Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: Selecting text

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Selecting text

    I just started using IE for other than situations, like windows update, where it is required. I guess I will get used to it, but there is an annoying "feature" I need help with.

    When I try to select text in a field, IE insists on selecting whole words only. It will not let me select part of a word. Is there a way to disable this "feature"?

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: Selecting text

    The initial selection is for a word, but, you can re-select for specific characters.

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Selecting text

    <hr>you can re-select for specific characters<hr>
    How? I can't find the setting.

  5. #4
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: Selecting text

    After the initial full selection, single left-click in the field with the cursor positioned to an appropriate location. This deselects the field. Then, drag select the portion of the field you want.

  6. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Selecting text

    Sorry I didn't make myself clear. I mean the IE behavior of selecting whole words instead of characters. For example, when I registered for this lounge, I cocatenated my first and last names into artAlexion. Suppose you wanted to select just my last name. If you include the begining a or the ending n in your selection, IE won't let you select just the first or just the last name. It insists on selecting the entire word.

    I think Word 97 introduced this "feature" but lets you turn it off. Does IE let you turn it off?

  7. #6
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: Selecting text

    Art, not sure about an option but.

    When I double click your name I get "artAlexion", however, if I single click and keep the left button depressed I can drag select any portion, eg. "Alexion"

  8. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Selecting text

    I've come to the following conclusion:

    By default, I.E. selects the entire word.

    If you select this text, by clicking before the "I" in If, and slowly select the rest of the sentance, you can see that it selects the entire word, however if you slowly backtrack over what you've selected, it only selects up to that point.

    I think that's what you're looking for.. no? <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

  9. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Selecting text

    <hr>if I single click and keep the left button depressed I can drag select any portion, eg. "Alexion"<hr>

    I can't. That is why I suspect that it is a preference setting. To be clear, I can select "Alex", "Alexi" and "Alexio", but as soon as I include the ending "n", the whole "artAlexion" is selected.

  10. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Selecting text

    Select the entire word you want a portion of, plus the next word, holding down your left mouse button.
    Then Slowly backtrack your mouse to select the portion you want.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

  11. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Selecting text

    <P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1>Edited by Phil Rabichow on 01/04/07 05:28.</FONT></P>Hi Art:

    It's a very poor system, but you can select from character to character as DrkRealm says. For example, take the words above "very poor system". Click between the e & r in very, move right & watch what happens:
    1. As you get to the p in poor, both words, poor & very, become selected.
    2. If you continue right, each whole word is selected in turn.
    3. Move back left slowly to the original word, very. It will deselect the ve, leaving the ry selected.
    4. Now move right again & it will select whole words, BUT you can back up to the character that you want.

    Stupid? Yes. Difficult to work with? Absolutely. At least in Word you have the choice of whether to select whole words only &, even if the option is on, you can hold the Alt key down to prevent whole words from being selected. That's one of the reasons I use Netscape when scavenging for text to copy.

    Hope this helps.

  12. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Selecting text

    Thanks, Phil. That's one of the things that I don't like about MS products. All that intelli-nonsense stuff are automation marvels, but they assume you work the same way as the MS designers.

    For some reason, the customizability of word seems to break with this thinking.

    About half of our office machines are now Linux and one of the exciting things about the change is how much you can customize really basic default behaviors -- on the fly without rebooting. For instance one of my windows pet peeves is how background processes, say a seach in one program, pops its results dialog to the foreground while you are working in another program. You are typing away at the foreground app, when suddenly the background app presents a dialog asking for your input. Because you are typing at the time, you inadvertantly make changes or selections to the dialog that popped up. Its so presumptuous when a program grabs control that way. I apologize for this diverging rant.

  13. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Selecting text

    Hi Art:

    If you have any Windows OS left, you can download TweakUI. If you search the Software forum, you'll find a link. On TweakUI's General Tab, there are options for preventing applications from stealing focus. Instead, you can set it for flashing on the taskbar a given number of times (or until you click on it).

    And I completely agree with you regarding the Intelli-nonsense.

  14. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Selecting text

    Of course I still have windows machines, or I wouldn't be writing about Internet Explorer <g>.

    I have TweakUI, but the option isn't available on the general tab. Do I have an outdated version, or is it because I have the Win95 version?

  15. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Selecting text

    Hi Art:

    There's several versions since Win 95. I can't open up any more windows right now or I'll crash (I'm below 10% resources), but Version 1.33 is available & there's a link provided in the Software Finds forum. Just do a search for TweakUI there.

  16. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Selecting text

    I think I have 1.33. After I read your post, I downloaded an Oct 98 powertoys package from the MS website. As I was installing Tweak UI, I got the "do you want to replace this program with an older version" dialog. The question indicated that my installed version was either 1.33 or 1.31. Other than trying the install again, is there a way you can tell the installed version? The option regarding stealing focus doesn't appear in mine. I just have "beep on errors" "smooth scrolling", and "window animation".

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •