Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Minimise Button? (WordXP)

    I have a userform that I created in WordXP, but there is no minimise button on it. Is this feature not available on userforms?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Minimise Button? (WordXP)

    It is not built in. I think there might be a way to emulate it, but I wouldn't know where to start. Why do you want to do this? Could you get close by having a button on the form itself and resizing the form in response to the button?

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Minimise Button? (WordXP)

    You must think of userforms as dialog windows, like the various dialogs that are built into Word, such as Tools | Options... Those dialogs never have maximize and minimize buttons.

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Minimise Button? (WordXP)

    VBA Userforms, unlike VB Forms, do not have such buttons.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Minimise Button? (WordXP)

    Yes, but then APIs can also be used to do most anything.

    These silly differences between VB and VBA will go away when everything is .NET-ized and all software uses Windoze Forms.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Minimise Button? (WordXP)

    Jefferson,

    The reason I want to minimise the dialog box is because it is a front-end to a database, so closing it all the time takes more time to load the data. It is quicker if the form can remain open while I work.

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Minimise Button? (WordXP)

    Is it feasible to hide the form (and make it visible again using a toolbar button or something like that)? When you hide a form, it stays in memory.

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Brussels, Brussel, Belgium
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Minimise Button? (WordXP)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by Leif on 13-Mar-04 17:02. to update link to http://www.bmsltd.ie/)</P>considering the fact that starting from office 2000, userforms can be non-modal, a case can be made for them to have those buttons.
    although this possibility has not been built in, it can be achieved using the windows api.

    for an example, goto Stephen Bullen's website and download formfun.zip.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •