Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Access Security Preventing Code from Running (Access 2000)

    I am/have applied security to my access db. Unfortunately, none of my forms will now work. I didn't have any macros in this db, just the code behind the forms. It seems that code is locked up.

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Access Security Preventing Code from Running (Access 2000)

    What do you mean by "I am/have applied security to my access db." <img src=/S/question.gif border=0 alt=question width=15 height=15>
    In other words, did you simply put a password on the admin account, or did you invoke the security wizard or what?
    Wendell

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Security Preventing Code from Running (Access 2000)

    I have created the, .mdw file, created an empty db and imported my objects into it. Created groups and placed the users into them. And using the permissions dialog, applied permissions to the db object.
    I am working as the admin, so I should be able to get at everything (but no joy). I can see the forms from the VBE, but I can not look at them or their code.
    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Access Security Preventing Code from Running (Access 2000)

    Are you sure you are pointing at the new .mdw file when you open the database? You either need to set it using the Access Workgroup Administrator utility, or you need to specify it on the command line when you start Access. You should be getting a password prompt when you start Access, and if you don't have permissions for objects, you should be able to set them using the security tools.
    Wendell

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Security Preventing Code from Running (Access 2000)

    Yes, I'm using the new mdw file and am getting a password prompt. I've given myself total access to the forms.
    I tried deleting all the forms from the db, now I can only reimport two of them.
    I'm wondering if something is going wrong in the bigger picture?
    Thanks

    Ack, something certainly is going wrong here - it is snowing// nutty Alberta weather again

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Access Security Preventing Code from Running (Access 2000)

    It sounds like things may have gone south (or is it north there). Can you do a compact and repair on the new database? If not, you may not have ownership of the new database - or the database may have actually corrupted. If you created the new database with the new .mdw file, you should have ownership. You can check that in the Permissions Dialog - one of the tabs shows ownership for each object and for the database. This stuff does really work, so hang in there.
    Wendell

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Security Preventing Code from Running (Access 2000)

    Hey, I think I reproduced the problem!
    I was removing permissions from the Users group and that seems to cause the problem. Even giving the permissions back doesn't seem to fix things.
    hmmmm

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Access Security Preventing Code from Running (Access 2000)

    You do want to do that eventually, but you want to have your own set of groups that supplant that from a permissions point of view. Have you looked at using the Security wizard to do what you are trying to do? It leads you through 13 or 14 steps to really securing your database. We also have a tutorial on Security on our website that you might find useful.
    Wendell

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Security Preventing Code from Running (Access 2000)

    I will look at that stuff
    But the particular problem seems to be launched when I remove Database permissions to Administer and Lock from the users group.
    Is this not possible to do? I thought the users group (because it contains the default Admin user) represented a big security hole?

    Curious

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Access Security Preventing Code from Running (Access 2000)

    <hr>I thought the users group (because it contains the default Admin user) represented a big security hole?<hr>
    It does, and that's why you eventually want to remove all permissions from the Users group, because everyone has to belong to that group. To really lock down a database, you want to make sure it is owned by a user you create, it has all permissions removed from the Users Group, the Admins Group, and the Admin User, but before you do that you want to create your own new group with the Admins functions, and a new SuperUser if you will, that has ownership of the database, and full permissions on everything. Be sure and read the MS white paper on security that is linked to from our website tutorial on security. (You will undoubtedly end up reading it several times over the life of your project.)
    Wendell

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Security Preventing Code from Running (Access 2000)

    Ok, used the Security Wizard, following the instructions from the MS FAQ (as opposed to the jacksonmac FAQ).
    Applied the permissions, everything working great.
    Then I imported it into an empty DB and I'm back at my original problem. ARRRGH!

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Access Security Preventing Code from Running (Access 2000)

    HMMM - with what .MDW file did you create the empty DB? It needs to be the same one that lets you work with the secured database, as you must have ownership of the database, and have full permission to new objects. Come to think of it, your database hasn't been fully secured, or you wouldn't even be able to import objects unless you were connected to the correct .MDW file, so it sounds like you may have been connected to the default .MDW file when you created the blank database.
    Wendell

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Access Security Preventing Code from Running (Access 2000)

    If you launched it from a desktop shortcut, you didn't necessarily join the workgroup, just used it to open the database. If you joined a secure workgroup, you should get a login dialog no matter which database you try to open, even an unsecured database.
    Charlotte

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Security Preventing Code from Running (Access 2000)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by ThreeCats on 16-Sep-03 14:54. )</P>I could swear that I'm using the correct mdw. I used the wrkgadm.exe to join my mdw, I launched the db that had been modified by the security wizard (as my superuser "developer"). Chose File, New and created the blank db and imported all the objects from the db. Do you spontaneously go back to the default mdw?

    One other note:
    I don't get this problem until I reopen the db. That is - initally I can get to all my forms. It is after I close and reopen the db that I get the error.
    Could it be a service pack issue?

  15. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Security Preventing Code from Running (Access 2000)

    No, I'm not launching it from a shortcut. I used the wrkgadm.exe file to join the group. Then I'm double clicking on the db itself to launch access itself.
    I get a login box each time, though I haven't yet set a password for my "superuser".
    I've now done this so often I'm cross-eyed!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •