Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32

Thread: Upgrade Windows

  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Upgrade Windows

    hi
    I need some advise here. Currently im running Win98 and now looks like my pc need some upgrade. Im not sure which Windows should i choose to upgrade. I have also upgrade to IE6 and when i run the internet it seems like very slow and always hang. What do you think of this situation? It is necessary to upgrade my win98 ? Which Window should i choose to upgrade.? WinXP or Win2K? <img src=/S/drop.gif border=0 alt=drop width=23 height=23> <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    <img src=/S/sigh.gif border=0 alt=sigh width=15 height=15>

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Windows

    What type of system are you running, CPU speed, memory and such?

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Windows

    Sorry for the late reply.
    Currently im using pentium3

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Windows

    Pent III what" 450MHZ?

    Mine is 933MHZ Pent III. Overclocked to 1050MHZ

    Anyway ya can't go wrong with eather Win2000 or XP. I personally like WinXP, which is based on Win2000 technology. Just beefed up Quite a bit, and more Compatable with lots of stuff. Better looking too. THe bigger the Proccessor the better WinXP runs and of Course need more Memory if ya want it to run smooth. At least 256 MB. I have 768MB and love it.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Windows

    Hi nuglorious !!

    <center>
    <hr>I do NOT recommend that you install the optional updates (I'll shoot Windows Update if it tries to stick Internet Explorer 6 on my Windows 98 system again). <hr>
    </center>

    This quote is from Woody's Windows Watch #8.36 and would appear to indicate that your problems are due to the upgrade to IE6. I had heard that there were issues with Win98 and IE 6 but it seems that Woody himself doesn't like the combination and that is the best recommendation I know of to avoid it at ALL costs. You might be able to reinstall Windows 98 over itself and get back IE 5 in the process, but I'm not sure. You may have to resort to a clean install of Windows to rid yourself of the IE6 install. If you plan on upgrading Windows itself, you should go right to XP if your system will handle it. Sounds like it will, but just barely. I'd attempt to fix your current install before you consider an upgrade. But that's just a personal observation.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Windows

    Doc is right and also if I remember correctly, if you will go into AddRemove and remove IE6, then install Win98 over the existing by using the Upgrade Option on the Win98 CD, it will install IE5. And if deside to Upgrade from Win98 to Win2000 or XP, it's all in the size of your Proccessor.

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Windows

    Hi Doc,
    I guess you are correct. I heard yr advise. thks.
    Currently my pc running Win98 w IE6. I felt tht my pc running quite slow during browsing the internet. Maybe i hv upgrade the IE to IE6 which is not really suitable with Win98. But I already upgraded before hand. Hopefully nothing happen... <img src=/S/drop.gif border=0 alt=drop width=23 height=23>

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Windows

    hi cowboy
    tks for your advised. I understand now.
    As what Doc had mentioned, hes right as i read somewhere about this matter too about IE6. Hopefully nothing happen n if something crook up, i will follow your instruction to remove the IE6 n install IE5 instead. <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20>

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Windows

    Doc,
    I am not sure if this is the correct place for this post or how many questions to ask at one time. Also, I am not computer wiz. Not by a long shot. Most of my time on the computer is spent going through e-mail from the 12 hobby lists I subscribe to. I recently replaced a Cannon BJ4100 series printer with a HP psc 2110 all-in-one printer-scanner-copier.
    Hardware and Software are as follows;
    Compaq 7470
    AMD-K36 3D Processor at 533 MHz
    64 MB RAM with 128 RAM added (184 RAM total)
    50% System Resources free
    Windows managed swap file on C drive (13288 MB free)
    Available on C drive 13288 MB of 16277 MB (FAT 32)
    Available on D drive 1653 MB of 2792 MB (FAT 32)
    Win-98 4.10
    IE 5 6.0
    McAfee;
    Virus Scan 8.0
    Engine Version 4.2.60
    Dat Version 4.0.4292
    Dat Created 9-10-03
    Firewall v4.5
    Version 4.5.2.30

    As you must know, McAfee is having problems that to my knowledge are not corrected and may very well be complicating my problems. Some of my problems are;
    -Freeze when shutting down. Have tried Ctrl-Alt-Del with some success. Usually necessary to power-down with on/off button.
    -Freeze during reboot shortly after desktop Icons appear. Must power-down with on/off button. Have done this as many as 3 times before a complete reboot.
    -IE will stop responding during send/receive process. This did not happen before McAfee's recent problems.
    -The troubleshooting utility and Compaq Built-In Technician do not function.

    I will stop here for now and ask if this info is what is needed for diagnostics? And, would this be better posted to another area of the Lounge?

    Mick Weis - FLH rider

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Windows

    Hi Mick:
    I would post these in this fourm (Win 98) but start a new thread with an appropriate subject. You are more likely to get answers that way.
    Cheers,

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Upgrade Windows

    Mornin' Mick,

    You seem to be in need of the Windows 98SE shutdown patch. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> This has been a known issue with Windows 98 machines for some time now. go here and read up on it (since you're "not a computer wiz"). It will help you understand the problem and the process of downloading and installing the patch. The "Next" button on the Licence Agreement page will initiate the download. HTH. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    If this doesn't do the trick, post back and we'll go down a different path. It could be McAfee, but let's look "in house" before going out looking for trouble.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Was Upgrade Windows Now Start Shutdown problems

    Thanks to Doc and Phil for there input. I have down loaded the Shutdown Patch per Doc's suggestion. I'll see how things work out for a few days and will ask more questions as necessary.

    Mick Weis FLH Rider

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Shutdown Problem Continues

    Still having shutdown trouble despite downloading Windows 98SE shutdown patch per the suggestion by Doc.
    For example, I tried to shutdown today with the following result.
    -First I closed all open programs on the toolbar; Outlook Express, Mcafee (scan on line and firewall),
    HP (printer-scanner-copier) and paused Task Scheduler.
    -Pressed Ctrl-Alt-Delete (once) to look at Close Program window to see if there were any programs
    (not responding).
    The following programs were (still) running;
    Explorer
    Mpftray
    Mpfagent
    Mcvsrte
    Mcvsescn
    Hpotdd01
    Systray
    Ptsnoop
    Realevent
    Rnaapp
    -Clicked Cancel in the Close Program window
    -Click Start, click Ok (for shutdown).
    -PC made some processing noises and the screen went blank with Windows green wall to wall.
    I waited for a minute. Nothing happened.
    -Pressed Ctrl-Alt-Delete twice and got a blue screen
    -Pressed the space bar and got the Close Program window with the following list of items;
    Hpotdd01
    Systray
    Tapisry
    Rundll 32 (Not Responding)
    -Clicked End Task
    Got a black (dark gray) screen
    Waited . . . . nothing.
    -Pressed Ctrl-Alt-Delete twice
    Got the black screen
    -Pressed Ctrl-Alt-Delete twice
    Blue screen
    -Pressed space bar and got the Close Program window with the following list of items;
    Mstask (Not Responding)
    Hpotdd01
    Systray
    -Clicked End Task
    Got a black screen
    Pressed Ctrl-Alt-Delete twice
    Blue screen
    -Pressed space bar and got the Close Program window with the following list of items;
    Hpotdd01
    Systray
    Spool 32 (Not Responding)
    At this point it was necessary to press (and hold) the On/Off button to shut down.

    The PC will reboot (after it does the "not shut down properly" scan)
    The following items are Checked in the startup list;
    CountrySelection
    PTSnoop
    StstemTray
    MCUpdate
    MCAgent
    TkBellExe
    SchedulingAgent
    hpoddt01
    hp instant support
    hp psc 2000 series

    I need more help.

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Shutdown Problem Continues

    Mick,

    A couple of thing here caught my attention. The Spool 32 (not responding) error would seem to indicate that ther is something in the printer que waiting to be printed. Is there ?? I'm guessing that the HP lines are referring to a printer. You might want to try removing the printer and letting Windows find and install it on a reboot. Be sure you have the drivers or installation disk for the printer before you try this, as it appears to be newer than the OS.

    "The following items are Checked in the startup list;
    CountrySelection <font color=red>what's this for??</font color=red>
    PTSnoop <font color=red>what is this??</font color=red>
    StstemTray
    MCUpdate
    MCAgent
    TkBellExe <font color=red>And This??</font color=red>
    SchedulingAgent
    hpoddt01 <font color=red>this?</font color=red>
    hp instant support
    hp psc 2000 series

    I'll check out those processes and see if I can determint what they do. If you already know, and feel they are all necessary and normal functions, please advise. That " Hpotdd01" entry is troublesome and may have something to do with the issue.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Shutdown Problem Continues

    Mick,

    Check out this information on PTsnoop and see how it applies to your particular situation. There seem to be several interpritations of the file (modem drivers or backdoor TROJAN !!!)

    http://www.sophos.com/virusinfo/anal...ojptsnoop.html Read this first.

    http://www.f-secure.com/v-descs/ptsnoop.shtml

    http://www.computing.net/windows95/wwwboar...rum/146843.html

    Although ptsnoop can be spyware or backdoor trojan horse, in my case, it proved to be a legit file (ptsnoop.exe), which is on the drivers I used to install a modem (PCTEL) which I robbed out of my 98SE computer

    I also took a look at the win.ini file and there was no ptsnoop.exe (if it were the backdoor virus it would have been) in it anywhere

    You may want to try the following:

    1. Click Start and choose Run.
    2. Type SYSEDIT and click OK. The System Configuration Editor opens.
    3. Click the WIN.INI title bar.
    4. In the LOAD= line, you will see PTSNOOP.EXE. Place a colon in front of this line. For example:

    ;LOAD=PTSNOOP.EXE

    Save changes.

    Now click Start>Run and type Msconfig.

    Click on the Startup tab and uncheck Ptsnoop

    Now click Start>Run and type Regedit.

    Go to the following key:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftWindowsCurrentV ersionRun

    If you see any reference to Ptsnoop.exe in the right hand pane, delete it, close Regedit and reboot.

    I'm goin after TkBellExe next !!! [ <img src=/S/eyeout.gif border=0 alt=eyeout width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •