here's a link to the MSKB article that covers it: ACC2000: Error Message: Error Accessing File. Network Connection May Have Been Lost . The patch for this was supposed to have been included in O2k SR-3 but I have heard murmurs that suggest it doesn't fix it. I have no way to confirm whether it is fixed in SR-3 since I installed a hotfix for the problem long before SR-3 was released and that hotfix was retired by Microsoft when they released SR-3 for Office 2000.
    Charlotte

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    152
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combo box error (2000)

    I've tried the update with no positive results. There is no code except that which Access put there. I've tried building a simple data base and the operation works fine. The steps I used are as follows - "Choose the combo box from the tools, choose "Find a record on my form based on the value I select in my combo box", choose the table that I want info from, choose table, then field, then finish. After update to SP3, I get a message "The expression After Update you entered as the event property setting produced the following error: A problem occured while Access was communicating with the OLE server or Active X Control The expression may not result in the name of a macro, the name of a user defined function, or [Event Procedure]. There may have been an error evaluating the function, event, or macro." Helllllllp!

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Combo box error (2000)

    What happens if you delete the old combobox and generate a new one, does it still happen?
    If that fails, try creating a new database and import all the tables, queries, forms, etc into the new database and see if that works.
    You may have a corrupted form.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    152
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combo box error (2000)

    You must be correct, I did just that (new data base), and things work ok. Thanks much for your help

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •