Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    System Shut Down (XP Pro)

    I have about 1 minute before my system will shut down with the following error (screen shot attached.) Help! I just reinstalled XP - what do I do now?
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Shut Down (XP Pro)

    Another error screen that is reoccurring!

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: System Shut Down (XP Pro)

    According to Generic Host Process Error Message and a Flashlight Icon Appear this is caused by using an old HP printer or scanner driver. Suggested solution:

    To resolve this problem, follow these steps:
    1. Turn off the computer and the printer or the scanner.
    2. Disconnect the printer or the scanner from the computer.
    3. Restart the computer.
    4. Install the compatible drivers and software for the printer or the scanner, and then reconnect the printer or the scanner to the computer.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Shut Down (XP Pro)

    Hi Hans,
    I did have an HP printer at one time but not for awhile. Both of my printers are from Lexmark. My computer is still shuting down after a minute or so every time I log on!
    I am definitely starting to panic!
    Thanks. <img src=/S/dizzy.gif border=0 alt=dizzy width=15 height=15>

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: System Shut Down (XP Pro)

    The only info I can find about your first message (RPC) points to installing the RPC patch from <!mskb=823980>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 823980<!/mskb> - hope you're able to get and install it <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16>

  6. #6
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Shut Down (XP Pro)

    Have you installed SP1 or 2 or any of the patches yet?

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Shut Down (XP Pro)

    and this info ... (I am also having another new problem <img src=/S/cranky.gif border=0 alt=cranky width=18 height=25> Norton Antivirus won't run - could this be related in any way?

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Shut Down (XP Pro)

    Hi Cowboy,
    No, I haven't using the theory <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15> if it isn't broken . . . <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15>

    If you can handle one more screen shot ...this one went with the Generic Host Process

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Shut Down (XP Pro)

    Hi Hans,
    I was able to download the patch (10 seconds before it crashed) and then after the computer restarted, I was able to install the patch and reboot (without crashing so far . . . ) I hope this is the answer. I didn't have time to read the patch info before it crashed so I still don't what's going on. On the other problem I have the following additional info.
    Thanks again. <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39> <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39> <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39> (my husband and I guess who is who?)

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: System Shut Down (XP Pro)

    You may have to uninstall and reinstall NAV. There is info on the Symantec site about the error message you get, but I can't get to it - the page times out.

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    320
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Looks like a Worm (!?!)

    Copied this from microsoft.windows.tabletpc...sorry to say....

    <blockquote><hr>We're getting lots and lots of problems being reported with this NT
    Authority/System RPC Error (System shuts down every 60 secs).

    This is another case where the Windows Update fix has been out for almost 2
    months..
    http://microsoft.com/security/security_bul...ns/ms03-026.asp

    Buffer Overrun In RPC Interface Could Allow Code Execution (823980)
    Originally posted: July 16, 2003

    Anti-virus companies are working on an update, but for now, we're suggesting
    a couple of things to combat it -

    Start / Run / type msconfig / Startup tab / Uncheck the box for MSBlast
    or unknown items / OK. Restart. Then,
    microsoft.com/security/security_bulletins/ms03-026.asp (Get Update823980
    from the Windows Update site)



    From MVP Mark Ferguson - You can also edit the Run key in Regedit.

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftWindowsCurrentV ersionRun and/or
    HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVe rsionRun



    Or from MVP

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Looks like a Worm (!?!)

    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> Thanks to everyone who helped with this problem. I have followed all of the suggestions above and my system is running properly again.
    I appreciate all of your assistance.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Looks like a Worm (!?!)

    > This is another case where the Windows Update fix has been out for almost 2 months..
    > http://microsoft.com/security/security_bul...ns/ms03-026.asp
    > Buffer Overrun In RPC Interface Could Allow Code Execution (823980)
    > Originally posted: July 16, 2003

    First time I've heard 26 days described as "almost 2 months." It probably feels like two months for people having to clean up after these exploits.

  14. #14
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Looks like a Worm (!?!)

    Let me type quick b4 my PC shuts down again!

    Attached scrn shot is error when installing patch, i.e. it doesnt work on my XP PC.

    Pls. tell me what 2 do!

    TIA

    m.q.

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Looks like a Worm (!?!)

    Hi,

    Guess we're all waiting for MSoft to release an upto-date patch to fix this problem.

    Pls. if anyone does find it, post an announcement here ASAP!

    It's becoming an international problem now:
    http://www.washingtonpost.com/ac2/wp-dyn/A...anguage=printer

    TIA,

    m.q.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •