Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    New Lounger
    Thanks

Normal.dot changed in XP (XP Students/Teachers)

I am using Office XP for Students and Teachers. My normal.dot settings have changed and I cannot access any Word documents. Critical that I fix this since my version of software gives a hint that I am a college student who frantically needs access to my thesis research. I tried all the steps that were posted in Post: 197827 and none worked. Does that post only apply to Office 2000 and below?
    I have run my antivirus ( 2 seperate programs) and my spyware programs (all up to date). I am in stealth mode on the internet - according to "Shields Up" and I do as Woody says - open no e-mail attachments that I do not recognize - so I don't think I have any virus, trojan or worm responsible for this. Really appreciate any help any one can give me.
    Thanks

Thanks

Re: Normal.dot changed in XP (XP Students/Teachers)

> I cannot access any Word documents.

What have you tried:
    [list=1]<LI>File > Open...

New Lounger
    Thanks

If I try to open files from the File/Open command within the Word program OR from Windows Explorer /My Documents/FolderName/DocumentName/DblClick I receive an error message that says "the 'named'.doc is not available".
    I tried to repair Office with my program disk but that did not solve the problem. This also applies when I attempt to open a file from a floppy disk - still get the same message.I would like to avoid reformatting if at all possible. Some documents I have backups of but not all of them. Is the entire Word program corrupt or just the Open command?

Thanks

Copy one of these documents to the root of c: and make sure it has no spaces in the name (e.g., c:test.doc). If Word will open that, we can try to work out why it's having a problem with the file name. If not, we'll have to look into other problems.

Thanks