Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Quicken 03 not opening (Windows XP)

    I am set up as the admin and can open the program fine. My wife is set up as just a user and can open all programs except for Quicken 2003. Is there anything that can be done to allow her to open the program and use it under her sign in?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Quicken 03 not opening (Windows XP)

    I think you will find that Quicken is a "Single User" program. You need to check with them. I have seen the question several times and at different places, they all have said some thing about the "Single User".


    You may be able to install it again using the second account.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Quicken 03 not opening (Windows XP)

    Yes it will need to be installed under her account also if you want her to have access. I personally don't recommend doing that. There is a reason for it being a Single User Program. I think you know what I mean. Unless you just don't want her using your account, I would just let her use it under your account if need be, and keep it safe and less prone to problems.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Quicken 03 not opening (Windows XP)

    I had the same situation. There are two things you can do:

    1. Make your wife's account an Admin account like yours or

    2. Modify the permissions on the folder and sub-folders where Quicken is installed to open them up to everybody. Right now they are probably Read-Only for all but users with Admin privileges. This is not always the easiest thing to do in XP Home though as it requires one to run the CACLS command with tthe correct parameters from a Command prompt.

    I fixed mine using the second method as I didn't want to leave her account with Admin privileges.

  5. #5
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Quicken 03 not opening (Windows XP)

    Yeah I didn't pay attention.Sorry, I thought she already had Administrator Privileges and it wasn't working. For some reason though I was thinking that it still wouldn't work on two user accounts unless it was loaded on both. OH well ya win a few ya lose a few. I have Quickens, but I have never tried running it from just a User Account without Admin Privileges. I have a User Account with Admin Privileges setup that I use for everything and it works fine with Quickens because I loaded it from there. I never use the real Administrator Account unless absolutely necessary. I'm sure Kswan53 is probably correct. Wouldn't hurt to give it a try.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Texas UTC -5:00, Texas
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Quicken 03 not opening (Windows XP)

    I downloaded an update from the Windows Update Site that put a "Set Program Access And Defaults" Listing on the Start menu.( I Have not used it, but it is there so it is easy to get to) but I don't know what it actually does. Also, if you click on Start / Help and Support / then choose Security and Administration, there is a list in the window on the left with help topics to choose from where you might find some info about this.

    I was trying to find a fix for a different problem I was having when I saw that update that put the shortcut on the Start Menu . Maby someone can enlighten me about my problem.

    XP comes with a version of Roxio CD burning software built into the program. I bought a new CD-RW drive that came with Nero Burning ROM 5.5. Before reading about the problems I would have if I installed Nero with the already installed XP program, I put the Nero program in the machine. Seemed to work sometimes at first, but I thought the Nero V6 Update would fix the problem. So I installed it from the Nero website. HA! Big mistake... I had to uninstall the Nero Burning ROM 6.0, and when I did, it messed up something else, because now when I try to install new programs, the shortcut on the Start Menu for the newly installed program does not work.

    SO... I went and bought the new Roxio Easy CD and DVD Creator 6 Digital Media Suite Platinum Edition (WHEW! What a Name!) Retail Boxed version and installed it. After installation there was a listing for it on the Start Menu, but it would not do anything when I clicked on it. When I would right click the name of any newly installled program and choose Properties, it showed "This is not a valid Shortcut".( I also installed ANOTHER brand new retail boxed program from a different company, and it did the same thing.) I ended up going to My Computer / C / Program Files / (the name of the New Program) and found the .exe file. Right clicking the file showed an option to "Pin to Start Menu" which I did, and then renamed it so I can open the thing, but I dont think this is the way a new program should have to be opened.

    Anyone have a suggestion as to how I can get new programs to work from the start menu after installation without having to reinstall the whole thing?

    Also, as a security precaution in Windows XP, it is reccommended to disable the Administrator Account completely after creating a "New User" account for yourself with a different name, because most hackers will try to access the Administrator Account.

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Quicken 03 not opening (Windows XP)

    Sorry can't help you with the CD software problem but I just wanted to comment about your last statement.

    The Administrator account in WinXP Home is a built-in account that you cannot normally access unless you boot into Safe Mode. it does not show up on the friendly Welcome screen in other than Safe Mode. It may be possible to access it if you are not using the Welcome screen as you then get the Win2000-like login dialog. I haven't tried it so I'm not sure. Anyway one should not necessarily disable the Administrator account but instead secure it with a password. WinXP Home out-of-the-box has no password on the Administrator account which is why hackers will attack via that route as they know most users don't realize this, thus giving them an open door into your system. When you initially install and setup WinXP Home you should immediately establish at least one, preferably two User accounts that have Admin privileges. One would be for your normal use, the other as a backup in case the everyday one gets wacked-out. That way you don't have to boot to Safe Mode to get to the Administrator account to reset or fix the corrupt account. Other users that you set up should be just User privileged accounts if that will work for what they use the system for. I have 5 accounts on my system at home for the wife and two boys, I have the only the two that have Admin privileges, the rest are just User accounts and except for the Quicken 2003 problem which I solved with the folder permission changes, they haven't run into any problems. Well, except for the complaints I get when the kids try to install questionable software and they can't and then have to ask me to do it. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Texas UTC -5:00, Texas
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Quicken 03 not opening (Windows XP)

    I wound up just finding the shortcut folder in the original program folder then and copying all the shortcuts and pasting them into the start menu folder, so It is working ok now, but I just wanted to try to find out why the start menu items were listed but not valid shortcuts. Both programs that had this problem were upgrades to the full version from "light " programs that came with hardware.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •