Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Garner, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Problem with Backup

    I'm not sure this is the correct forum in which to post my question but I think it is general enough that someone out there will have an answer. It pertains to a Windows 2K Server. Backup is set to automatically run each evening. Yesterday during the day I ran a manually backup. We are getting ready for Isabel and wanted to see if there would be any time difference with users in the system. I was aware open files would be skipped. Backup ran with no problems. I then used the same tape (left it in the drive) to run the automatic backup overnight. This morning when I checked my Backup Report I had this message: "The operation was not performed because no unused media was available." I have seen this message before. Normally, doesn't this message mean the drive needs to be cleaned? I want to know if there is ever another possible meaning. Also, what is the life of a tape, could it be somehow corrupt and I receive this message? This particular tape is about a year old and it gets used once weekly. It is an hp dds-3 (24 GB). Thanks for any help. I am new to managing a system and then, I only do the most basic non-technical things.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Problem with Backup

    It never hurts to clean the drive. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    I'm not sure whether you wanted your backup to overwrite the earlier backup set or to append. In some backup programs, you need to go into a separate tab that lists all the previously used media and "scratch" the tape before it can be re-used by the same program. You also can "erase" the tape, but then it will remain in the catalog and possibly cause confusion later.

    It's been a few years since I looked at this, so I may well be misremembering the details. Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Garner, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problem with Backup

    Thanks. I wanted to over write the earlier backup. I will check into my backup program to see just how it treats manual backups and then a regular automatic backup using the same tape.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    885
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problem with Backup

    Almost all backup software will check for an expiry date on the media being used. Some will not allow you to use a tape with a backup less than 24 hours old, regardless of the options selected in the configuration, unless you are appending the current backup.

    There should be a "quick format" option which will reset the tape header to indicate the tape is blank. Use a "full format" with caution as this will overwrite the entire tape a can take a considerable time, and could impact on the system performance.

    Hope this helps.
    Granville

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Garner, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problem with Backup

    Thank you, Granville. Your information was helpful.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •