Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IE startup (IE 6 SP1)

    I have noticed that whenever I start IE or a link that start another windows, the new browser window is always minimized. On the desktop I can see the minimize, maximize, and close buttons and I have to maximize the window explicitly. I would like to know if there is any option that I must set first.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE startup (IE 6 SP1)

    1. Open the browser.
    2. Click a link to open a new browser window.
    3. Size or maximize this 2nd window the way you'd like it to open.
    4. Close the first window only.
    5. Hold the Shift key and the Ctrl key down (I can never remember which one so I do both) while you close the last window by clicking the X in the upper right corner.

    From time to time this behavior may return...I don't know why. You might want to download & use ie_new_window_maximizer_22_light.zip
    Cheers,

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE startup (IE 6 SP1)

    Yes thanks. It works just like what you described. It is strange though.

    Thanks again.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE startup (IE 6 SP1)

    Hi Phil,

    This is something I'd been wondering for a while! Do you know whether it works for IE6 only of will it work for IE5 and below too?

    Thanks!
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: IE startup (IE 6 SP1)

    With the exception of using two windows, the same trick should work for all Windows applications. Therefore, go ahead and try it for IE6. I don't see any reason it should behave differently. Just remember that sometimes an application opens windows to a specific size, rather than using your default, so after that the fix might have to be repeated again.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE startup (IE 6 SP1)

    I agree with Jefferson. And I used the same technique with IE5 also.
    Cheers,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •