Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Start Menu/Programs

    Howdy all. First, many thanks for the past help. I've now got W2K Pro/SP3 updated and stable in a dual boot with 98SE. The problem is with organizing the program listing under Start Menu. When I look under Documents & Settings/All Users/Start Menu, I see all the programs in alphabetical order, as they should be. When I go to the Start Button/Programs menu, the order is totally screwed up. I can't find an option to set the order, except for the Settings/Taskbar & Start Menu/Advanced/Re-sort button, and it doesn't do the trick. Any Ideas?? Thanks,
    Mike.

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start Menu/Programs

    The menu items will display in alphabetical order UNLESS an application has been installed which turns off this feature, and it wouldn't be unusual that one did, especially if you install or download a variety of new programs:

    Two Regedits for Win 2000 Start Menu Alphabetization:

    Hive: HKEY_CURRENT_USER
    Key: SoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVersionExplorerMenu OrderStart MenuMenu
    Name: Order
    Type: REG_BINARY
    Delete the Order key and new items added will display in alphabetical order. You may have to reorder existing items.
    __________________________________________________ ____________________________
    HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVe rsionExplorerMenuOrderStart MenuMenu.

    In the right pane, right-click "Order" Select Delete, then click Yes to confirm. Reboot.
    __________________________________________________ ____________________________

    Third Party Apps To Do This (One Free):

    Tweak IE 3.1 has this feature; many other tweakers do--this is $15--Tweak UI XP and Tweak UI 1.33 don't do this, and both could apply to other aspects of Win 2K and on the same machine

    Virtual Master Reorganizer <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> will do this.

    Reference for Context:

    292504: Policy Settings for the Start Menu in Windows XP (Applies to Win 2K)

    hth,

    SMBP

  3. #3
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start Menu/Programs

    I downloaded Virtual Master and it works great. And it is very simple.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start Menu/Programs

    Thanks for the info, y'all. Two things to say: I tried the Virtual Master (I have W2000 Pro SP3), and when I ran it, it came back with an error message that said my OS wasn't compatible (I forgot the exact message as I deleted the program) - bottom line - it didn't run. In the meantime, it was suggested to me on another forum to do this - go to Start/Programs, right click anywhere on the Programs list, and choose "Sort By Name". This worked like a charm! Anyway, I appreciate the effort that y'all made to help. Thanks again. Maybe this simple fix that I did will work for someone else, too. Loungers are THE BEST!
    Mike.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start Menu/Programs

    Petrad--

    The program is absolutely compatible with Win 98 through XP--the error message was symptomatic of a corrupt file on installation most probably. If you want to try it, just uninstall and reinstall. It installs in a minute. The site and the notes confirm it's compatible with Win 98 and flavors on up.

    I didn't bother to mention right clicking to alphabetize which works in a lot of menus in a Windows OS and is replete in the hundreds of start menu discussions on newsgroups, but what they don't tell you is it works like a champ provided you have a limited number of programs on the start menu, but if you go to small icons and load it to the max, like I have, you aren't going to be able to right click at all and then you're going to go to the regedits which do work, or the very simple and effective Virtual Master. Maybe I should have--sorry for that. I guess I assume everyone crams their Start Menu to the gills. I drag all kinds of things there. I could function pretty well without it because I can't think of anything that 's accessible through it that can't be made into a short cut or a quick start or hit from the run box.

    But the main thing is you have all the ways now to straighten out the start menu the way you want, and you've gotten control of it and you're happy and making what you want happen <img src=/S/basket.gif border=0 alt=basket width=58 height=52> (we should probably have a baseball or cricket smile for this season).

    I don't pay any attention to alphabetizing the Start Menu, but the Programs, because I have so many are important to me to alphabetize, as are Favorites and my quick start and I right click those to sort all the time. Glad you have it doing what you want.

    SMBP

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start Menu/Programs

    Petrad--

    If you want to 'uber-organize' your Start menu here's a tip:

    Number the Programs in Your Start Menu

    To get to a program fast, rename the program or folder and put a number in front of the Program(s) you want to get to quickly.

    EXAMPLE:

    1 WinZip
    2 Microsoft Word
    3 Windows Explorer

    Then type the Start Menu shortcut (Ctrl + Esc), click on Programs, then type the number in front of the program you want.

    Example: Ctrl + Esc + click on Programs + 2 = Word

    SMBP

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start Menu/Programs

    Thanks again for the great info. I tried downloading reorganizer again (4 times!), with the same results - here's the message I got - "The Operating System is not adequate for running reorganizer". My 'puter is a one machine operation, dual boot with 98SE/W2K SP3. I have myself as the Admin, and as a User (in the power user group). Although I'm logged in as the user, I also tried the install program with "run as", and ran it as the Admin. Same result. I have no idea why it gives me this message and won't install, but I don't need it that bad in the first place!! Can't win 'em all :-{ Thanks again, I appreciate your time.
    Mike.

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start Menu/Programs

    Sorry because it's a good little program and dirt simple. Everybody has download glitches at one time or another that are hard to explain. I had a couple today I had to play some tricks with that were balking at installing and I wanted to install them more because they were balking than to use them. But you've fortunately got some ways now. I know you know this but if you have a minute since the program is not a huge deal to you now, try closing all browser windows, and disabling your antivirus and firewall and see if that helps get it in. You could always go to the extreme for the heck of it and try installing in Safe Mode as well.

    Sorry it took some time.

    SMBP

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Start Menu/Programs

    Howdy again, SMBP. By golly, you appear to be someone after my own heart! My cousin says I'm "Tenacious" - I say I'm just plain damn hard headed. Same thing, she's just being tactful ;-} Anyway, I know exactly what ya mean about figuring out how to get it installed - not because I need it, but because I'm just gonna outstubborn the damn thing! I'm in the midst of downloading a bunch of MS updates to the hard drive tonight for my new W2K SP3 installation (hopefully none of them hoses my system!), but I'll surely try your advice out asap. I shall "endeavor to persevere" - it hasn't whupped me yet ! Thanks once again for your time.
    Take care,
    Mike.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •