Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    ZoneAlarm Version 3.7.211

    ZoneAlarm Version 3.7.211 is out. Has anyone tried it?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm Version 3.7.211

    Thanks, just installing it now on one of the machines.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm Version 3.7.211

    I've had it running for a couple days with no problems.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm Version 3.7.211

    Hi Joe:
    Any slower or use any more resources than 3.7.202?

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm Version 3.7.211

    HI Phil,

    I've had the latest version on for a while and not noticed any degradation in speed or resourses.
    As a matter of fact, I haven't noticed ANY differences between the last and latest versions. ( good or bad )
    Works fine though.

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm Version 3.7.211

    Thanks, Bob. I guess that's good news--the only changes are under the hood. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm Version 3.7.211

    Phil, Not that I've noticed.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm Version 3.7.211

    Don't know if it's just coincidence or not, but I noticed that at re-boot, ZA seems to finish loading to the tray much faster than the previous version. I watched Task Mgr for awhile yesterday and didn't see anything to worry about.

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm Version 3.7.211

    You may be right about that load time. Or maybe just the power of suggestion? <img src=/S/innocent.gif border=0 alt=innocent width=20 height=20>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm Version 3.7.211

    Hi Guys:
    I installed it; thanks for the encouragement. The tray icon seems to come up faster, but I think it takes just as long to load. I load it along with other programs in a batch file & the load times are about the same.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm Version 3.7.211

    Curiousity Phil. Is there some advantage to loading TSRs by batch file rather than putting them in Startup?

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm Version 3.7.211

    Hi Al:
    I don't load anything when I reboot my machine except Explorer & Systray (Win98)/ I did it by batch file because I don't always connect to the internet. Sometimes I just bootup & play some games. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> So I don't want everything starting up & using memory & resources. Once I stop playing, I use the batch file to fire up all the programs that I use when I "work". Actually, it's based on a tip I got years ago. Here are the steps:

    This is the method to have a batch file that starts all applications whose shortcuts are in a particular folder. If you drop a shortcut in the folder, it's added to the batch file. If you take the shortcut out, it's removed.

    1. Create a folder on the C: drive & give it a name. e.g. IntStart
    2. Right click the desktop & choose New/Shortcut.
    3. For the command line, use
    C:WINDOWSCOMMAND.COM /C FOR %%V IN (C:IntStart*.*) DO START %%V
    4. Click OK. The shortcut will now have an MS-DOS shorcut icon.
    5. Right click & choose Properties/Program tab.
    6. Choose "Close on exit" & Run: "Minimized".

    I use this in combination with a utility I got from PC Magazine called EndItAll, which closes everything. I even run my games without running my antivirus software, but don't tell anyone. <img src=/S/sneaky.gif border=0 alt=sneaky width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  13. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Tampa, Florida, USA
    Posts
    110
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm Version 3.7.211

    Yes..works fine. Also running ZA Pro4 on another machine, no problems withe either.
    <img src=/S/newbrain.gif border=0 alt=newbrain width=21 height=22>

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm Version 3.7.211

    Big Al, If you want to control Startup Programs take a look at Startup Delayer. It is free. Unlike a lot of similar programs, you get to specify the load order in addition to a delay between each program.

    Joe
    Joe

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm Version 3.7.211

    Thnx Joe. In June of last year I tried something and didn't like it for some reason I can't remember. The file I have in my software download directory is called StartDelay.Exe so I don't know if it's the same as your suggestion. So, I just D/L'd a copy and installed it. I'll play with it tonite. Thnx again.....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •