Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    32 or 64bit XP? (XP SP 1)

    Hi,

    The winver command dialogue box (see attached scrn. shot) shows my XP Version details.

    How can I know it it is a 32bit or a 64bit install?

    TIA,

    m.q.

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 32 or 64bit XP? (XP SP 1)

    I am resisting the temptation to be flippant here, and so won't ask which CPU you actually paid for!

    On the inference that old software doesn't know about new software, but new software may know about old software, I'd say that you were looking at a 32-bit installation.

    Actually, it's even easier than that -- Windows XP Professional 64-bit needs <font color=blue>a minimum of 1 GB of RAM</font color=blue> (yes!). (source:- Technet Search on "determine 64 bit" finds an article "Windows XP Professional Appendix H - Differences with Windows XP 64-Bit Edition"
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 32 or 64bit XP? (XP SP 1)

    My RAM is 256Mb RAM so that was easy.

    Ta.

    m.q.

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 32 or 64bit XP? (XP SP 1)

    Dave

    Run that past us again. Where did we talk about 64-bit RAM?
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: 32 or 64bit XP? (XP SP 1)

    The 64 bit version requires a 64 bit processor chip, which must be purchased for the correct mother board. RAM has nothing to do with determining a 64 bit processor.

    MS Quote
    "Windows XP 64-Bit Edition Version 2003 is available from computer manufacturers with the purchase of a new Intel Itanium Processor Family workstation and also via Microsoft Developer Network (MSDN) subscriptions. Windows XP 64-Bit Edition Version 2003 is only available in an English language version."

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •