Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Microsoft Memory Diagnostic

    Have I found something before SMBP??! <img src=/S/fanfare.gif border=0 alt=fanfare width=31 height=23>

    Microsoft Memory Diagnostic

    The Windows Memory Diagnostic tests the Random Access Memory (RAM) on your computer for errors. The diagnostic includes a comprehensive set of memory tests. If you are experiencing problems while running Windows, you can use the diagnostic to determine whether the problems are caused by failing hardware, such as RAM or the memory system of your motherboard. Windows Memory Diagnostic is designed to be easy and fast. On most configurations, you can download the diagnostic, read the documentation, run the test and complete the first test pass in less than 30 minutes.

    To run Windows Memory Diagnostic, you must reboot your computer with the disk or CD-ROM on which you installed Windows Memory Diagnostic in the drive. After the reboot, Windows Memory Diagnostic will load and its interface will appear. After loading, the first test pass will begin, using the default standard test suite, and continue until complete, unless Windows Memory Diagnostic is either paused or exited. Once the first test pass is complete, Windows Memory Diagnostic will begin a second test pass using the same settings as before. Windows Memory Diagnostic will continue to run test passes until you exit.
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Microsoft Memory Diagnostic

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by jscher2000 on 24-Aug-03 13:42. Maybe I spoke too soon... see picture.)</P>This seems to be an entirely new web site:

    http://oca.microsoft.com/en/Welcome.asp (Note the "oca" subdomain)

    <UL>Microsoft
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Microsoft Memory Diagnostic

    Oh boy--a new MS website with a new MS thing, tool, app, to play with. You sure did. You Raiders of the Lost Arked around MS's Byzantine Labyrinth of Sites With Never an Index and you nailed a new one.

    I managed to stay off the PC for a whole half day to go out and throw the ball around. I have one diagnosis already before I use it--

    Gloria Vanderbilt, I'm sure said (her most famous quote) "You can never be rich or too thin or have enough RAM--I always say that before I grab my MMB"

    SMBP

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Microsoft Memory Diagnostic

    As you know, they have had some form of "OCA" around for a while--this site must be new, but on some--I don't know how they pick them, crashses I had a previous OCA site conjure up and it would ask you to describe exactly what happened before you crashed--I always excelled in describing exactly how I felt after I crashed and made sure I included as many explicit feelings before I hit their word limit. You could go back to the oca link and it would have "feedback" on your problem. I always got the feedback--no matter what the error or crash prelude that they "had no solution--or words like that--at this time. They save all your errors for 180 days. I have never gotten anythng helpful from using it yet--maybe they are changing that.

    [url=http://oca.microsoft.com/en/Welcome.asp]Previous less robust site they linked you to[/ulr]'

    SMBP
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Microsoft Memory Diagnostic

    Good find, John. I must admit I don't understand a single bit of what any of the 11 steps consist of, but my RAM passed all of them. <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Microsoft Memory Diagnostic

    Yes, agreed - this program would have been ever so useful from around 1982 to 1990 -- when you had chips that got push-inserted (not soldered!) into the system board or long boards, and which came out ever so gradually and deviously over the weeks and months, because of the dreaded Thermal Creep, caused by multiple power off/power on cycles.
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Microsoft Memory Diagnostic

    You may not believe this, o sceptical chaps and ms-chaps, but I've actually found this utility of use in diagnosing the problem with an NT 4 box which was giving a variety of unusual blue screen Stop Codes every few days over the past few months - none of them apparently linked in any way with memory errors!

    The box failed several of the diagnostic tests, so I took the cover off and found that one of the memory modules had partially lifted from its socket. Pushing it home with some degree of enthusiasm, and rerunning the test, found the box's memory now working perfectly.

    And there was me going to replace the hard disk...!
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •