Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: W32 time (home)

  1. #1
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: W32 time (home)

    Have you made any changes to your fire wall that might be blocking the internet access to check the system time?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    W32 time (home)

    Was in event view (system) today and saw the above error listed 3 or 4 times today and 3 or 4 times yesterday.
    Nothing prior to those 2 days. FYI : Newly installed hardrive and O/S a week ago today..
    What is this? Need I be concerned? Read a bit about it at google groups, I am still ignorant to what it is.
    Attached is one of the reports. They all say pretty much the same except the time countdown is different. There is another one that is not like the others. Since I can only post one att. at a time, I will add it in another post and link it to here.

    Link to second screen shot... http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showflat.p...;fpart=&vc=

    Thanks
    Victoria

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W32 time (home)

    Dave
    As a matter of fact I was messing with it. I am using the XP firewall and as you can see by the screenshot, I was not sure which of the 2 I should enable. So I have them both. (!!)..I was fiddling with this yesterday and today. Connecting and disconnecting the second one down. Would that have done it? Also, can you tell me if in fact, the second one down should even be enabled??
    thanks
    Victoria

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: W32 time (home)

    Turn them BOTH off and then turn on ONE at a time and run with it for a while. Then turn that one off and run with the other. Keep track of what you like and dislike about each. Then pick one and run that one.

    I use the <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> ZoneAlarm, and it works great. Also note that you need to make sure that the built in firewall from MS is turned off.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W32 time (home)

    Victoria--

    I have hundreds of these and basically the ISP has said not to worry about them. I had one of their network experts out here for two hours last week because there was too much noise on my line beyond the tap, and he looked at all of them in Event Viewer and said no big deal no impact. I know that is a common mantra from ISP's on a myriad of problems, but the fact is they have been there since I had the connection and it has been no big deal no impact.

    I get them no matter how I configure a software firewall and a router--and with different software firewalls I have tried and tweaked. They don't seem to correlate whatsoever with the stability or the speed of the broadband cable connection which is pretty good the vast majority of the time. You might be able to get some details on them at these two or other broadband sites--these are two of the better ones:

    The Navas Group
    Broadbandreports.com

    Academically, it is interesting to run down why these appear and translate the "TCP/IP stakese" they are written in which makes them, like most error messages as unaccessible to the consumer on the street as possible--it would be a lot like your doctor making the language as technical, unpalatable and non-understandable as possible so that you could not glean a word he or she says. The IT community is light years behind in translating their languages to people unfortunately.

    SMBP

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W32 time (home)

    Dave
    The Same XP firewall is enabled on both connections you see. I only have one service provider. That is Sympatico. Its DSL... Why I have 2 listings, I have no idea. I'd call tech support at sympatico, but some of them are dumber than me (grin). That is my confusion..I am not sure which SHOULD be enabled. the one with the shortcut arrow, is the one I think should be enabled.. Am I confusing you now?? hope not. What do you think?
    The help is appreciated.
    thanks
    Victoria

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W32 time (home)

    I am replying to my own post now. LOL...
    Thanks so much SMBP....That explains it all great...Won't worry if I don't have to..Also, when I just talked to the tech support at sympatico (about the firewall issue (see below) and mentioned the W32 time thingee as well), he said the exact same thing as you just mentioned yours have told you. I have no great faith in them, so I am happy you have confirmed their answer to me. (grin)
    Also, just called tech support at Sympatico about which (from my Screenshot) connection to have the XP firewall enabled on...they said the first one..so, the first one it is.
    I will Dave, look into your recommendation about Zone Alarm...I know XP's firewall is crud, but I hope (!) it at least is better than nothing for the time being.
    Have a great night guys and thanks for the help.

    Victoria

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W32 time (home)

    I have no great faith in a large number of tech support I talk to from an ISP because they're tired, jaded, and some might not care. Others have taught me a lot. But what I do have faith in for this situation is a history of three years on a broad band cable connection that has generated these type errors like they were rabbits multiplying both in Windows 9x, and XP Betas, and XP Pro and it hasn't meant diddly squatt as to connection speed or stability. Also one of the bettter net guys who knows network hardware because it's his career said the same thing. I'd only spend time honing in on them if you begin to experience connection problems Victoria but to be sure when you see them, (and it's a good idea to check Event Viewer--as we both know it can be a helpful diary and a good source of error information) they're worrisome, and it doesn't make it any easier that there are long strings of numbers and words that just aren't in your everyday vocabulary.

    SMBP

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W32 time (home)

    Victoria,

    If you need tech support from Sympatico and don't get it from the <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0>'s that answer the phone, tell them you want it escalated to second level support. If they won't do that, tell them again. And Again and again until they do. If they still don't ask to speak to their boss. Don't hang up without getting it escalated AND their name.

    It took me 20 minutes of saying I wanted my call escalated to second level due to a problem with my e-mail about 2 weeks ago.

    I was getting TCP time out errors on sending and they don't support my client of choice for e-mail. I told them I wanted my call escalated because it was a TPC problem and not an e-mail client problem. Everything else was working just fine, surfing, receiving, ftp....

    Once I finally got someone who understood computers, it took him about 5 minutes to fix the problem, even though every other sentence was "We don't support Pegasus mail." <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Just harrass the call taker until they escalate the call just to get rid of you <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •