Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    maximized form in background, sized form in for (2K)

    <img src=/S/jollyroger.gif border=0 alt=jollyroger width=29 height=18>


    i am having trouble keeping a form maximized, and having another form pop-up sized. I have tried to use the movesize method on open, but it doesn't seem to work if the current form has been maximized. what am i missing here?

    Thanks,
    Keith

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: maximized form in background, sized form in for (2K)

    Hi Keith,

    Can you explain where and how you use MoveSize? I did a test in which I opened a popup form using a command button on a maximized form; the calling form stayed maximized.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: maximized form in background, sized form in for (2K)

    <img src=/S/jollyroger.gif border=0 alt=jollyroger width=29 height=18>


    Thanks again Hans! here's my code from a button on a Maximized form:

    Private Sub CbtnNew_Click()
    On Error GoTo Err_CbtnNew_Click

    DoCmd.OpenForm "FrmApplicationsAdd"
    DoCmd.MoveSize 1000, 1000, 10000, 15000
    DoCmd.GoToRecord acDataForm, "FrmApplicationsAdd", acNewRec

    Exit_CbtnNew_Click:
    Exit Sub

    Err_CbtnNew_Click:
    MsgBox Err.Description
    Resume Exit_CbtnNew_Click

    End Sub

    I have also tried to put the movesize command on the Onopen prpoerty of my pop-up form.
    Why doesn't this work?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: maximized form in background, sized form in for (2K)

    I'm sorry, I have no idea. I use Access 2002, and both methods (MoveSize in the On Click of the command button and in the OnLoad of the popup form) work OK - the calling form stays maximized if it was when the button is clicked.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: maximized form in background, sized form in for (2K)

    If you maximize the background form and then open the popup as a dialog, it will retain it's normal size, if that's what you're trying to do.
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: maximized form in background, sized form in for (2K)

    Have you tried putting your Movesize in the forms "On_Resize" property.
    I use many pop ups, but my main forms I like to be maximised.

    This works for me.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: maximized form in background, sized form in for (2K)

    Here's a rough demo of what you're describing you want to do.
    Two forms.

    Form1 is maximised on open.
    Form2 uses the "Movesize" on open (instead of from your command button on form1).

    Check the properties:
    Form1 is set as pop-up (From Properties) and DoCmd.Maximise (From VBA)
    I've set form2 to Pop-Up & Modal (both from Properties)

    Is this what you're trying to achieve ??

    ( Charlottes: Dialog method opens the form and waits for a response before any other code (VBA) from the calling form is allowed to proceed )
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: maximized form in background, sized form in for (2K)

    <img src=/S/jollyroger.gif border=0 alt=jollyroger width=29 height=18>


    I just learned about the POP UP and MODAL properties of a form (duh). The more I learn about programing with VBA, the more I formet to look at functionality built right in to Access. Whoops! Thanks for the help, all ...

    Keith

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •