Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Duplicate Win XP Toolbar Instances?! (XP Pro)

    If you close Outlook what happens?

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Duplicate Win XP Toolbar Instances?! (XP Pro)

    This seems related to your <!post=previous question,284959>previous question<!/post> about extra drag handles. I can't explain how, or why, but it looks like you have more than one copy of the taskbar active <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>. And I have even less idea of how to fix it. Maybe you could fiddle (to be technical) with the taskbar settings, turning options on & off, to see if resets itself, while waiting for someone with more inspired to come along?
    <font face="Comic Sans MS" color="blue">TimOz</font>
    <img src=/S/flags/Finland.gif border=0 alt=Finland width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Duplicate Win XP Toolbar Instances?! (XP Pro)

    If I close Outlook, it shuts down & both the task bar instances dissapear together.
    When I restart, they both come back again. This is bizzare - how can I rectify this?

    The problem mentioned in my previous post os fixed, but this one won't go away...

    m.q.

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Duplicate Win XP Toolbar Instances?! (XP Pro)

    Was it doing this before you Locked The Taskbar?

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Duplicate Win XP Toolbar Instances?! (XP Pro)

    Musab--

    Usually with an extra toolbar like this, you can right click one of the toolbars, and a menu will pop up--you may have to go to taskbar on the menu, but you will get an entry that says "Close Taskbar," and normally that will make the extra disappear. What happens when you right click one of those toolbars, and select Taskbar or Close Taskbar from the menus that slide out from the right click?

    SMBP

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Duplicate Win XP Toolbar Instances?! (XP Pro)

    Musab,

    Try right-clicking an empty part of the Task Bar. One of the items in the popup menu will be 'Toolbars'. This items lists the available toolbars, which ones are checked? Play around with unchecking some or all of them.

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Duplicate Win XP Toolbar Instances?! (XP Pro)

    Exactly as Hans says. Hans beat me to it while I was answering emails and doing the screenshot. Pull the taskbar, and click the lighter blue than the Outlook minimized window real-estate, and that should easily do the trick. There are times when you have to play some tricks with Safe Mode to get rid of some aberrations on a taskbar, but this isn't one of them. I bet you get it now.

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Duplicate Win XP Toolbar Instances?! (XP Pro)

    Hi,

    The attached scrn. shot shows how the Task Manager only shows 1 process.
    Also, I have unselected ALL the options on the popup menu as shown.
    Still the strange OL doo-daas haven't gone.

    What's the next step to try?

    TIA,

    m.q.

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Duplicate Win XP Toolbar Instances?! (XP Pro)

    I'm not clear if you got the last step done--which was to mouseover toolbars on that menu, and a chance to kill one of the minimized Outlook windows by clicking should show. Also try maximizing them both, and killing one of the windows--can you maximize and get two windows? Something had to happen for this to start recently so..

    What happens when you go to taskmanager's leftmost applications tab, and then hit the new application button, then put explorer.exe in the box?

    What happens when you reboot and open Outlook? Have you been getting two instances of the button on the taskbar with one instance open on Taskmanager?

    What happens when you close Outlook, or kill it in task manager, and then reopen Outlook?Do this or do this in Safe Mode, humoring me.

    Then if necessary, try this Regedit--Change the Taskbar Group Size:

    This setting defines the number of open windows of the same application before they are grouped together on the taskbar.

    Registry Settings
    User Key: [HKEY_CURRENT_USERSOFTWAREMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVe rsionExplorer
    Advanced]
    System Key: [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftWindowsCurrentV ersionExplorer
    Advanced]
    Value Name: TaskbarGroupSize
    Data Type: REG_DWORD (DWORD Value)
    Value Data: Number of windows (default = 3)

    SMBP

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Duplicate Win XP Toolbar Instances?! (XP Pro)

    Your screenshot clearly shows that it's not just duplicate Outlooks in the Task bar. All open apps are shown twice. As I suggested, and SMBP too, you must open the Toolbars submenu at the top of the popup menu. Then experiment with unchecking the items in that submenu.

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Duplicate Win XP Toolbar Instances?! (XP Pro)

    Looks like it's not just Outlook - it's two instances of the entire 'active tasks' section of the Taskbar. Can you drag either of them off the Taskbar by their handles?
    Do the right-click menus of each instance (of the toolbar, not the applications' give the same menu?

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Duplicate Win XP Toolbar Instances?! (XP Pro)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by Leif on 16-Aug-03 13:39. to replace attachment with one of more respectable size.)</P>Yes, the problem was there & persists even when I unlock the Taskbar.

    The attached scrn. shot shows the popup menu when cursor is placed over Outlook instance.
    It does not show any "Close Taskbar" or similar option.

    In this case, what shall I do?!

    m.q.

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Duplicate Win XP Toolbar Instances?! (XP Pro)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by Leif on 16-Aug-03 13:43. to replace unnecessarily large graphic.)</P>Hi,

    Attached scrn. snot shows how my Outlook has 2 toolbar instances.
    However only ONE (1) session of Outlook is open!

    How can I fix this palaver?

    TIA,

    m.q.

  14. #14
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Duplicate Win XP Toolbar Instances?! (XP Pro)

    Yes. I second Tim and Hans. This definitely should work. I'm just trying hard to figure out the steps that went into gettting two instances of everything open. It's not unusual in the frey of madly clicking to get things done for someone to possibly open some program twice, although with Outlook or OE it takes a little doing. I've been taught a way to get several OEs open at once to different newsgroups on the screen simultaneously and launch them from a shortcut, but this is twin applications across the board. Nice eye guys.

    SMBP

  15. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Duplicate Win XP Toolbar Instances?! (XP Pro)

    I did find someone with the same problem in annoyances.org, dating back (I think) to November last year, but nobody came up with a solution or reason.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •