Bronze Lounger
    Thanks

API call - printer properties Duplexing +more

(Edited by HansV to activate URL - see <!help=19>Help 19<!/help>)

HI

I'm a Word VBA programmer but new to API programming.
    I've found the following code 'Set Duplex Printing for Word Automation' in <!mskb=230743>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 230743<!/mskb>.

Ive managed to get this working.
    Our printers have other features that I would like to utilise via code. ie stapling, multiple pages per sheet etc well any of the printer features really I would like to be able to use.

Theres public constants defined in this code ie
    Public Const DM_DUPLEX = &H1000&
    Public Const DM_IN_BUFFER = 8

Public Const DM_OUT_BUFFER = 2
    Public Const PRINTER_ACCESS_ADMINISTER = &H4
    Public Const PRINTER_ACCESS_USE = &H8
    Public Const STANDARD_RIGHTS_REQUIRED = &HF0000

If I wanted to add stapling & multiple pages (& use the other printer features) I was thinking of adding addditional var's in eg

Public Type DEVMODE
    dmStaple as integer
    dmMultiplePagesPerSheet as integer
    End Type

The variable DM_DUPLEX is assigned a fixed constant. (is that a hexidecimal?)
    I was thinking I would have to assign a constant to Stapling & MultiplePagesPersheet.

Is the DM_DUPLEX constant a hexidecimal number?
    How would I go about obtaining this value for Stapling & MultiplePagesPersheet.

I've been reading about API programming & it seems a more powerful & flexible way to program. would that be correct?
    Am I heading down the correct path to do this?
    Has anyone done any API programming/calls?

many thanks
    Diana [img]/forums/images/smilies/ohmy.gif[/img]

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: API call - printer properties Duplexing +more

Hi Diana,