Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    New Logitech mouseware

    <img src=/S/mice.gif border=0 alt=mice width=50 height=25> I did not know where to put this but I wanted to let people know that the newest version of Ligitech's mouseware is quite lacking. I use the MX700 mouse which has 8 buttons. That is great and I had it programmed for all sorts of things (like the scroll bar, when pressed = delete and one of the thumb buttons = enter, etc.). The newest version of their mouseware does not permit all the customization that the old one did. I can no longer program any button to = delete or enter nor program any button to act as an F key. This was all possible with the old software. It seems silly to have such a button rich mouse with the dearth of choices one now gets. I uninstalled the new software and reinstalled the old. I just wanted to give everyone a heads up so if you have a heavily programmed Logitech mouse, that one should NOT get the newest software. <img src=/S/mice.gif border=0 alt=mice width=50 height=25>

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New Logitech mouseware

    My guess is that they were deluged with calls from people who said: "I programmed button Y2A to do <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> but I pressed it by accident and now my computer won't boot!".

    Does anyone actually use the new wonder-buttons at the top of some keyboards, above the F1-F12 keys? Or the buttons on either side of a Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer?

    Call me a Luddite
    voices off: You're a Luddite!
    but I think they are both a waste of space and potentially dangerous.... <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25>

    PS You don't get all these buttons on an Apple Mac, do you -- and they're supposed to be the apogee of design excellence...
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New Logitech mouseware

    I still use a keyboard w/o a Windows key. Ctrl+Esc is good enough for me. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New Logitech mouseware

    We use all of the buttons and find them extremely helpful. Also, we use AutoCAD architectural Desktop in the office and it is so complicated that programming a keyboard is the best way to do many things. We use the avant stellar prime and find it fantastic. http://www.cvtinc.com/products/keyboards/stellar.htm

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New Logitech mouseware

    After looking at the $149 price tag, I'm stickin' with my $19 basic!

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New Logitech mouseware

    You miss it's usefulness as a shortcut-generating key though. Quoting from WWW #6.04:
    <hr>Minimise all Windows Winkey+ D
    A quick way to get rid of the screen clutter and find the desktop icons.

    To show all the windows again: Winkey+Shift+M

    Jump to Explorer Winkey+ E
    To see the Windows Explorer quickly

    Cycle across the Taskbar Winkey+ Tab
    Though Alt + Tab will do the same thing Not exactly the same thing, Alt+Tab is more useful since when you release the Alt key the selected app. becomes active, whereas Winkey+Tab cycles across the Taskbar and you gotta press spacebar for the app. to become active.

    Search Winkey+ F
    Is it Search or is it Find? It's called Search on the menu but the shortcut harks back to the days when it was called Find.

    Run Winkey+ R
    Some people never use the Run command but others do it all the time. Most commonly to access the registry (rededt32) or a 'DOS' command box (cmd).

    System Properties Winkey+ Break
    This is the equivalent of clicking the System icon in Control Panel or the Properties option under the My Computer desktop icon.<hr>
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,680
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New Logitech mouseware

    I use the MS Office keyboard. It has a ton of buttons across the top that I have disabled - just never used them. But the buttons to the left are great. One button for Cut / Copy & Paste is faster than Ctrl+C, etc. And a two sided 'Application' button that will instantly switch from one running app to the other. Again, faster than Alt+Tab

    If I had a wish... I would like a one key method of entering my email address into a form. I find myself typing my entire email address alot and what a timesaver it would be to just click Ctrl+M (for example) and have that pop my email address at the cursor. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    - Ricky

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New Logitech mouseware

    Not really. I have shortcut keys for everything I need.

    Minimise all Windows: I use Alt+Ctrl+M (all you need is a shortcut to Show Desktop & give it a shortcut key)
    To show all the windows again: Same thing
    Jump to Explorer = click the button on the side of my mouse with my thumb
    Cycle across the Taskbar = Alt+tab, as you've noted
    Search = F3
    Run = Ctrl+Esc,R
    System Properties = Ctrl+Esc,KSSS (I have the "Kontrol" Panel on the upper part of my menu)

    I find that the more keys there are on the keyboard, the easier it is to hit the wrong one. Once you have the shortcut keys memorized (& it comes quickly), it's just as fast...maybe faster. And pressing Ctrl+C is just as fast as pressing 1 button. <img src=/S/argue.gif border=0 alt=argue width=50 height=25> <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    Cheers,

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New Logitech mouseware

    <hr>If I had a wish... I would like a one key method of entering my email address into a form.<hr>
    There are clipboard extenders that allow you to create shortcuts for pasting frequently used blurbs. I use SmartBoard2000, but there are numerous other clipboard extenders that do similar things.

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New Logitech mouseware

    Ricky

    Have you looked at the new Google Toolbar 2.0, which has a method of entering data "automatically" into forms using what they call the AutoFill button? I just use its Popup Blocker, since I fill in forms fairly rarely...!
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New Logitech mouseware

    <hr>...method of entering my email address into a form... <hr>
    Aha! You need what I used to call a macro program like QuicKeys. 'Course, it isn't free, but maybe there are some freeware types out there. I haven't looked lately.

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New Logitech mouseware

    Awwwwright <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>

    Now that you mention Alt+Ctrl+M, I remember Winkey+M, which has an effect very similar to Winkey+D (if not the same). Winkey+Shift+M (what an ugly combination) or Winkey+D will also show the windows back again.

    I agree that key combinations are a cool way to keep the keyboard under control, it's just that I was born with a Winkey keyboard and can't get used to the idea of not having it <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>.
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,680
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New Logitech mouseware

    Thanks guys for the tips. Your recommendations gave me a starting point that eventually led to HotKeyControl XP . It's 'donateware' and I'm okay with that. So far it seems useful. It's very simple to customize. And it gives you a choice of whether you want to keep the icon in your system tray or not. (Which is important to me...I just hate a cluttered tray...nothing but a clock and a Replicator icon)

    Without reaching for the mouse, it will let you start your favorite apps, adjust volume, open CD drawer, custom macros (like entering my email address at the cursor) and more! with simple key combinations that you specify. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    I had never used a utility like this before so I'm having a good time with this one, so far. We'll see if it remains useful once the new wears off ( like so many utilities often do...)
    - Ricky

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Confoederatio Helvetica
    Posts
    602
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New Logitech mouseware

    Some others: (WK=Winkey)

    WK+e starts Windows Explorer
    WK+f starts Find in files dialogue
    WK+Ctrl+f starts Find a Computer on the Network dialogue
    WK+m Minimises all windows to clear desktop
    WK+Shift+m restores all Minimised windows
    WK+r starts the Run dialogue
    WK+F1 starts Windows Help
    WK+Pause starts System Properties

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •