Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Microsoft Trackball Explorer mouse

    MIcrosoft as replaced this mouse 4 (repeat, 4) times due
    to an erratic pointer. I have two other models of Microsoft
    mice that each work as good as new after more than 5 years.
    Do others out there also have this problem with this model?
    I use it on a laptop and with the touch pad disenabled.

    Victor

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Microsoft Trackball Explorer mouse

    Well the one thing I would say, is if you have had that much trouble with the last four, it's time to try something different even if the older models seem to work fine. Personally it just sounds like a bad model or horrible workmenship to me. I use Logitech and have had no problems, So Far.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Microsoft Trackball Explorer mouse

    After the second one broke I sensed a trend and asked Microsoft
    to replace this mouse with a different model (even a cheaper one).
    Got a big NO! They said they could replace the mouse with only
    one of the same model. And that I could replace it as many times
    as necessary. Funny policy!! Maybe they'll give me a new model
    when I've depleted their stock!!

    Victor

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Microsoft Trackball Explorer mouse

    Don't you just hate that <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> . I can understand the first time and maybe even the second, but after that they should have upgraded you to a better model, just out of common courtesy if nothing else. If I were you I would tell them you want your money back and that you will find a better mouse somewhere else.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Microsoft Trackball Explorer mouse

    You didn't say anything about your system, but even though I hate to drop flower petals for MS, they've been making mouses for a long time and it seems to me that FOUR bad ones in a row is pretty inconceivable. If I were you, I'd suspect something in your setup either doesn't like the mouse or its settings or needs some tweaking. Can you borrow a Logitech or No-Name from someone to try for a short time to see what happens? I admit that it's been a long time now, but when I first got my Gateway laptop several years ago, I had a lot of trouble with the touchpad drivers until I updated both them and the laptop BIOS. From then on, I didn't have to DISABLE the touchpad to plug in a mouse and it worked just fine from then on.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Microsoft Trackball Explorer mouse

    Thanks for your thoughts Al.

    I didn't go into the lenghty details of the troubleshooting that was done
    by me and by MS technical support. But I assure you it was
    thorough. Looks like I just ran into a bad strain of Trackballs.
    But what irks me most is that MS wouldn't budge from its
    replacement policy even when such a rare situation as this existed.
    After all we're talking about one mouse, not a million dollar server.

    Thanks again,
    Victor

    PS (disenable) I haven't used English for many, many years!!

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Microsoft Trackball Explorer mouse

    <hr>...PS (disenable) I haven't used English for many, many years!!... <hr>
    Sorry if you took my capitalization as an affront to your spelling. It wasn't intended that way! It was meant to highlight the fact that I also had been in a position of having to turn off my touchpad and managed to fix the problem. Probably you're right and MS has a dud on its hands and if that's the case, I think I'd opt for something else rather than having to put up with all the hassle. Anyway, good luck to you, Victor!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •