Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    This is a strange error...

    Guys, maybe you can help me with this one. I am working on a client's system, a Dell Optiplex. I cloned the Windows 98 install from an identical system. I have had a few teething pains, with devices, etc. I finally wipped all those into shape, when I went to install the client's printer. Lo and behold, in the add printer wizard, no lpt port shows up! I have uninstalled and re-installed the port, changed the type, irq and dma in the bios, re-installed the port after the changes, tried the add port option in the printer properties dialog, etc. Windows detects the printer port just fine, but I cannot get windows to offer the lpt port to install the darn thing! The printer port on this system was working recently, and was working on the system that the image was taken from. I have tried capturing the port to a network resource, ending the capture as well. I have searched the Microsoft Knowledge Base extensively, and found nothing close enough to be suspect. I cannot re-install Windows 98 because the client will lose some software he no longer has support for. HELP! Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This is a strange error...

    This may be way off, but have you checked the cable to make sure it's compliant?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This is a strange error...

    Yes, cable is ieee 1284 and was used on his previous system. I don't think anything external/hardware is the issue. I think it is a registry/system files issue. That's how it's acting anyway.

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This is a strange error...

    You could do a repair install if you have a Win98 CD. Should fix it if it's a system problem. Have you checked BIOS settings for the printer port?

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This is a strange error...

    As for the Repair install, I thought that was only an option with Windows 2000 and up. I know you can re-install on top, but that isn't a repair install. In my post, I mention that I checked and changed the BIOS settings, from AT, to PS/2, to EPP, to ECP and the memory and dma ranges as well...
    How do you do a repair install with Windows 98 without having to re-install apps?

  6. #6
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This is a strange error...

    I call it a repair in Win98. But it is actually the upgrade option and it will install over the existing and replace any missing files and such. You won't loose any settings or anything. I have had to do it many times. And it has fixed things like that for me before.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This is a strange error...

    The OS is already Windows 98SE, so what do I upgrade to? He cannot run Wind2k as he has legacy apps. Please don' t say Win ME, as I need the comic relief. Can you upgrade Win98SE to 98SE? I never have tried.

  8. #8
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This is a strange error...

    <hr>Can you upgrade Win98SE to 98SE<hr>
    Yes you sure can.
    That is exactly what I was wanting you to do. Just put in the Win98 CD, when the Window comes up, Choose the "upgrade" option{ it normally says Recommended beside it} instead of a clean install. This will install Win98 over the top of the existing. It will only replace what is missing. You won't loose any of your settings or anything. It's kinda like doing a tuneup.

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This is a strange error...

    Hi Cowboy:
    As far as you know, do you lose any security settings (patches) that you've done since the original Win98 setup when you do such a repair? Haven't done this in a real long time. I seem to recall getting messages about "you already have a newer version of XXX, do you want to overwrite". Do you recall getting those?

  10. #10
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This is a strange error...

    Man, now thats a good Question. I don't recall loosing any patches in Win98, but it's been awhile. But even if you did they are easy enough to download. At this point it is still much easier then a clean install.

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This is a strange error...

    Thanks. You're right, it's easier. I shudder at losing all my customizations & having to reinstall dozens of utilities. <img src=/S/yikes.gif border=0 alt=yikes width=15 height=15>

  12. #12
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This is a strange error...

    Yep. I'm in the same boat. I would hate to lose everything to a Clean Install. Thats why I have a second Hard Drive that I use PowerQuests Drive Copy on, about once a week. Copies OS,and all, makes an EXACT duplicate of my Primary Master Hard Drive and all the Partitions on it.
    It's setup to duel boot, so if anything goes wrong, I am up and running like nothing happened within a few seconds. Then all I have to do is reverse the Drive Copy and Copy right back over to my main Hard Drive. I even have a third Hard Drive put up on the shelf, that I take down, install, and Drive Copy to about once a month just in case the System Monster gets me a wipes out my whole dang System. Stanger things have happened and I take no chances.

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: This is a strange error...

    I remember you & BigAl talking about DI in Software. I have DI 2002 (I forgot what version that says, but I think it's 8). But when I bought two large removable hard drives, I got real cute. I bought firewire because I heard it was so fast. It is. BUT!! Little did I know that DOS wouldn't recognize the firewire drives, so I can only save to CDs. <img src=/S/stupidme.gif border=0 alt=stupidme width=30 height=30> I could buy another different hard drive, but now I'm trying to decide whether to upgrade from Win98 SE to XP. Ah well.

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: This is a strange error...

    Don't know if this'll motivate you toward XP, Phil, but..... DI 2002 is Version 6 and I don't have it installed any longer, so I don't remember if it supported firewire or not. BUT, Drive Image 7 (which is the latest) DOES say it supports firewire. I think they have a list of supported devices out there but I've not looked at it. (BTW, you were probably thinking of Partition Magic, which IS up to version 8)

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: This is a strange error...

    Hey jaytv,

    I just had occasion recently to do a reinstall of Win 98 over itself. The system was slugish and putting up all manner and sort of strange errors. Not a big surprise with about 4 years of program installations and deletions, downloads, patches, etc, etc, etc. MOST of your settings should remain intact and very little of your customizations should be affected by this. I'm pretty sure you will lose all updates and patches to Windows 98 and have to download and reinstall them. The reinstall should take about an hour to an hour and a half. Worst case senario is that it doesn't help, makes things worse and you have to reinstall the clone version. Best case is that it solves your problem and you only have some minor settings changes and reconfiguring to do and it saves you some hair <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>. If you have the Windows 98 CD it's worth a shot. IMHO
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •