Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, Lebanon
    Posts
    1,449
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    IE and Auto Complete (IE 6.x)

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29> Loungers

    One of my coworkers is having some trouble with Auto Complete.

    1) He has entered a 16-character string, and made a mistake on the 14th character. So we need to replace the Auto Complete entry with the correct one.
    2) He has reentered the correct 16-character string, and Auto Complete does not recognize it, I mean Auto Complete still reverts back to the previous incorrect string.

    Is the Auto Complete comparison done on only the first x characters, or the whole sting?

    How do I correct the auto Complete list, or must I have him reenter the string and start fresh?

    Thanks

    Wassim
    <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> in the <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE and Auto Complete (IE 6.x)

    Can you please explain
    <hr>He has reentered the correct 16-character string, and Auto Complete does not recognize it<hr>
    How much longer than 16 characters is the string that your co-worker is trying to enter?

    Can the co-worker not simply Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V to enter the full string into the Address Bar? That is generally by far the safest way.

    HTH
    Gre

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE and Auto Complete (IE 6.x)

    1) Turn OFF the necessary "in-line AutoComplete" in Tools | Internet Options | Advanced tab | Browsing. (Un-check the "Use..." box)

    2) Begin typing the entry -- AutoComplete should drop-down the list of AutoComplete choices.

    3) Use the down arrow to high-light the UN-desired entry.

    4) Hit the Delete button on your keyboard.

    5) Re-activate "in-line AutoComplete" -- if this is desired.

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, Lebanon
    Posts
    1,449
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE and Auto Complete (IE 6.x)

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29> Unkamunka

    OK here is what was going on...

    1) Coworker enters 16 character string, he noticed it was wrong, after he got Auto Complete to register it.
    2) He goes again and reenters the CORRECT 16 character string but Auto Complete would revert back to the incorrect one.
    3) I came to see what is going on, and I tried the steps my coworker tried, and sure enough it reverted back to the incorrect string.
    4) I deleted the entries in Auto Complete, via:
    a) Turn off auto complete. That means all checkboxes in the Tools | Internet Options | Content Tab | Auto Complete | are taken off.
    [img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] Delete all the entries via 'Clear Forms' and 'Clear Passwords'
    c) Close all programs, reboot just for the heck of it... <img src=/S/boxedin.gif border=0 alt=boxedin width=25 height=20>
    d) Restart and then try again to reenter the string, and IE will return back the <font color=red>incorrect</font color=red> previously presumed to be cleared entry <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>, <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>, <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23> you name it, I felt it. I suddenly was at the mercy of the machine.

    So I did the process one more time, even after rebooting and turning on and off what really mattered from applets that this guy has, I still got that pesky entry.

    I also asked myself if the entries are different, though all the way to the 14th character, why Auto Complete was not picking up the second corrected entry and adding it to the list? Now I thought I needed a <img src=/S/newbrain.gif border=0 alt=newbrain width=21 height=22>, to figure this one out, and I posted my message.

    It turned out that, after running Norton SystemWorks, the Windows registry got well how should I put that <img src=/S/cooked.gif border=0 alt=cooked width=50 height=46> <img src=/S/disappointed.gif border=0 alt=disappointed width=15 height=15>, what have you...

    One guy came in and did some cleaning up, I guess he FDisked and reinstalled from scratch, and now the Auto Complete works as advertised.

    Tempted by the <img src=/S/devil.gif border=0 alt=devil width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15> I tried to put the wrong 16 character string again, and I then put the correct version, and it accepted both, then I erased the bad one, and we will wait for tomorrow to see if this will be the final solution, or if the user will again type too fast for his own good, and muck things again <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25>.

    I'll need to big Thumbtack to keep you posted on this issue, so I'll just have to ask you to watch for my ever challenging posts again.

    With all due respect and admiration, this one is going to be put to sleep. <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> and sorry for maxing on Smilies... I think there ought to be a limit...
    <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> in the <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, Lebanon
    Posts
    1,449
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE and Auto Complete (IE 6.x)

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29> R2

    Where is D2?

    See my reply to Unkamunka please.

    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>

    Wassim
    <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> in the <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE and Auto Complete (IE 6.x)

    I never knew about the delete trick. I'm very glad I happened to take a look in here. I've got tons of mistakenly-entered auto-complete entries that annoy me on a daily basis.

    That reminds me of another question I've been wondering for years but never got around to asking...
    How does one go about deleting all autocomplete data? Is there an easy to delete them similar to how you can delete all cookies simply by deleting all cookie files?

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE and Auto Complete (IE 6.x)

    See 4([img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] in Wassim's <post#= 285265>post 285265</post#>.
    Gre

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •