Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Reseda, California, USA
    Posts
    216
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Win98SE i p f.........

    After a couple of "Juno (my ISP) has caused an invalid page fault in kernell 32", I did the SFC, but it could not find any
    problems. But, since then, I'm having the classic "Win98 Shutdown problems".........I've never had that before, but now, it's
    almost every time I try to shut the computer off. I'm also confused that the SFC could not find a bad or corrupted file, especiall when it's kernell 32 - I thought that was one of the main things running Win98SE?????? Question: 1- Can you reinstall Win98SE over itself without problems? 2- Should I do a format instead? (Please don't say yes!)
    Thanks for past help.,

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Win98SE i p f.........

    I sure wouldn't be resorting to a clean install (format) just yet. This should be a solvable problem. Under all the circumstances I'VE been familiar with, re-installing the OS on top of itself doesn't destroy any files or settings and hence should be "safe" to do. But it won't always fix the problem. In your case, what is it about Juno that caused this problem? Not familiar with them. Do you have Juno-installed software like custom browsers, etc.? If so, it would seem that an un-install and re-install of any Juno software would be a better place to start than the OS. Obviously, I may be whistling Dixie, but it might be the easiest course to try first.

  3. #3
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win98SE i p f.........

    I have to agree with DOC. This sounds more like corruption within JUNO, then Win98. Start with Juno and see if you can fix it first. Installing Win98 as a repair can often fix many things, but it has to be an OS problem, and not everything that goes wrong is caused by the OS. As I think you might find in this case. Could be why SFC is not finding anything wrong. SFC is looking for corruption within the Operating System and not third party software.


    I found this below. Might give you a starting point.

    Invalid Page Faults Error Messages Microsoft Knowledge Base Article - 286180

    An Invalid Page Fault may occur when parameters are passed between programs and the Windows operating system. An invalid parameter may cause a program to run invalid instructions, which results in an invalid page fault. Invalid instruction can occur in any of the following situations:

    If the virtual memory becomes unstable due to a shortage of physical memory (RAM).
    If the virtual memory becomes unstable due to a shortage of free disk space.
    If the virtual memory area is damaged by a program.
    If a program attempts to access data that is being modified by another running program

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win98SE i p f.........

    Ever since the latest release of Windows 98 there have been complaints about the failure of the computer to fully shut down. This has been a problem since Windows 95 but it's particularly bad with Windows 98 Second Edition.

    There's a confusing set of Microsoft Knowledge Base articles on the subject, but the main one is Q238096 ( http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/ar...s/Q238/0/96.ASP ) that has a series of possible resolutions for you to work through. Plus there's a 508k shutdown patch ( here ) for Windows 98 SE from Microsoft.

    There's also a useful set of tips available from Jim Eshelman
    http://www.aumha.org/a/shutdown.htm
    http://www.aumha.org/a/shtdwnse.htm
    http://www.aumha.org/a/shtdwnme.htm
    http://www.aumha.org/kbshtdwn.htm that you can try. As Microsoft has noted, any suggestion to replace the CONFIGMG.VXD file should be ignored -- replacing .VXD or other key system files manually is only for the brave or reckless.
    Hope this helps,

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Reseda, California, USA
    Posts
    216
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win98SE i p f.........

    OK, after trying several things, and hearing from Juno, my ISP, seems two files have become corrupted and should be replaced. msvcrt.dll and mfc42.dll. I downloaded them, and got the mfc42.dll installed OK - (I think - nothing indicated that
    is was not OK).......but, tried and failed to get msvcrt.dll. installed.
    Here's what I tried so far:
    cut and paste - - "cannot ex
    change this file - it is being used by Windows"
    Tried renaming the file "old" and cutting and pasting the new one - "cannot rename this file or move this file -"
    The date on the original msvcrt is April 2000 - - the one I downloaded is August 2003. Should I keep trying to find out how to
    replace the dll or not? If so, is there some way I haven't tried that will work?
    It's amazing what you people know - I hope I'm not being a pest, and do appreciate the help.
    <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win98SE i p f.........

    You have several options, but first:

    -- rename the desired version "msvcrt.new"
    -- move it into the WindowsSystem directory.

    Then:

    1) Boot to DOS, rename the original file to "msvcrt.old, and rename the 'new' file "msvcrt.dll".

    -- or if you don't like DOS --

    2) Use a batch file and run it in the autoexec.bat file:

    cd
    cd C:WindowsSystem
    ren msvcrt.dll msvcrt.old
    ren msvcrt.new msvcrt.dll

    3) Use the Wininit.ini file to do this for you:

    -- Create a file named Wininit.ini and stick it in your C:Windows folder.
    -- The contents of this text file should be:

    [rename]
    C:WindowsSystemmscvrt.old=C:WindowsSystemmscvrt.dl l
    C:WindowsSystemmscvrt.dll=C:WindowsSystemmscvrt.ne w
    _______________

    Note the reverse positioning of the files. In the wininit.ini files, the syntax is:

    destination = source

    While, in DOS or in the batch file, the syntax is:

    Ren source destination.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Win98SE i p f.........

    R2,
    What a great tip !!! Can batch files be used in most other instances to do file management with DOS without having to leave the warm and fuzzy confines of the Windows GUI ??? I could fill a book with the things I don't know about DOS, but if there were a few simple commands that could be inserted in a "batch file template" to do these little DOS file management tricks that seem to be required from time to time it would be of great help to all us DOS Dummies out here. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win98SE i p f.........

    FWIW...

    Batch files are essentially DOS commands written on several lines. They let you 'automate' the DOS commands by putting them into a "batch" -- so you don't have to hit Enter and type each line. The whole thing is run at once -- line by line.

    You could certainly use batch files in Windows to automate DOS tasks. You might want to link each one to a .pif file -- simply make a shortcut to the .bat and I believe Windows creates the PIF for you...
    _____

    In this case, the batch file must be run in DOS -- before the Windows shell is running. So you cannot just run the file from within Windows. The problem is that Windows is using the file in question and it will not 'let go' of it. So to replace it you need to have Windows off. If you run the file from within the autoexec.bat file, it will automatically run as your computer reboots.

    ***Ooops! I forgot one thing!! Once you run this batch file from the autoexec.bat, you should delete it!!!! Otherwise, each time you reboot, the file will be renamed. This would be very problematic...

    The "wininit.ini" technique is actually the preferred method. This is exactly the technique used by Windows Update itself. The reason is because the wininit.ini file is RUN ONCE and then disgarded (actually just renamed). So, the user never has to worry about deleting the wininit.ini file after it runs.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Reseda, California, USA
    Posts
    216
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win98SE i p f.........

    I don't know if this matters, but Juno is one of those inexpensive ISP's with a "skin" over IE............So, we're back to working with the crummy IE 6 which has driven me wild in the past.
    Thanks for the education and the help. I'm going to uninstall and reinstall Juno as soon as I can get the CD mailed to me.
    In the meantime, it seems to be working, although with "herky jerky" graphics. I can live with that for awhile.

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Win98SE i p f.........

    It would seem there are pluses and minuses to both .bat files and working from the command line. Either way it involves knowing DOS commands and I am not at all DOS literate. Just never could get the hang of it. Didn't do well in Foreign Language studies in school either. <img src=/S/nope.gif border=0 alt=nope width=15 height=15> Maybe that has something to do with it. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>

    Anyway... thanks for taking the time to teach this old dog a new trick. I'll have to work with it, but at least now I have something to work with. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win98SE i p f.........

    OT - if you ever want help on writing DOS or batch files, ask in the Web Design, Coding, and Scripting Forum.

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win98SE i p f.........

    Hi Doc:
    I'm lost when it comes to DOS, too. This site is good for basic information. (Actually, I think R2 may have referred me to that site?)
    Hope this helps,

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Win98SE i p f.........

    Hey Phil !!
    Thanks for the link !! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> Looks like it will be a BIG help for this DOS Dummie !! One of the great things about the lounge is that even folks with limited knowledge of a subject, seem to have something useful to add. While we may be in the same boat when it comes to DOS, we are not up the proverbial creek without a paddle !!! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •