Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Major problem, computer do not start. (XP Home SP1)

    Now there are BIG problems. Anyone who read my post "Damaged system files or ...", and SMBP you kindly gave some answers. Well, as I did have some work to finish I didn't get to the point where I would just Format/clean install.

    Sigh, for the moment I'm up and running from my old 486-DX266 (W95/IE5.0-crap and no protection ), it does not have the programs or files I need for the moment or anything else.

    This morning I found that Media player 9, also patched som weeks ago, didn't want to run,. Something about wmp.dll was not expected version (don't remember, 3980 and it was 2980). Forgot about it, had to do some work. This afternoon the #%!& machine suddenly did the "twice reboot" and froze in boot menu.

    I rebooted, chose RC from boot menu, ran chkdsk C: /r. It did some of it's testing and the froze on 14%. Said something about irrevocable failure, then it rebooted.
    Up came blue screen; Windows has been shut down Page_Fault_in_Nonpaged_area. If first time restart otherwise try this or that ...
    Tech. info. STOP:0x00000050(0x8B000346,0x00000001,0x807C9EC1,0 x00000000).

    OK, I have not installed anything lately etc. etc so what could I change, started Safe Mode, nothing special in Event viewer: I had deactivated some unnecessary services many months ago, only thing I could think of, so I turned them back in previous status, auto, manu. Also I did reinstall Media player patch. Rebooted this time nothing happend, the machine froze before BIOS-process, on this machine there is a "screen" first at boot up that shows info about graphic card: "Nvidia geforce4 MX 440 bios ..." or something like that.

    Turned machine of, waited, rebooted and it started to reboot by itself.

    I don't know what to do next, as I said, I was preparing a clean install. Almost everything is on back up etc. But I have some work to finish.

    Regards,
    Argus

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Major problem, computer do not start. (XP Home SP1)

    Argus,

    ------------------------------------------------
    I don't know what to do next, as I said, I was preparing a clean install
    -----------------------------------------------


    From the sounds of it, DO IT.

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major problem, computer do not start. (XP Home SP1)

    Yes, that would probably help... but I have some work on the machine I just need to have finished until to-morrow.

    Of course I didn't ask the question so I shouldn't expect an answer, but what can cause the message: page fault in nonpaged area? So far I've seen almost everything explained with that; memory problems the most. In some cases people have been mixing memory modules, and tweaking them etc. That's not the case with this machine.

    I had a feeling that something was very wrong even though as described in post "Damaged ...", it only looked as DirectX was involved. That <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> thing is hard to correct. Dxdiag, when run, said no problem and reported 8.1. Of course no problem as it was old dxdiag, which somehow replaced newer one in System32. If I looked for the new one in registered pack and run it (9.0b) it found problem and said; try to reinstall.

    Well my tools are: complete package of 9.0 (localized for my language), patch 819696 (localized whatever). Since I some month ago had applied patch 819696, the version registered is 9.0b, thus the system tells me when I try to install 9.0 complete: "install has finished" after just one second. I have seen the help on this matter, conclusion install newer version. Well do we have a newer version, No! Of course I could d/l a complete 9.0b, 32-33 MB, but that is way to much. I have the essential files: 8.1 org. disk, 9.0 complete pack, and the patch to 9.0b. But there is no way round. And since I ran sfc, described in earlier thread, some files got messed up.

    Thanks for your answer

    Regards,
    Argus

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Major problem, computer do not start. (XP Home SP1)

    Argus,

    Page fault in non-paged area is almost ALWAYS a memory problem of one sort or another. Depending on how much RAM and how many "sticks" of memory you have, you could try pulling the sticks and cleaning them lightly with a "pink pearl" eraser on the contact strips, then re-inserting them. Also, if you have more than one stick you could remove one at a time to see if you still get the error. If yes, put the first stick back in and remove the other in a process of elimination. Maybe you could at least do this until you complete the intended work.
    If still NG, then get out the BIG ERASER and wipe it all out with a clean install. <img src=/S/disappointed.gif border=0 alt=disappointed width=15 height=15>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major problem, computer do not start. (XP Home SP1)

    Bob

    Thanks for your answers. Yepp, I agree about memory. But I've seen that people said they got that message when trying to install a new hard drive etc. etc. It was hard to find anything on MS pages about "page fault...", but then again this is a so <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> slow machine I'm working from (486, 20 MB) I could stand waiting to search for ever.

    Well, in my case the memory part is easy since I only have one stick on that machine. Before I do the clean install I will surely take a look inside the machine.
    Thanks so far, I will log off and try to start the other (it's going to be a long night).

    Regards,
    Argus

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Major problem, computer do not start. (XP Home SP1)

    Argus, STOP! Don't do it! You CANNOT install Windows XP on your computer!

    You need at least 266 MHz processor and 64 MB of RAM to make WinXP to run as fast as a turtle.
    See Windows XP Home Edition System Requirements for more information.

    The best decision for this machine (486, 20 MB) is Win98 SE. (486 processor runs usually at 20 MHz, NOT 486 MHz - remember it!)

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Major problem, computer do not start. (XP Home SP1)

    kaplinb,

    I <font color=red>think</font color=red> Argus is talking about his other ( newer) machine, NOT the 486,that he is temporarily using until he can get his other system running on XP. He said in his first post that he is using the 486 as a temp. <img src=/S/yikes.gif border=0 alt=yikes width=15 height=15>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major problem, computer do not start. (XP Home SP1)

    kaplinb

    Thanks for your concern, but as Bob wrote, and I wrote earlier, my interim solution is to write this on an ten year old machine. The machine having problem (with XP) is well equipped to handle the OS. I didn't mention anything about tech. data for the XP machine, sorry for that. For whatever it worth, the XP Home machine is a:
    AMD athlon XP1800+, 256 MB, 80 GB, 64 MB Nvidia.

    kaplinb, Bob and anyone

    But when we are talking about both machines; it's almost funny to compare. During the last night I have had more problems with the new one than the old over a period for ten years. Even the battery is still same in the old. I installed w95 1996. With the new one (1 year old) I don't know what to expect next. I did manage to copy the important files I was working on, between the reboots. And for the rest; I now have everything, almost, on back up.

    Durng the last 24 hours my XP machine have rebooted in every possible way. If I, for instance, myself booted and started Recovery Console from boot menu in the purpose to check for errors from last reboot, I could end up with machine froze at half way in typing password, then suddenly a reboot. Another time the monitor was blank, as if it didn't got any signal. So my question is: do the machine have some hard ware problem, that needs to be fixed before a clean install? Some times, as when it froze before BIOS, how can I start a clean install/format from the XP CD when the machine does not get pass BIOS. But then again other times it's no problem... During this process I didn't get any error message, only thing was the chkdsk report in event viewer. And at one occasion problem with ZoneAlarm.

    Last night I took a quick look inside the XP machine, everything seems to be ok. Nothing loose. The memory stick is a little hard to reach, it's tight, so I didn't try to pull it out just to check.

    Regards,

    Argus (who slept 3 hours the last +36...).

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Major problem, computer do not start. (XP Home SP1)

    Hi Sleepless in Sweden, Argus,

    Everything keeps coming back to memory problems. It seems if I were in your shoes, I would first try pulling that memory stick out, checking and cleaning as I first described, then reseat it back in another memory SLOT if you have more than one.
    That failing, I would buy another memory stick or even borrowing one from a friend to try, with the original one removed.
    Still NG, I would strip out everything from the MB, except the HD, video card and minimum RAM. Adding one additional piece of hardware at a time to see if I could find a fail point.
    Somewhere in here I would attempt to wipe the MB clean and try for a fresh copy of XP.
    If STILL no go, I would be faced with the potential of a bad MB or CPU. Depending on your finances of course, I would probably get a new replacement MB & CPU combo.
    Not an easy task, for sure, but you seem to have a variety of potential problems to solve. <img src=/S/groan.gif border=0 alt=groan width=16 height=15>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major problem, computer do not start. (XP Home SP1)

    Bob

    Thanks for your reply. Yes, as you said earlier, I will try to take look at the memory stick and also move it to another slot. I also have a Ethernet card on PCI that I don't use, could try to take it out and as you mentioned check with minimum hardware in place and then add.

    Well, first it's time to get some rest.

    Regards,

    Argus

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Major problem, computer do not start. (XP Home SP1)

    Argus,
    Windows XP itself is very stable operating system. If you have all kinds of problems during bootup, I would suspect the hardware. It can be motherboard, memory, processor and even power supply. Memory is the easiest thing to check. (Remember: the video card has memory also, so the problem with video adapter can interrupt system memory functioning.) Then, if different kinds of problems still remain, it can be power supply: slight power fluctuations can significantly disturb your computer functioning. If your computer is still under warranty, I would recommend to contact your vendor.

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major problem, computer do not start. (XP Home SP1)

    Okay Argus--Round II:

    The page fault error message is strongly diagnostic of a hardware problem that needs to be corrected, particularly in conjunction with the symptom of running chkdsk /r from RC and getting repeat errors on serial runs. If that's the case, formatting and reinstalling the operating system a hundred times a day for the next hundred days is not going to solve the problem--that's why these error messages are different and numbered.

    Since you realized 3 days ago, that you should turn on System Restore so you can have it available for XP CPR did you in fact turn on System Restore?

    If someone has not shown you how to use the MSKB or google for error messages and the many sites that specialize in defining error messages, PM me and I'll help with that.

    Page Fault in a Non-Paged Area Good Ole Stop in the Name of Love 0X000000X50:

    Microsoft MVP Jim Eschelman's Article on this Error and Memory Problems

    Here's the skinny on this: This error occurs when requested data can't be found in memory and check your Network card placement because it can sure be a cause. So can a driver that's corrupt or deteriorated. For example, an incorrect video driver can cause a video RAM related paging error. I would check manufacturers of my major hardware for driver updates and also device manager for bangs.

    It's probably related to a hard disk fault which isn't surprising with the repeated errors you report on serial chkdsk runs. Did you recently add RAM and was it compatible with the previous RAM memory stick? Don't limit this to only system ram. This error can also be caused by any of the following being bad:

    1) Main memory
    2) L2 Cache
    3) Video RAM

    The easiest way to make the diagnosis here and isolate the problem is to replace what's suspected of being bad with something good. That means replacing the video card if suspect; checking the memory sticks for compatibility; detecting a problem with onboard Cache by disabling cache in the BIOS; then your system is going to run like a slug, which is normal when you whack the onboard cache from the bios, but if the stop error message goes away you need to replace the motherboard most likely.

    You can quickly replace RAM chips to see if the problem is corrected. If several sticks of RAM are already in the system, then replace one at a time and then reboot to see if the problem disappears and you have your diagnosis there.

    Software doesn't get a pass with this problem as with most hardware problems, but again just blowing off XP and reloading isn't going to solve this problem in all probability because it's involving hardware. Check drivers and system services.

    SMBP

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major problem, computer do not start. (XP Home SP1)

    Your Direct X Version Controversy Doesn't Exist Any More:

    I took care of your direct X controversy here:

    Post 293522: How to Use the XP Registry to Settle Version of Direct X Installed

    SMBP

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major problem, computer do not start. (XP Home SP1)

    kaplinb
    I agree XP is very stable. That is the reason why I got worried from the error message that time, and also the machine is so new that I would not think of hardware problem.
    Thanks for your tips
    Regards,
    Argus

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Major problem, computer do not start. (XP Home SP1)

    Bob

    Yes, your'e right, sounds like memory, but I could not understand (or didn't want to) why hardware failure, because the computer is only 12 months old. Anyway, I checked the memory, looks fine and clean. I moved it from slot 0 to slot 1. I only have on memory stick with 256 MB. Before I moved it the computer had been turned of for some day, after all the rebooting.
    Well, after the move I turned it on, changed quick power on self test in BIOS to do a full check on start. No problem!

    One funny side effect. I had a question in an earlier post with programs like Sandra, Aida32 and windows system reporting more memory than installed. That time it looked like this:
    Bank 0 256 MB
    Bank 1 Empty
    Bank 2 512 MB
    Thus 768 MB, even if there only was 256 MB installed. No, big problem. The <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> who built the machine may have programmed wrong info. to DMI.
    Now it looks like this
    Bank 0 512 MB
    Bank 1 Empty
    Bank 2 512 MB
    As I said, I moved memory stick to Bank 1 and this is programmed to DMI as empty... So now AIDA32 DMI info shows me 1024 MB, but installed memory is shown as 256 MB. Also Windows System info. from Help/about, About this machine shows 1024 MB.

    Funny, but it works.

    Also, I found a loose screw inside the machine! Ah well, not the first time. I can not find anything were it should be placed. When the machine was only 2 months I had problem with a CPU fan and had to send it for a change. That time I also found a loose screw. Those <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> who built the machine had missed one of the screw to the MB, and I had to put it there myself.

    Regards,
    Argus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •