Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Belle Harbor, New York, USA
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Need to share printer

    I have two desktop computers downstairs, a few feet away from each other, one using ME and one using XP. I also have a laptop upstairs using ME.
    I am using the following Linksys products: A Wireless router (WRT-54G) with two wired connections to the desktops and a Wireless Notebook Adapter (WPC54G) in the PCMCIA slot. The high speed internet modem connects to the router. I have no problem regarding the Internet. However, I have not been able to set up file and printer sharing. A friend of mine who had never failed to set up home networks could not set up mine to share files and the printer. He told me that the problem was two operating systems. I just called Linksys. They agree.
    The suggestion from Linksys was to use a print server. (Instant Wireless print server WPS-11) They claimed that if I used the print server it would not make any difference having two operating systems. The printer would connect to the back of the print server using a parallel cable. The print server would be connected to the one of the free outputs of the router.
    Does this make sense? I need to know if others have tried this. Am I better off with a print server? I would appreciate any help or suggestions. I do understand that I still would not be able to share files but that is okay.
    Thank you very much.
    Alan Silberlight

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Need to share printer

    You didn't say where the printer is connected. I don't have or claim to know anything about wireless, but I think the business about the mixed OSs must be a bunch of hooey. I have a small LAN (PTP) with XP, 98 and ME on separate machines. Also have a printer on the LPT port of one machine and shared just fine. Sounds to me like you have a network specs problem, but like I said, I don't know nuttin' from wireless. Is the workgroup NAME the same on all machines, etc. etc.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Need to share printer

    I'm using Linksys products as well (wired, and 802.11b standard), and share my printer off of my desktop running ME.

    The hardest part for me, was remembering to allow my internal network access through the firewall software on each computer. Once this was figured out, I was off to the races.

    As for OSes, I've got a wonderful mix of MS WindowsXP Home, ME, 98, and various Linux Distros as a second boot, on each of the machines too.

    It can be done.

    For simplicity, I'd suggest sharing the printer from your ME box, as it doesn't have the same "nit-piks" with security as XP.
    Christopher Baldrey

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Nixa, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Need to share printer

    I agree with Al, you have been fed a line of malarky. MAke sure any software firewalls are set up to allow the file and printer sharing, if you have Microsoft's XP firewall, turn it off. Make sure you have the same WORKGROUP spelled the same, also be sure (if you have static IP addresses) that they are properly configured.
    My recommendation is to buy "This Wired Home" by Microsoft press (Alan Neibaur). I use it as my text book for SOHO networking because it is extreemly simple to understand while covering topics from introductory to in depth. Make sure to get the 3rd edition if you buy a used one, it has XP configuration information, previous editions do not.
    <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    La Jolla, California, USA
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Need to share printer

    I have Norton firewall software. I'm having trouble getting my laptop (using XP) to see my desktop (also using XP) and vice versa. Both, however, can see my husband's desktop (using 98). Excedrin Headache for sure!

    Sheryl King

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Need to share printer

    What fire wall(s )are you running? Double check before replying, some time the Windows XP firewall gets turned on.
    On the XP machines, do you have a account that is the SAME as the profile that is being used on the 98 machine? And the password needs to be the same.
    Are the workgroup names the same?
    Are the computer names different?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    La Jolla, California, USA
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Need to share printer

    All our computers are connected to a LinkSys Router. I have made sure the XP firewall is turned off on both the laptop and my desktop. In addition, I have completely disabled all of Norton Internet Security things on both as well. Now I am able to access the printer from my laptop. But I'm concerned that I'm not protected from problems. Do you know if there is a way to configure Norton to accept only communication with my laptop, but exclude the outside world?

    Sheryl

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Need to share printer

    I do NOT use Norton's Security. You are going to have to rear up on it and make the setting changes that are required.
    Hopefully some one who uses it Will come along and help with these settings. I tried using it on my new machine (it came with it installed) could NEVER get it to work. Removed NIS and went to <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> ZoneAlarm.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •