Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California, USA
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Normal.dot (Office XP SP1)

    I finally gave up trying to save my Normal.dot. It had become so corrupted that I just decided to bit the bullet, rename it and let Word create a new Normal.dot.

    I have my file locations for Templates set to place them in D:MSOfficetemplates. While Word seems to be much happier with the new Normal.dot, I'll be darned if I can find it. It is NOT in the designated location! I've done searches all over the drive for "Normal.dot", and it is not be to found.

    I've never seen this particular behavior in Word before. Always Normal.dot was where it's supposed to be. Any suggestions would be most appreciated. After, I may need to blow it away again at some later date!

    Thanks a lot.

    --Bob Harris
    -Bob Harris
    "Seek Simplicity, Then Mistrust It!"


  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Normal.dot (Office XP SP1)

    When you rename or delete Normal.dot, Word will operate with "factory settings". It won't create a new Normal.dot until you change one of the items stored in Normal.dot (styles, autotext entries, some autocorrect entries, toolbar customizations, macros). So if you can't find it, it probably hasn't been created yet.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Normal.dot (Office XP SP1)

    Have you saved any customizations yet? If not, Normal.dot might not exist yet. If so, it really should be in the User Templates folder specified under Tools>Options...>File

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California, USA
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Normal.dot (Office XP SP1)

    I have changed a font setting and entered standard tabs. I'll have to check and see if Normal.dot may exist. I guess I didn't realize that it was only created following a significant style change. I'll also have to copy in a macro or two; perhaps that will create it.

    I appreciate your comments. I frankly did not realize that style changes were necessary to get a Normal.dot to be present.

    Thanks a lot.

    --Bob
    -Bob Harris
    "Seek Simplicity, Then Mistrust It!"


  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Normal.dot (Office XP SP1)

    Changing a style or setting tabs in a document still won't cause Normal.dot to appear - the changes are stored in the document. You will only force Word to create a new Normal.dot if you specify that the changes should be stored in the template, or used as default.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Normal.dot (Office XP SP1)

    I read this with interest as we have a similar scenario, we renamed normal.dot to be oldnormal.old and then also copied over some autotext entries through Organiser from the 'old' normal.dot to the 'new' normal.dot. These autotext entries stayed around plus some extra keyboard shortcuts etc for a couple of days, then when having a look for 'normal.dot' it was no longer to be found!!

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Normal.dot (Office XP SP1)

    Bob,
    From a grand old document named "Microsoft Word Architecture" (still available, I think), we read:

    When you start Word, the application looks for the Normal template in the following locations, in the order listed:

    1. The User templates folder as specified on the File Locations tab in the Options dialog....
    2. The Workgroup templates folders as specified...
    3. The Word folder
    4. The current folder

    If Word cannot find the Normal template, it uses the standard document and command settings that have
    been preset by MS. Any AutoText entries, formatted text, AutoCorrect entries, macros, and command settings
    that you store for global use in the Normal template are not be [sic] available until you return the Normal template
    to one of the default locations and then restart Word.


    <big>NOTE: When Word is first installed [or when you remove all Normal.dot files from your system!!], there
    is no Normal template. It is constructed and saved the first time a user exists Word. </big>
    -- emphasis mine.

    IOW: Don't look for a new Normal.dot until you exit Word. Further complicating the issue are read only User template
    and Workgroup template folders.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Normal.dot (Office XP SP1)

    What OS are you using, 2K and XP will put the normal.dot in you "Documents and Settings" folder?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Normal.dot (Office XP SP1)

    Could you tell me then by renaming our normal.dot to 'oldnormal.dot', does Word still register that 'oldnormal.dot' was the normal template? We have been finding that we can add autotext entries to the normal template that has been created, but then after a couple of days this disappears. Has anyone had this happen to them at all?
    <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Normal.dot (Office XP SP1)

    Once you rename normal.dot to something else, Word doesn't keep track of it (other than Windows keeping track of the name change). If you are finding that your autotext entries are "disappearing", then either there is a virus of some sort, you're not saving the entries where you think you are, or some add-in or macro is changing the entries. When you get your normal.dot working with autotext, why don't you make a backup of the normal template. Then, if it later "disappears", you can redo your entries.

    I can't think of a reason that you'd lose autotext entries, unless you're somehow overwriting them. To track down what's happening, you might take a look at <post#=197827>post 197827</post#>.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •