Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Preserving Format in Cut and Paste

    I have been given several pages of columnarized pricing data in Word. The client has put the data in columns using a combination of Tabs, partial tabs?(the little sideway cross) and spaces. The result, using conversion to .prn and the <pre> system, still leaves a mess on a webpage.

    Swithching the client to Excel is not an option.

    How to I recover from this and go to columns in a line again on a webpage?

    Thanks

    Steve

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Preserving Format in Cut and Paste

    How much data? If this involves more than, say, 25 rows, here's what I suggest:

    [list=1]<LI>Make a legitimate Word table of the data.

    <UL><LI>The following assumes there are no missing data elements. If there are missing data elements, put in the nonbreaking space entity code (& nbsp ; without spaces) between the relevant tabs.

    <LI>Use Find and Replace to convert all multiple tabs to single tabs.

    [list=1]<LI>Find: ^t^t
    Replace With: ^t
    Replace All

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Preserving Format in Cut and Paste

    Hello J,
    Thanks for your suggestions. My client won't (can't ) change from using Word, because that is what his publisher in the monthly magazine wants. So I am stuck as I try to convert it to the Web Page. There are only 3 or 4 columns of numbers.

    I followed your instructions until I got to the Star Post comment and could not find it here. Give me some more clues where I might find it if you would.

    Thanks for your complete response

    Steve

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Preserving Format in Cut and Paste

    I'm afraid the original post is temporarily unavailable. I have de-archived the original post, but can not access the (important!) attachment that came witrh it.
    I believe Hans - the original author - is away at the moment but due back in a day or so. As soon as he returns I will ask him to repost the original if possible.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Preserving Format in Cut and Paste

    Dear J
    Have you found the StarPost macro for me to try?

    Thanks

    steve

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Preserving Format in Cut and Paste

    Here is a reconstruction of the original post, with the attachment.

    <img src=/w3timages/blueline.gif width=33% height=2>

    I thought it might come in handy to be able to create a simple table in Word or Excel and copy it to a post. I wrote a couple macros to achieve this. You will find them in the attached text file.

    Notes:

    Word
    <UL><LI>To make the macro available in all Word documents, you must put in into a module in Normal.dot or in a global template.
    <LI>You can copy the text of the Word macro from the attached text file and paste it into a module.
    <LI>You must have a reference to the Microsoft Forms 2.0 Object Library. To check this, in any module select Tools/References
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Preserving Format in Cut and Paste

    Dear J and HansV,
    Thank you very much. The suggestions worked very well. I found that my XP seemed to have Microsoft Forms 2.0 Object Library installed, for I could find no reference to it at all, so I just ignored the instruction given and it worked.

    Best
    SteveEyer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •