Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Installation files going kaput

    Hi all,

    Anyone heard of programs that can be installed a certain number of times before... expiring, to name it? For a local competition my team is to receive a kit with a CD that has a program, and rumor has it that this program can be installed only once. I can't figure how this can be, as the CD cannot be written from a CD-ROM, and thus the executable file in the CD cannot be modified in any way.
    We mean to install this program in my PC, but if anything should happen to my pc, we'd like to be able to swiftly install in any other of my teammates'.

    Thank you in advance
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installation files going kaput

    <hr> CD cannot be written from a CD-ROM<hr>

    Can it be written from the Hard Drive to A CD? I mean if you copy and paste the program to your Hard Drive, you should be able to burn it to a CD from where ever you paste it to and Install from there too. I have never found a program that I can't burn to a CD from my Hard Drive. To be honest I have never had a program I couldn't burn from CD to CD. Of course, if it has to be registered before it will install,and it can only be registered once, I guess that could be a problem. What program is it? I'm starting to feel like I may be getting a little close to a Lounge rule problem. Moderators feel free to let me know. cause I'm not sure.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installation files going kaput

    Hi Diegol

    What might be happening is that the install might write a very well hidden 'code' somewhere on your hard drive that any subsequent attempts to install will find and abort the install. Typically, an 'Uninstall' won't get rid of the code. Of course you can still install on another computer.
    The catch here is that with each install a unique ID might be generated that may have to match with any previous files you have generated. This would require you to redo all your work as previously generated files would not be recognized. This wouldn't work in the real world as files usually have to be portable among computers, but for a competition........maybe.

    Then again....maybe it's just a rumor. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installation files going kaput

    Couldn't you do a Drive Copy of your Hard Drive once you have installed the program and keep an extra Drive ready? PowerQuest Drive Images " Drive Copy" makes an exact duplicate of your Hard Drive, Programs, Data, OS and all. The program then would not know the difference, the code would be transfered during the Drive Copy. I mean this program your talking about is not an Operating System that recognizes Hardware changes and things is it?

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installation files going kaput

    Hi Cowboy,

    What I meant by that is that given that I have a CD-ROM device (which cannot write data to a CD), I couldn't figure which way the CD or the executable file in the CD receives information as not to perform a second installation.
    I didn't receive the CD yet. I suppose that I should be able to copy its contents freely as with any data CD, and so should I be able to burn to another CD as well (with the appropriate device). But following this logic, I cannot realize how a second installation can be prevented.
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installation files going kaput

    Hi Cowboy,

    I think this won't be possible, as I cannot afford to purchase another product... but thanks for the suggestion. I don't have a spare empty HD either, as from what I understand it takes.
    I'll be curious, to do as you say I'd have to run PowerQuest Drive Images after finishing each session with the software, right?
    And no, this isn't an OS. The competition is based on a virtual market simulation and requires teams to send their decisions on different topics. AFAIK the soft provides a GUI to achieve this and only a few bits are transferred, I guess.
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installation files going kaput

    Hi Ken,

    Thanks for your reply. Your approach kind of makes more sense... The program is supposed to send data over the Internet, but with each session I don't know which kind of files it generates, if any.
    I'm supposed to receive the registration key via e-mail, and the CD and manuals via mail. So imagine I install to my PC, then use the program to send the information, then my HD (hopefully it won't but just in case it will) crashes. It'd be an awkward situation, because although I had backed up all the prog files to my other HD, when I install the soft for a second time, the newly genereated ID wouldn't match theirs. Oh well.

    I think in cases like this it'd be better that I rush to contact the competition organizers <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Thanks!
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

  8. #8
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installation files going kaput

    <hr>I'd have to run PowerQuest Drive Images after finishing each session with the software, right?<hr>
    Well, you would want to do a periodic backup or Drive Copy as you would with anything that your trying to protect. Because it only takes me about 7 minutes to do a Drive Copy of my Hard Drive, I do it about once a week. So yes and No. Just according to how you feel about what your working with are how much you have done since the last Backup or Drive Copy.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installation files going kaput

    I mean, I do a regular backup of important files with Replicator. But, in this case, not only visible important files should be backed up, but the entire drive including those pesky chunks of data (the ID) dispersed among clusters as well... So, each time I finish a session with this soft, and assuming it does generate new files/data after sending the info over the Internet, I'd have to do a Drive Copy just in case my HD bids farewell, so I can resurrect the data using the backup drive to boot and use as I'd do with the former drive.... hope it didn't get too confusing <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •