Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Lounger
    Thanks

Corrupted user profile?

Running Win2kPro and IE6, I have trouble accessing some (but not all) Web sites, getting "403 You are not authorized to view this page" errors. This started with a few group sharing sites such as WebEx and Genesys (I'm a self-employed consultant and often review vendors' software remotely using one of these services), but not with WebDemo. I could get to the WebEx home page (for example), but when I tried to join a meeting I'd get the 403 message. WebDemo works just fine. This problem has now spread to Expedia; I check flight times, pick the route I wanted, but going on to book it gives me the 403 error. Based on a hint from the MS Knowledge Base about a possible corrupted user profile I set up a new one, and this lets me into all these sites without a problem.
    Two questions:
    (a) does anyone know how to fix the original user profile? The MS KB gives a hint about this problem when using MSExchangeWEB, but the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE key they refer to isn't on my PC since I'm not using that product.
    ([img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] Is there a way to give my new user profile access to all the applications used by my old one, or am I doomed to re-install everything I use?

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

Re: Corrupted user profile?

First, in your original profile have you tried emtpying your TIF, deleteing cookies, and deleting internet history?
    a.) You can try to copying your old progfile to a new one. Right click MY Computer. Select Properties. Then Advanced | User Profiles. There should be the option to copy a profile. NOTE: This may not be exact as I'm doing it from memory not in front of a Win2k system. Make sure that the new profile has the same security permissions as the old.
    b.) Should be taken care of by a.)

Joe
    Joe

Lounger
    Thanks