Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    MenuBar Property (Access 97)

    Hi

    This is an area I know little about (along with lots of other ones). When the FE is loaded via runtime, the standard menu bar for a report in print preview is File Window Help. Under File it lists close and exit. What it does not list is Print. Therefore, unless the user knows that clt-P will load the print dialog box, or I include a prompt msgbox on this in the report, the user does not know how to print the report.

    So, how do I customise the menu bar property for runtime for a report to display print (Access Help was a bit vague on this point, hence this query). If possible a step by step answer would be much appreciated.

    Thanks & Regards
    WTH

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: MenuBar Property (Access 97)

    Create a whole new menu bar (and/or toolbar) for use in reports.

    Select Tools | Customize...
    In the Toolbars tab, click New...
    Specify a name, and click OK.
    If you want to create a menu bar, click Properties while the new toolbar is selected in the Toolbars list. Set the Type property to Menu bar, then click Close.
    Drag the menu bar/toolbar to a convenient location.
    Activate the Commands tab in the Customize dialog.
    Click the appropriate category, then drag a command to the menu bar/toolbar. For a menu bar, start with 'New menu', then click the new menu to open it.
    When finished, close the Customize dialog.

    Open the report in design view.
    Set the Menu Bar (or Toolbar) property to the name of the new custom bar.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MenuBar Property (Access 97)

    Hi Hans

    Thanks very much for that. It works fine, except for one minor point. I can't find the Print command in the tool bar customise box which displays the print dialog box. I know this is a dumb question, but where can I find it?? (I have found the print command which sends the report directly to the printer).

    Thanks & Regards
    WTH

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: MenuBar Property (Access 97)

    This is one of those strange oversights of Microsoft. It isn't available in the list of commands. Instead, copy it from the standard File menu by dragging it to your menu with the Ctrl key held down. If you don't keep Ctrl depressed when you drop the menu item onto the new menu, you move it - that's not what you want.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MenuBar Property (Access 97)

    Hi Hans

    Well glad I'm wasn't going blind then and thanks.

    However, I still have a problem with it. The print dialog button shows up when running under developer, but under runtime it does not display. See attached Word document. So what am I missing??

    Thanks and Regards
    WTH
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: MenuBar Property (Access 97)

    Oh <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0>, I forgot about that. If the Print... command had been available in runtime, it would have shown up in the standard menu. You will have to write some code to run the print dialog, and assign this to a custom menu item. See ODE97: Print Command Not Available in Run-Time Applications.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MenuBar Property (Access 97)

    Hi Hans

    Thanks, all working now.

    Regards
    WTH

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •