Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    * Windows Update * (XP Home SP1)

    Dell Inspiron 5100, new. Setting up and configuring for family member. Went to Windows Update and after selecting 'Scan for updates', was greeted with error message and unable to review what is needed. I found this odd. Went to Windows Update on my computer and was greeted with same despite never having a problem before.

    I know there have been some posts, but nothing seems definitive. The site has been this way for over a week now. Is this on the MS end? Is it sporadic or temporary? I went to the catalog, but I really am not going to troll through hundreds of hotfixes and guess which may or may not be needed on the new unit to bring it up to date.
    <center><IMG SRC=http://www.krymow.com/images/question.gif></center>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: * Windows Update * (XP Home SP1)

    Is *.microsoft.com in your Trusted Sites zone? WU uses an ActiveX control and perhaps you have locked down IE to prevent it from running?

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: * Windows Update * (XP Home SP1)

    Hi, Jefferson ~

    Yes, it is. This is even occurring on my unit as well as several others. All have the WU Class files and never encountered this previously. No recent updates and no browser lockdowns (IE on 2, Firebird on 2 and Avant on the others).

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    952
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: * Windows Update * (XP Home SP1)

    I just went to WU site and it worked fine for me. So it must be on your end.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: * Windows Update * (XP Home SP1)

    I agree with Jefferson on mentioning the trusted site ploy for completeness but I've never had to do that for software/Linksys or IE, and I doubt that will impact this for anyone's machine--anyway it's in your trusted sites as you posted. I'd run system file checker--it may help if there were some IE reason you weren't able to reach the site--doubt now very seriously it's anything on the MS server side.

    From Kelly at The Reg Hacks or VB Script may fix you. Kelly's A to Z under WU and Note Link to VB Script:


    The error message you're getting could be key. Giving the error message and any info you can grab over at Event Viewer that would supplement a number or phrases with it might help us as you know because there have been a number of error messages and go arounds archived on the web. "Eventvwr.msc" in the run box and stretch it out and take a look--or if you can try to access/reproduce your error message. I'd always take a look at:

    817753: Errors Occur When You Try to Install Updates from the Windows Update Web Site

    This is a Link to MSKB Search Windows Update Errors.

    There are tips for scenarios at the Win Update Troubleshooter you may "beentheredonethat" but if not, worth a look. Much of it's nebulous, but some specific and helpful. The first hyperlink has suggestions on not reaching Win Update. Also checkout the Windows Update FAQ.

    There is one MSKB about not reaching the site using an authenticating proxy server--don't know if that applies to your family member's situation. That'd be:

    312955: Windows Update May Not Work in Windows XP If an Authenticating Web Proxy Is Used

    __________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ______________
    But I'd recommend going to the MS Security site for getting all downloads, and I'll put up a link toward multiple downloads before you reboot. I don't use Win Update--I'm waiting for the revamp they announced coming sometime-- they said a year--and I'm glad I don't for reasons mentioned on previous threads, ie over 50% XP threads since Thursday were over Win Update Hotfixes.[/i]
    __________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ________________


    I'd take a look again at Posts 294875 here

    Also Post 294528

    Multiple links for Win Update Glitches are here:

    Post 288653

    Want to save time on multiple hotfixes you have to get in--use the Security site and this KB:

    296861: How to Install Multiple Windows Updates or Hotfixes with Only One Reboot
    __________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ________________

    hth,

    SMBP

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Windows Update (XP Home SP1)

    During the Blaster infestation when ISPs disabled DNS lookups many folks added entries to their hosts files to work around that. Were you one of them?

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: * Windows Update * (XP Home SP1)

    You are partially correct and partially incorrect. If it was on my end, then I would not get a message that the servers are temporarily unavailable. However, this was mere coincidence. This message was different than the one I received on the machine I was configuring and updating. I was able to get to the WU site later on my and other machines except for the Inspiron 5100 for which I started this thread.

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: * Windows Update * (XP Home SP1)

    Hi, SMBP ~

    I did a xp+home+"windows+update+error" Google and went through nearly all 729 links. You can find the sum of all available fixes, including the one and only from the MS WU Troubleshooting page for this error in 14+ levels spelled out here <IMG SRC=http://www.krymow.com/images/arrowbluer.gif> Windows Update Failure - Error Code 0x800A138F.

    Now the error code 0x800A138F is a general error code which points to the real error code Error 0x800C0005 in my Windows Update.log and that code means "Cannot locate the Internet server or proxy server" which is where I am now stuck as I have exhausted attempts of the known remedies for the scenario on the Dell and haven't located anything that addresses the specific second error code.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Update (XP Home SP1)

    Hi, Jefferson ~

    No, I wasn't. The first thing I did was check my HOSTS file knowing well that MS is using the server service of 'akamai.net' and that akamai serves up huge portions of advertising, so they are typically added to the HOSTS file. MS is using 'a248.e.akamai.net' to serve up the WU page. I have checked for expired certificates, checked for akamai in the restricted zone, reregisterd the crypt service and a bevy of DLLs. I see lots of posts for those who have come across a fix that may seem to work, but there seems to be no rhyme, reason, or consistency and unfortunately, none have worked for this unit yet. <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: * Windows Update * (XP Home SP1)

    Bruce--

    I'm a little mixed up which is within normal limits but there was one KB 312955, I linked above that deals with not reaching it with a proxy server "the connection may not succeed if you connect to the Web site through an authenticating Web proxy that uses integrated (NTLM) proxy authentication." I don't know a lot about this kind of setup, so I don't know if it would apply to you or not. Considering the error message, I have no idea if that applies to your setup or not, but I'm going to guess it doesn't.

    SMBP

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: * Windows Update * (XP Home SP1)

    Hi, SMBP ~

    I did apply the KB, but no luck. <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>

  12. #12
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Windows Update (XP Home SP1)

    Just as an aside, the actual updates themselves come from a Microsoft server, which was what folks had to add to their hosts files during the ISP DNS shut-off. Details would be in the old threads.

    Sorry, I don't have any other ideas. Maybe inquire of your ISP whether it is doing something.

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Update (XP Home SP1)

    Has to be the system, not the ISP since I can get there on my unit with no problem with the same ISP.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Windows Update (XP Home SP1)

    I must have misunderstood your original post. I thought both of the computers had identical errors.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •