Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: duplicate (XP)

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    duplicate (XP)

    when my computer starts it says "there is a duplicate name on the network" i am on a LAN at a university, how can i change this to avoid this message?

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: duplicate (XP)

    Are you still able to log on to the network ?? Are you running XP Home or XP Pro?? How are you signing in on your machine ?? As Administrator or your own name or Screenname ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: duplicate (XP)

    It's XP Pro, yeah i still get on the network my own name with admin privileges

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: duplicate (XP)

    Jordan--

    Right click on the My Computer icon and select Computer Name, click the change button and rename the Computer.

    For reference see:

    In a University setting I get the error 'there is a duplicate name on the network'

    I specifically chose this error's soulution from a university network setup. This may solve your problem from from the University of Nottingham troubleshooting service. When they talk, I listen because Robin Hood graduated from there. Click on Hyperlink #7.

    How did you do with the problem you posted on Blue Screen XP Sept. 4? crottyjd Were we able to help with that? You never posted back.

    SMBP

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: duplicate (XP)

    Have you contacted your lan IT support. They may have assigned the same account name to some one else or one else may be using using your account.

    Most things like this are beyond your control, and must contact your IT support.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •