Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Jacksonville,NC, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Access 2000 (ProperCase Question)

    I know I have asked this once before, but without the search feature can't get back to the data you gave me, and my saved version is missing. In Access I know you can change the format of data in a table to upper or lower case with the < and > then symbols on the Format line, but what is the method to make the column Proper Case in Access. I have the macro in Excel that works beautifully, but Access is giving me a snit! All I can find is a method that allows me to do attempt this with SQL statements and working with SQL is not my strong suit.
    Thank you,
    Nannette
    NMP <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15>

    If you can't convince them, confuse them. - Harry Truman <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Jacksonville,NC, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access 2000 (ProperCase Question)

    Unless you know a method to this in a TABLE, nevermind. I remember now how to get it to work in a form, and think that was my limitation. For example, in the After update event of my control (Last_Name) I add:

    Last_Name = StrConv(Last_Name, vbProperCase)

    and that works well. Just thought something could be done about it in the table, but most times it is the Form you use to fill in data anyway.

    Should anyone know a method to fix this EASILY in an Access table, holler, else this will do.
    Thank you,
    Nannette
    NMP <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15>

    If you can't convince them, confuse them. - Harry Truman <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Access 2000 (ProperCase Question)

    If you want to propercase an entire table (or a single field in an entire table), you'll need to do it from an update query, but in a query, you can't use the built in constants, so you have to substitute their numeric value. If you want to use StrConv in a query to proper case a field, you need to do it like this:

    StrConv([Last_Name], 3)
    Charlotte

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Jacksonville,NC, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access 2000 (ProperCase Question)

    thank you charlotte, that worked great
    nannette
    NMP <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15>

    If you can't convince them, confuse them. - Harry Truman <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Jacksonville,NC, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access 2000 (ProperCase Question)

    Oh, one question Charlotte, if you would...what does the number 3 represent in this: StrConv([Last_Name], 3) ???
    NMP <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15>

    If you can't convince them, confuse them. - Harry Truman <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Access 2000 (ProperCase Question)

    3 is the numeric value assigned to the VBA constant vbProperCase. The SQL engine doesn't know anything about VBA constants, so you have to use the numeric equivalents in queries.
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •