Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Get IP from MAC Addrs

    I have a Cisco 350 series Access Point. I'm supposed to be able to access it using a Serial Cable (& Hyperterminal) or throught a Browser. The thing is I lost the cable and I forgot the IP Address. I have the MAC address. How can I translate the MAC Address to an IP Address. When I'm on my wireless, I can see it as an AP. If I can get the IP address, then I can log into the box anc configure it.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Get IP from MAC Addrs

    There are diagnostic system administration (AKA hacking) programs that will scan for responsive IP addresses. None of the names of these programs occur to me at the moment, though.

    Do you have another way to access your access point, i.e., through the device to which it is wired? Some switches will report the MAC address/IP address pair in their administration software.

    Serial cables are not all that expensive. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    The Hague, Netherlands
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Get IP from MAC Addrs

    No-one can translate your MAC address into an IP address. There is no permanent relationship between the MAC address and the IP address. The MAC address is burned in to the ethernet chip on your PC by the manufacturer. It is unique, globally. I am still amazed at this fact even though I learned it many years ago. Your IP address can come from one of several sources. Having said that, and being sure of my facts so far, I'm not an expert in the allocation of IP addresses so I'll stop at this point.

    My home network has a modem/router connected to the ISP and a short length of ethernet cable joins it to the Access Point. I believe that If your home network is similar, read on. Note that I don't use software like DHCP that automatically allocates IP addresses. Mine were allocated manually. If you are using DHCP, then my answer won't work for you at all.

    My Taiwanese modem/router came with a default IP address of 192.168.7.1. I therefore allocated 192.168.7.2 and 192.168.7.3 to the two laptops we have at home. Did you do something similar?

    I seem to recall that 192.168.x.y is reserved for things like home networks. It would only take a few minutes to run through most of the likely values of x and y in IE. Try values for x of 0 through 9 with 0 and 1 for y. (I wouldn't be surprised if someone told me that zero wasn't allowed. However, my memory is very rusty on this level of detail.)

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Get IP from MAC Addrs

    > When I'm on my wireless, I can see it as an AP.

    I missed that the first time. Are you running Windows 2000 or XP? If so, open a cmd window and try this:

    <UL><LI>arp -a

    This should display cached information relating IP addresses to MAC addresses for devices you've communicated with recently.

    <LI>If that doesn't work, run ipconfig /all and see if the address you want is the default gateway address.[/list]I'm not sure whether arp is available In Windows 98/ME. To get the default gateway address, run winipcfg (from Start>Run, not a command window).

    Hope this helps.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •