Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: wont run on XP

  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Nottinghamshire, England
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    wont run on XP

    Hi all ... I'm probably posting in the wrong section and I'll probably make this way more complicated than it needs to be but please bear with me 'cos I'm sure its quite simple really.

    My daughter has bought a digital camera and although we are running on XP it only runs on 98/200/Me ( I know .... don't ask me why she bought it but she did!). Now I remember that previously with software we have been able to get round this problem but changing the computer settings so that when a particular program is running it runs with an earlier version of Windows if you see what I mean. Only thing is I can't for the life of me remember how I did it <img src=/S/nope.gif border=0 alt=nope width=15 height=15>

    Thats sounds as clear as mud even to me ... any ideas???

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: wont run on XP

    <hr> it only runs on 98/2000/Me<hr>
    Have you tried using the Camera with WinXP yet? If the Camera runs on Win2000 {XP is built on Win2000 technology} you should be able to get it to work with XP by finding the updated drivers. Have you looked for XP Drivers on the net for that Camera? Give me the Camera Information and I will look and see what I can find. I have a Camera that the box said was for Win98 thru Win2000, but it worked just fine on Winxp, even before I updated the drivers, although I will say it worked much better after I installed the newer Drivers. Anyway, post the Camera Info. I am very good at finding Drivers. I build Computers and I have to do it all the time.

    And I believe you are talking about Capability Mode. See below. If so, once it is installed, right click on the icon, choose properties, and then the Capability Tab as seen below. Put a check mark by Run this program in capability mode, and choose Win2000. But you will still need the newest updated drivers for that camera and WinXP to get it to work to it's full potential.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: wont run on XP

    Does the camera use a "standard" removable memory stick like Lexar or whatever? The reason I ask is that you'd probably be well served to buy a (approx) $20 memory stick USB reader for attachment to the PC's USB port. Much faster and eliminates the hassle of connecting the camera to the PC every time.

    SmartDisk.Com

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: wont run on XP

    Good point Sarge. That is very true. I don't hook mine up to my Computer anymore eather.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Nottinghamshire, England
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: wont run on XP

    Thanks for the replies ... this is only a little gadget fun type camera - 'l'espion' digitaldream model kc-100. I have checked on their website and there are some updated drivers on there but they seemed to be for different models of camera - she's bought this one second hand off e-bay and its not got any paperwork with it so I don't know anything else about it really.

    It was the compatability mode thingy I was thinking of .. we'd used with some old software once, but like you say I'd probably do better to find the correct driver for it .

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Nottinghamshire, England
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: wont run on XP

    BTW - to be accurate, it actually says that the soft ware I am installing has not passed Windows Logo testing to verify its compatability with Windows XP, and advises that the installation be stopped and the vendor contacted, but it does give you the option to carry on with the installation ...... ?

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Nottinghamshire, England
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: wont run on XP

    Hiya Tried that a couple of times and it doesn't seem to make any difference. The software programs come up but when you try and download any photographs it just says - 'camera not ready'

  8. #8
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: wont run on XP

    Try this 'l'espion' digitaldream Drivers for WinXP Try the Drivers for the camera you think is closet to yours. You might be surprised. Sometimes the drivers have very little difference. Besides it won't hurt to try. If they don't work right, rollback to the previous one. From what I am seeing I would try the top one first { L'espion L'espirt } drivers for WinXP.
    You can also download are read the Manuals here Manuals

    This is thier older Digital Camera Drivers Here

    This page shows all thier Cameras and Info. I think your going to find that the first Driver I mention will be the one that will work. L'espionCameras

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: wont run on XP

    Can you access the camera's storage as a "mass storage device"? When the software pops up, shut it down, then open My Computer and see if Windows has assigned a drive letter to your camera and lets you access it like a hard drive. Obviously not as convenient, but hopefully it will work.

    Newer versions of Windows support a protocol named "Picture Transfer Protocol" or PTP. It's possible that manufacturers are not entitled to use the Logo unless they support PTP, and for this older camera, the manufacturer doesn't seem interested in doing so. The camera still should support "mass storage" access through one route or another. If not, maybe you can find a cheap old Windows 98 PC on eBay, too. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    There's a version of the manual cached by Google. Hope this helps.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: wont run on XP

    Hi Lorraine

    The message "Camera not ready" that you are getting is similar to a message that I get with regard to a removable cartridge memory device I have. That is, on boot up I get a "device found but not ready " message if I don't have a cartridge in the slot. I'm wondering if there is a switch/setting on the camera that tells the software that it is ready to download, or if a memory card must be in place, when the software first accesses the camera. It seems the software is locating the camera, but, for some reason, the camera is not ready to download.

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: wont run on XP

    Have you Downloaded the Manual and read it?

  12. #12
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: wont run on XP

    'camera not ready' WinXP Q&A for L'espion In this fix, it ask for the CD that came with your Camera to were you can install the STV68OU.DLL file. Follow the directions but instead of pointing to the CD you will need to point to the file you Downloaded the updated drivers too.

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Nottinghamshire, England
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: wont run on XP

    <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23> Yeah .. after much moaning and swearing I've finally got the thing working! Thank you so much ... you've made one UK teenager very happy.

    Thank you very much <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> <img src=/S/kiss.gif border=0 alt=kiss width=34 height=15> .... BTW loved the singing horses

  14. #14
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: wont run on XP

    Glad I could be of help. Yeah the horses are funny.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •