Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Upgrade Internet Explorer ?

    Upgrade Internet Explorer ?

    I

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Internet Explorer ?

    Do you use AOL or IE to browse the internet?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Internet Explorer ?

    Hi Dave

    Interesting!

    I'm trying to set up outdated/donated computers for the less fortunate youth to use the Internet.

    What if I use AOL?

    What if I use IE?

    What are the advantages of each?

    Thanks, John

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Internet Explorer ?

    There are no known advantages of each! Use Mozilla! It's free, popup preventable, and just darn good!

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Internet Explorer ?

    Hi Mike

    What is Mozilla?

    Does it replace IE?

    Where do I get it?

    Thanks, John

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Internet Explorer ?


  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Internet Explorer ?

    Thanks Mike

    If I do want to my MSIE 4.72.3110.0

    What version will work on configuration and where do I get it?

    John

    Pentium 133 Mhz
    48 MB Ram
    AOL 5.0 Version 156.138 (Build a)
    Win 98 4.10.1998

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Internet Explorer ?

    I don't know, I retired Internet Explorer after I found Mozilla.

  9. #9
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Internet Explorer ?

    I retired IE after finding AvantBrowser Know several people in this forum that use it. Need to at least take a look at it.Uses very little resourses and memory.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Internet Explorer ?

    If you use AOL you would not need to upgrade IE. Also if you use IE you do not even need AOL on the machine.
    On this small of a machine I would stick with what you have listed. or go to IE 5.0, if you can find a copy.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Internet Explorer ?

    John,
    You're talking apples and oranges here. AOL is an ISP and without an account it will do you no good at all. Internet Explorer is an internet browser program that is built into Windows 98 (remember the anti-trust case against MS ??) If you have Windows 98 installed you have IE 4.0 I think. Also, AOL used IE as their browser until the bought up Netscape and incorporated their Navigator browser into the AOL software in place of IE. Confused yet ?? <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

    If you want IE, you already have it and it's possible that your AOL 5.0 install came with a newer version of IE (I don't know when they converted to Netscape's Navigator browser). If you want to use AOL, you can install their latest version on that system and it should work OK. I gave an old 133 with 48 MB of RAM to a computer deprived friend and set him up with the latest version of AOL (AOL 8 at that time) and it worked just fine. As far as I know, you can't DL IE 5.0 any longer and would need to get your hands on an old CD of the program.

    Hope this helps.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •