Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Address Toolbar in Taskbar no worky! (IE6 SP1)

    I am having a weird problem with the address toolbar in my taskbar (the one at the bottom). If IE is up and I click on an existing URL (or enter a new one) in the Taskbar Address Toolbar, nothing happens. If IE is not running and I click on a URL (or, again, enter a new one), IE comes up but it is completely blank - nothing is listed in the Top address toolbar, no progress is indicated in the status bar, and the window area where the page would normally be displayed is all white.

    The top address bar works fine.

    I have tried the following:

    Deleted IE history
    Ran IE Repair
    Re-registered shdocvw.dll, msjava.dll, actxprxy.dll, mshtml.dll, oleaut32.dll, browseui.dll, and shell32.dll

    I have not done a system restore mainly because I am not sure when it stopped working - and I don't really trust system restore anyway.

    I have not removed and reinstalled IE either because I am putting off doing that since I feel that since this address bar is located on the Desktop taskbar, and is not really a part of IE, then I suspect a registry or some other setting that I am overlooking.

    Ideas?
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Address Toolbar in Taskbar no worky! (IE6 SP1)

    Hi Bill--

    Check that your taskbar is not locked and right click it>taskbar>toolbars>address bar. Then rt. click the Start Menu (if it's XP) (here one more instance telling me the OS would help)>Taskbar Tab>Customize>Take Check out of Lock the Taskbar and Hit Restore Defaults Button.

    Next, scroll down and use the Kelly Link and See if her executable regedit or vb script whichever it is fixes you then read the rest.

    Here are some things I'd try/would like your OS Version and followup. You may have done some of them or all: Also when did this first start? If you provide your OS with an IE version as well, then no one will suggest moves you might not have in an OS. Not sure if you stand alone upgraded to IE6SP1 or got it Native to Win XP SP1. What happens when you right click the taskbar>toolbar>address bar? Try using it in Safe Mode to see if without certain drivers and components it works.
    __________________________________________

    Right-click on the taskbar, select Toolbars, and then click Address.
    The word Address will appear on your taskbar.
    Double click it to access it.
    If that doesn't work, your taskbar is locked. You can unlock it by right-clicking on the taskbar again and uncheck Lock the Taskbar.
    You may also need to grab the vertical dotted lines beside the word Address and drag it to the left to make the Address window appear.
    _____________________________________


    1) I'd clean the following places with no downside and some other beneficial effects as well:

    *Index.dat--will rebuild
    *Temporary Files (Put "%temp% in the run box
    *Temporary Internet Files
    *Your C:WindowsPrefetch folder--it will rebuild on boot
    *Run Ad Aware and Spybot--Spyware, Unstable BHO's and Malware Can Do This

    2) I would be quick to run System File Checker (can't be sure if you have it because I'm not sure of your OS-- I know System Restore started with ME and ME has scan/reg restore.

    If you have an OS with SFC, then pop your OS CD in, go to dos prompt and type in
    a)"sfc /purgecache"
    b)After that runs quickly type in "sfc /scannow"
    When you type the commands lose the quotes, and put a space after sfc. This will take you about 15-25 minutes on the second command; the first will take seconds.

    318027: Taskbar is Missing When You Log Onto Windows I know the problem is not a missing taskbar, but components of this may give help.

    System Restore

    There are two main factors here. Knowing when the behavior started and having enough non-corrupted Restore points. Many times people have stopped Sys Restore inadvertantly and complain it doesn't work.

    __________________________________________________ _____________________________

    " have not done a system restore mainly because I am not sure when it stopped working - and I don't really trust system restore anyway."
    __________________________________________________ ____________________________

    I understand you don't know when it stopped working, but it couldn't have been that long ago and System REstore defaults at least in Win XP to saving for 90 days.. I don't know how much space you are alloting for it. I suspect System Restore in ME if you happen to have it is similar. If you have ME BTW, at times typing "scanreg /restore" in the runbox can be more effective--it defaults to 5 points, but often seems to work better and can be configured to 99.

    As far as not trusting--it's not going to hurt you--it may frustrate you after a few minutes by saying it could not restore. You have nothing to lose there. We have exhaustive recent threads on System Restore under the hood on the IE and XP sections. I curse it when it won't help me and give it an "attaboy" when it does, but I have used it recently in a download update that made a blue screen that wouldn't boot to Windows by accessing it through Safe Mode with a dos prompt which is for me a really useful emergency Go To so right now it's in the attaboy with a capital "A" column.
    __________________________________________________ ___________________________

    Finally to the address bar:

    If your address bar is part of the taskbar, surely registry settings impact it, and I'm always thinking about what the registry might do for me even if my car won't start, but if it's not third party I believe it's part of IE and also the important intimate relationship of IE and Windows Explorer. They are very tight and work together always. A couple of ideas here but I'd try System Restore and System File Checker first--you might be helped.

    Repairing Address Bar --Including One on Desktop
    __________________________________________________ _____________________________

    Kelly's Korner ABC under "A"
    Toolbar Repair
    * Note: If she has it under Address Bar--She Means address bar[/url] This is an executable that will probably regedit the change for you in two clicks. Save to download file then click it. Anything from her site is completely reliable for its intended purpose.

    Finally installing this would most probably solve the problem:

    Dave's Quick Search Taskbar Toolbar Deskbar 3.1.6
    I use it; I think it's great' it'll do google and a number of search engines from one 3/8" place on the bottom of my desktop and it would just replace the space of your non-functioning address bar. It is bug free and I've used it for three years to do most of my surfing when I'm using IE.

    Please post your OS and followup.

    hth/good luck,

    SMBP

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Address Toolbar in Taskbar no worky! (IE6 SP1)

    SMBP
    1. A quick look at my sig will show that I am using XP Pro SP1 - I am also using IE6 SP1
    2. No, the tool bar is not locked - I have removed the address bar and brought it back several times trying to fix this
    3. Kelly's toolbar fix did not work.
    4. I use AdAware and SpyBot regularly and keep my system clean - current virus sigs, firewall updates, etc.

    I am afraid I am going to have to chastise you for suggesting I run SFC - that was a lousy suggestion and I am glad I know enough to know better than to run that. Never, NEVER run SFC unless you have tried everything under the sun except a complete format and fresh install. SFC checks to see if any system files have changed since the install from the install disk. That means SP1 and every critical update, patch, and upgrade that affected a system file, and there were dozens, would be restored to out-of-the-box version. A big mistake.

    I hope you do not regularly suggest that and certainly I urge you don't haphazardly suggest that again. The uninitiated would be screwed.

    Having said that, now I must thank you for suggesting I boot into Safe Mode. I had not thought of that but after doing so, the address did work properly in safe mode! So that will give me some place else to start looking - although I am not sure where as I do not understand what driver or other process might be started that would affect one address bar and not the other.

    I'll keep hunting and welcome any other suggestions.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Address Toolbar in Taskbar no worky! (IE6 SP1)

    I don't know the answer, so please don't reprimand me. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    So, the Address Tool Bar on the Task Bar:

    1) Will not open a NEW Instance of IE if IE is already running.
    2) Will open IE if it is not running, but the URL is not correctly processed.

    You will probably agree that something is amiss in your registry. But WHAT?? This is a rather complicated process.

    It knows the Application Path to IE -- IE opens if it is not already. And I assume "about:blank" is NOT in the address bar when the page opens.

    I wonder if this is protocol specific?? I doubt it, but one never knows. Can you enter "ftp://ftp.microsoft.com/" on the address line -- do you get the same result??

    Then, this is another fishing expedition -- but could you verify the data in this value:

    HKCUSoftwareMicrosoftInternet ExplorerMainAllowWindowReuse

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Address Toolbar in Taskbar no worky! (IE6 SP1)

    Got It!!!

    Just before I went to sleep last night, it hit me - and I have to thank you again, SMBP, for your suggestion about booting in Safe Mode. I was thinking about what was loading during boot-up that would prevent the address bar from working and then I remember recently downloading a ZoneAlarm update. After that update, ZA yelled at me requesting access for "Windows Explorer" to the Internet. I could not see why Windows Explorer needed access to the Internet - I thought it was another MS ploy to play Big Brother so I blocked it. Everything seemed to be working so I did not think anything more about it. Booting in Safe Mode bypassed ZoneAlarm and the block.

    So, first thing this AM, I removed the ZoneAlarm block, clicked on a URL in the Address Bar and up popped the site!

    Sorry for slam on SFC - guess I was getting frustrated - but thanks again for the Safe Mode suggestion - that did it!

    later...
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Address Toolbar in Taskbar no worky! (IE6 SP1)

    Bill, I believe you are incorrect about SFC & SP1. I'm pretty sure that with XP SFC is 'smart enough' to look in the C:windowsservice pack filesi386 folder. It will still replace all the files after SP1 but not SP1 itself.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Address Toolbar in Taskbar no worky! (IE6 SP1)

    After SMBP's insistence that SFC works as advertised, I backed up my system, set a restore point, crossed my fingers and ran SFC /scannow - nothing happened. That is, it ran for awhile, prompted me to insert the Windows XP install disk, then it ran some more, then the window closed and my system still worked. It left me wondering if it did anything as there was no status window or message or even a log file. But everything seems working fine (now that I have ZoneAlarm set right again so I stand corrected - at least for XP. The last time I used SFC was on a Win98SE system (note MS removed it from WinMe) and I experienced the problems I mentioned with updates and ATI video drivers. And when I Googled 'System File Checker", there were still a few people having problems - that enforced my hesitancy.

    But that's why I come to this forum - I usually learn something new.

    -bb
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Address Toolbar in Taskbar no worky! (IE6 SP1)

    Thanks for the follow up -- on all items. I have Win98 -- and I must say I don't use SFC either. However, I believe SMBP is correct that is safe for WinXP.

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Address Toolbar in Taskbar no worky! (IE6 SP1)

    Everything is working great now - thanks again for you patience and the info.

    I actually did check the event viewer the first time I ran SFC yesterday but it did not click with me that the Windows File Protection entry was what I was looking for (I know, brain farts!). So I didn't look at it. I ran SFC again today (to get a timestamp) and checked the event viewer - opened the Windows File Protection entry and noted the "Windows File Protection file scan completed successfully." entry.

    Thanks again for your help and all the info - I'm convinced - for my XP Pro anyway but I do wonder about Home though - I say that because I ran SFC on our XP Home system and was prompted about 30 times throughout the scan to insert the XP Home disk and click retry. The Event log said the scan was successful so I ran it again. This time, I was prompted about 20 times. What pops into my head is that I changed the drive designators for the optical drives to Q: for the CD/RW and V: for the DVD sometime after the initial install. But note that I was only prompted once to insert my XP Pro disk and I changed the drive designators at the same time on this machine - so don't know if that is significant.

    I will run SFC on the Home system a few more times and see of the count continues to go down.

    Thanks again.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Address Toolbar in Taskbar no worky! (IE6 SP1)

    That prompt annoyance is a bug and unfortunately probably ticks people off so much that a lot of them say things that I can't write here, and decide not to run it--because it is really a hassle to be glued to your chair hitting retry over and over, and more importantly it really makes you think the tool is not working. It is only after you fix a really messed up IE that keeps shutting down, or XP with it that you are willing to forget that annoyance for the payoff you hope will come. I think they will have to fix it in the code for the next OS Longhorn, I don't think there is a way to patch the tool now, although they could possibly make a System File Checker application that has fixed this retry bug and put it on their site for free.

    Again, check out the web site for Dave's Quick Search Taskbar Toolbar Deskbar and Dave's Search Wizard both <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> which I think have functionality you would really appreciate and only take u p an address bar's worth of real estate in your taskbar--you can even slide it closed any second you don't want to see it for that matter. To me, if you check it's features--it has a around 50 search options from that little address bar, and of course you can always script the address bar to run dos commands as well so you don't have to dig ditches and type cmd in your run box 2 mouse clicks of heavy lifting or go to the start menu and click dos prompt 2 other mouse clicks. I'm glad you're fixed.

    SMBP

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Address Toolbar in Taskbar no worky! (IE6 SP1)

    Bill--

    When you ran an IE repair, I am not sure which of the many ways to do this you chose, since you can't repair it from Add/Remove though it does have a Windows component entry clicable on the left task pane at Add/Remove. But I can help you get System File Checker run in XP,and show you where it's successful running is verified--the event is logged in Event Viewer automatically and they don't tell you that in the many KBs on SFC unfortunately--I'm going to try to get them to add it to the KB's as soon as possible along with the "prodding retry" tip.

    I have some more info on System File Checker and I can tell you the consensus from the some of the most recognized Windows experts is that I was correct; it is quite safe, including every book on Windows XP available in any country, and every website. It will not touch your hotfixes, patches, updates, plug-ins, ect. You can watch in real time if you like by using Reg Mon v.6.06 from Sys Internals They have a great site with nifty, safe, well thought out, excellent free tools.

    One of the better articles I have found is this one from: Tech Spot: Windows File Protection Guide.

    [/i] I also consulted experts endorsed and given web pages on Microsoft's Windows XP Expert Zone Sight as recently as August 13, 2003 and here are their comments on SFC:[/i]

    Doug Knox: Most Prolific Microsoft MVP Contributer on 26 MSN XP Newsgroups Web Page on Microsoft Corporation's Windows XP Site (Expert Zone):

    __________________________________________________ ___________________________

    Wednesday, August 13, 2003 Doug Knox MS-MVP and Thorsten Matzner Re: System File Checker/Impact on Hotfixes, Updates:

    "Actually, many of the files that are replaced by a "hotfix" arremoved from DLLCACHE, and the backup copy is kept in the hotfix or SPuninstall folder. I would assume (yeah, yeah, I know) that the file list is updated to reflect the new location as well. One example, on my system with all hotfixes installled, running SP1 is MSGINA.DLL It exists in It exists in WindowsSystem32 and WINDOWSServicePackFilesi386. It does notexist in the DLLCACHE folder. I would have to check specific hotfixes, to verify this behavior."
    .
    --Doug Knox, MS-MVP Windows XP/ Windows Smart Display
    Win 95/98/Me/XP Tweaks and Fixes
    http://www.dougknox.com
    --------------------------------
    Associate Expert
    ExpertZone - http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
    --------------------------------
    "SFC uses the DLLCACHE folder to replace core files. Since the hotfixes will update the files in the DLLCACHE folder if they are affected by the patch, there is no problem with running that tool after installing patches and Service Packs.Some "tweakers" however "recommend" to delete DLLCACHE folder to gain more free disk space. In this case SFC has to rebuild the cach so that it can work and it will rebuild it from the Windows CD what means, that all updated files are lost.So SFC is not the problem, but such ridiculous tweaking tips can screw it up."

    Thorsten Matzner

    __________________________________________________ _____________________________

    Keep in mind if you had a bad experience with it in Windows 98, that it's code was written around 1996 and several years of improvements have come through NT, 2000, and XP. Other factors may have been in the equation that day also. Microsoft worked hard on SFC in 2000 and improved it in XP and in fact has used it to showcase and sell XP to corporate enterprise and small business migrations as one of its strongest features. I can find no negative comments anywhere, with the exception of some reports on and off Microsoft's site that complain it doesn't always detect and repair a damaged dll it's supposed to but usually does.

    The annoyance you just experienced is a wide spread well known annoyance with getting it finished, and I usually have put in how to deal with that problem in the directions the many times I put it out as a first line go to when someone has decided to try to fix XP or Explorer--they're running, you can boot fine, but enough is going wrong to make you think it needs to be fixed. Since I researched it very carefully when XP came out, and talked it over with Redmond XP developers and several MS MVP's and it can fix problems with both of them time and time again, I recommend it with no hesitation as a safe, reliable first line therapy fix tool. I appreciate your concern for the people on the lounge--I don't want ever to endorse anything to help someone that's going to cause them pain, frustration, hassles, or trouble with their computer--and when someone has to fix IE and Windows, I take it as seriously as a doctor might take a patient's critrical illness and cure.

    222193escription of the Windows File Protection Feature for Windows XP including Hotfix Protection When Run
    310747: Description of Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 System File Checker (Sfc.exe)


    [/i]Here's what to do, and I certainly agree it should just click and run. Throw in the XP CD--it's supposed to have a search hierarchy outlined in the KB, but it's going to want to check the CD for files as well as the dll cache folder. When the progress bar starts, it's going to annoy the heck out of you because it may well go for a minute, and stop and you have to nudge it by hitting the retry button-- several times a minute or every few--but you'll finish. There is no finish window on the desktop (with all the many extra windows we see in the OS) and should be. But here's where it is: Go to Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Event Viewer>Application.[/i]

    I want to see your task bar and address bar working exactly the way you want and don't forget Dave's Toolbar I linked--it does everything and more you have been looking for in the same amount of real estate at the same location.

    HTH,

    SMBP
    Attached Images Attached Images

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Address Toolbar in Taskbar no worky! (IE6 SP1)

    Hi Bill:
    SFC doesn't necessarily look for changes in system files from the original configuration. If you run SFC frequently (after you install, uninstall, or update), then the database will be up-to-date & will give meaningful information. And a change isn't necessarily bad; it may give you a place to start looking. It can also tell you if you have a corrupt system file that does need replacing.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •