Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Runtime Error after updating Windows 98

    I just downloaded 12 security updates for Windows 98. When I rebooted the computer, I got the following message:

    Runtime Error!

    Program: C:PROGRAM FILESCOMMON FILESSYMANTEC SHAREDCCAPP.EXE

    R6025
    -pure virtual function call


    (I have Symantec / Norton Anti-Virus 2003.)

    Is this a problem, and what do I need to do?

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Runtime Error after updating Windows 98

    Does it say what 'programming language' the RunTime error is from??

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Runtime Error after updating Windows 98

    No, it didn't say what language the programming error comes from.

    Now I don't get the error message when I boot up. However, I have two other problems:

    1. The Connect dialog box (for connecting to my ISP) comes up when I boot up, and refuses to go away (neither clicking the close box nor clicking "cancel" works).

    2. Norton AntiVirus refuses to start until I am logged on to the Internet.

    Any suggestions?

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Runtime Error after updating Windows 98

    Mea culpa...at the top of the error message is "Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library."

    Also, the pesky dialog box that won't go away is "Dial-up Connection."

    Joel

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Runtime Error after updating Windows 98

    Hi jefnl,

    Go to the Norton AV Knowledge base article here . This should fix the problem.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Runtime Error after updating Windows 98

    The dial up connection comes up because you have something in your startup group that connects to the internet. It may be a program that you've set to "start when windows starts" or it may be spyware.

    To get rid of spyware, try Spybot Search & Destroy & Ad-Aware. You can find them by searching on Google. I keep misplacing the URLs.

    To see what's starting in your startup list, download & run StartUp List & post the results here. We can then see what's causing the dial-up-connection to run at startup. If you're familiar with the programs you have, you can simply go to Start/Run & type
    msconfig
    & press <enter>. Go to the startup tab & see what runs when you boot up.
    Cheers,

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Runtime Error after updating Windows 98

    The following links will take you to the necessary sites to download the indicated anti "Adware, Spyware, Hijack" programs.

    To check your computer for malware, and remove it if found, download Adaware and Spybot Search & Destroy. The first time you run each of these, update the reference/database files before you run a scan. Update and use both regularly, once a week (or more often) is good.

    If you think Internet Explorer has been Hijacked, download HijackThis"]http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/">HijackThis[/url]. Run HijackThis but do not fix anything, unless you are very certain you know what you're doing. Save the log somewhere handy then post it in the HijackThis & Browser Hijacking forum. The regulars there will tell you what is safe to "fix".

    To prevent most Adware, Spyware and Hijack ware from installing in the first place, download SpywareBlaster and SpywareGuard. As with Adaware and Spybot S&D, update the reference files regularly.

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Runtime Error after updating Windows 98

    Thanks, Ken. I've bookmarked this post so I can refer to it. I've also place the links to Ad-Aware & Spybot where I can find it next time. <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Runtime Error after updating Windows 98

    First of all, thanks to Doc Watson...the solution in the Norton AV Knowledge base worked.

    Still being confronted with the dialup connection dialog box. Ran msconfig but found nothing new or suspicious in startup list. Downloaded "StartUp List" as Phil R. suggested, but couldn't run it...got an "Error Starting Program": "A required .DLL file, MSFVBVM60.DLL, was not found." Where can I find this file?

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Runtime Error after updating Windows 98

    Glad I could help. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>

    Is the computer actually dialing up a connection or attempting to ??? Or is the internet connection dialog box just coming up and refusing to go away ?? It could be spyware or a Trojan virus or "bot" trying to call it's "master". If you have AdAware 6 &/or Spybot S&D, update and run them and let them remove what they find (they actually just "Quarentine" so if something important is removed you can restore it). Next run a virus scan. If all this doesn't turn up something I'll be surprised, but not out of possiblities !! <img src=/S/nope.gif border=0 alt=nope width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Runtime Error after updating Windows 98

    The file is probably msvbvm60.dll, without the "F" & you probably have it. Why don't you try Doc's suggestions first & then see what happens. The Startup List is useful for someone else to see what you have running at startup, but I haven't used it on my machine because I know what's running at startup.

    However, as I think of it now, there's an easier way. You can go to Start/Run & type in
    msinfo32
    & then press <enter>. Under MS information, click the plus sign to expand software environment & then click Startup programs. Put the cursor on the top entry on the right side & press Shift+End. Then copy to the clipboard & paste in a text file.
    Cheers,

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Runtime Error after updating Windows 98

    There are Startup programs that come in all flavors. Many of the "first generation" Startup programs are too simplistic to discover where sneaky virus or trojan programs start.

    I investigated these fairly intensively about 6 months ago, and Startup List is the one that came out with the greatest number of results. The MSinfo32 list is fairly standard -- meaning that it was NOT designed to look into most clandestine startup places. If you really need to find where something nefarious is starting, I would recommend Startup List -- which is now incorporated into the "Hijack This" program.
    _____________________

    If the user is missing the Visual Basic Virtual Machine Dynamic Link Library, then Startup List will not run. I would recommend he download the latest version of the Visual Basic RunTime Library.

    You can get it here: VB Runtimes

  13. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Runtime Error after updating Windows 98

    Thanks again Phil and Doc Watson; however; I still have not been able to solve the problem.

    Doc Watson: on starting up, the computer presents an internet connection dialog box that refuses to go away. Neither the close box nor "cancel" nor even the Ctrl-Alt-Del (Close Program) / End Task does the trick.

    Since this problem came up, I ran a complete Virus Scan with updated definitions (Norton 2003) and also (following a suggestion on this forum) downloaded, updated and ran Spybot Search and Destroy. Still have the problem!

    Phil: my computer wouldn't run msinfo32 (claimed it couldn't find a necessary file). From msconfig, here are the programs listed under "Startup":

    Netzip Smartdownloader
    AOL Instant Messenger
    AIM (in Netscape folder)
    System Tray
    RealTray
    ScanRegistry
    TaskMonitor
    LoadPowerProfile
    Vshwin32EXE (in McAfee VirusScan folder)
    QD FastAndSafe
    Mouse Suite 98 Daemon
    ccApp (in Symantec Shared folder)
    ccRegVfy (in Symantec Shared folder)
    LoadPowerProfile
    Scheduling Agent
    Vshwin32EXE (in McAfee VirusScan folder)
    CSINJECT.EXE (in CleanSweep folder)
    ccEvtMgr (in Symantec Shared folder)
    ScriptBlocking (in Symantec Shared folder)
    CleanSweep Usage Watch (in CleanSweep folder)
    CleanSweep Smart Sweep-Internet Sweep (in CleanSweep folder)
    Office Startup
    Microsoft Office Shortcut Bar
    Microsoft Find Fast
    run= (in QBWINDITTO.EXE folder)

    I no longer use Clean Sweep or McAfee anti-virus, so should I first try unchecking those? Any other suggestions?

    Thanks.

    Joel

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Runtime Error after updating Windows 98

    Uncheck about 95% of your Startup items and see if that eliminates the problem. If not, then msconfig was simply not powerful enough to catch the startup problem.

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Runtime Error after updating Windows 98

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by Phil Rabichow on 30-Sep-03 13:46. to add the last line)</P>Hi Joel:
    In the table below, I've given my opinion of what you should do. I've left blank where I don't know. I put a question where I think you should go to one of the sites I've listed & research it. An X means UNcheck it. If you can't open msconfig, you might have to open regedit itself & search for the Run & RunServices branches. Some of these might be in your startup folder under C:WINDOWSStart MenuProgramsStartUp. You can remove them.

    Go to these sites to research what's in your startup. here, Also, go to the site here for a very extensive and informative list. The startup tips section of this site is also very helpful and informative for troubleshooting and information:here.

    Finally, here is the table:<table border=1><td valign=top>Netzip Smartdownloader</td><td valign=top>x</td><td valign=top>AOL Instant Messenger</td><td valign=top>XXX This is probably the cause</td><td valign=top>AIM (in Netscape folder)</td><td valign=top>XXX This is probably the cause</td><td valign=top>System Tray</td><td valign=top>Keep</td><td valign=top>RealTray</td><td valign=top>?</td><td valign=top>ScanRegistry</td><td valign=top>Keep</td><td valign=top>TaskMonitor</td><td valign=top>Keep</td><td valign=top>LoadPowerProfile</td><td valign=top>Keep</td><td valign=top>Vshwin32EXE (in McAfee VirusScan folder)</td><td valign=top>uninstall</td><td valign=top>QD FastAndSafe</td><td valign=top>?</td><td valign=top>Mouse Suite 98 Daemon</td><td valign=top>Probably keep; this may include your mouse software</td><td valign=top>ccApp (in Symantec Shared folder)</td><td valign=top></td><td valign=top>ccRegVfy (in Symantec Shared folder)</td><td valign=top></td><td valign=top>LoadPowerProfile</td><td valign=top>Keep</td><td valign=top>Scheduling Agent</td><td valign=top>Keep</td><td valign=top>Vshwin32EXE (in McAfee VirusScan folder)</td><td valign=top>uninstall</td><td valign=top>CSINJECT.EXE (in CleanSweep folder)</td><td valign=top>uninstall</td><td valign=top>ccEvtMgr (in Symantec Shared folder)</td><td valign=top></td><td valign=top>ScriptBlocking (in Symantec Shared folder)</td><td valign=top></td><td valign=top>CleanSweep Usage Watch (in CleanSweep folder)</td><td valign=top>uninstall</td><td valign=top>CleanSweep Smart Sweep-Internet Sweep (in CleanSweep folder)</td><td valign=top>uninstall</td><td valign=top>Office Startup</td><td valign=top>x</td><td valign=top>Microsoft Office Shortcut Bar</td><td valign=top>I don't think you need it at startup, but optional</td><td valign=top>Microsoft Find Fast</td><td valign=top>x</td><td valign=top>run= (in QBWINDITTO.EXE folder)</td><td valign=top>?</td></table>

    Additional: Try unloading all the Symantec entries (temporarily) & see if it helps.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •