Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,049
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts

    m-dash and AutoCorrect

    Someone on one of the Microsoft Newsgroups asked how to get AutoCorrect to make an M-dash (dash the width of a capital M). I typed up an answer saying that it already did. But then I checked and was wrong. Turns out that it gives an n-dash to replace one hyphen or two. So, here's what I ended up posting. Thought I would share this tidbit and show off my ignorance a little more (in case there were any doubts). <img src=/S/joy.gif border=0 alt=joy width=23 height=23>

    I thought it did this by default! Tried [space]--[space]text[space] and I
    was wrong - it's an n-dash, the same as [space]-[space]text[space].

    Anyway,
    to fix this, use Insert => Symbol... => Special Characters (tab) to insert
    an M-dash. Then select that M-dash and use Tools => AutoCorrect to get to
    the AutoCorrect dialog. Type in your two dashes as the text to be replaced
    and you should be all set.

    Hope this is of help to somebody else.
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland, Republic of
    Posts
    2,697
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: m-dash and AutoCorrect

    If you use Alt-Ctrl together with the minus sign on the numeric keypad you get an M-dash in Word.

    Andrew C

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: m-dash and AutoCorrect

    Yes, & Ctrl+numpad minus = N dash.

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland, Republic of
    Posts
    2,697
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: m-dash and AutoCorrect

    Press Ctrl-Shift +numpad minus 3 times in succession and you get what appears to a line of some sort. Would that be the sort of object that makes up the footnote seperator ?.
    It's a very convenient way of getting an underline across the page.

    Andrew

  5. #5
    BAM
    Guest

    Re: m-dash and AutoCorrect

    An em dash is created automatically when you type: text two hyphens text. There are no spaces on either side of the hyphens.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    Cheers!

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: m-dash and AutoCorrect

    Hi BAM:

    >An em dash is created automatically when you type: text two hyphens text. There are no spaces on either side of the hyphens.<

    Provided you have Tools/AutoCorrect/AutoFormat as you type/Replace as you type/symbol characters with symbols. And then if you have TextSpaceHypenHypenText, you get an en dash.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    676
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: m-dash and AutoCorrect

    AutoFormat makes
    "text/space/hyphen/hyphen/space/text" into
    "text/space/en dash/space/text",
    and it makes
    "text/hyphen/hyphentext" into
    "text/em dash/text"

    In Word I usually use Ctrl/Num- for an en dash and Alt/Ctrl/Num- for an em dash; elsewhere Alt/0150 and Alt/0151 provide these characters in many common fonts.

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,049
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts

    Re: m-dash and AutoCorrect

    And AutoFormat As You Type makes:
    text [space] hyphen [space] text into text [space] en-dash [space] text.

    I'll have to remember to look in the Insert => Symbols... => Special Characters (tab) list more often (since I have mine set to show Keyboard shortcuts). Thank you for reminding us of the built-in shortcuts.
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pune
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: m-dash and AutoCorrect

    It is not, because I cannot position the cursor anywhere in between. It is a single object of some kind, and I would love to know what kind.

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: m-dash and AutoCorrect

    Hi Rajesh:

    It's a paragraph border. And you only get it if you have Tools/AutoCorrect.../AutoFormat as you type/apply as you type/borders ticked.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •