Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    St-Bruno, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    A new user of FrontPage (FrontPage 2002)

    I am a new user to FrontPage and because I'm not sure of the correct vocabulary for what I want to do I am afraid to do something that will knock our site off the map. I have to download (if that is the correct term) the company's web site in order to get reports verifying the links. I will eventually make corrections and upload the corrected pages back to the web site. I'd appreciate it if someone could help me out. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: A new user of FrontPage (FrontPage 2002)

    I'm afraid I'm not clear on what the question is?
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: A new user of FrontPage (FrontPage 2002)

    Was your website developed and published using FrontPage? If so, you might want to open it in FrontPage and publish it back to your computer for editing. If it was not a FrontPage web in the first place, you can create a FP web on your computer and then import the entire site (I think, I've never actually done that).

    When you publish the site for testing, publish it to a sub-folder of your web site. For example, create a new folder on the server:

    http://www.mydomain.com/staging/

    and publish the web there. This will let you test without breaking the original site. (Or at least it should; I suppose there are some sites that might not like this.)

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: A new user of FrontPage (FrontPage 2002)

    First find out if FrontPage Server Extensions are enabled on the site, you can find out from the host if no one else. If so you can open the site live and publish back to your hard drive. Always go to Tools | Recalculate hyperlinks before publishing.

    Open up FrontPage close down any webs you have open

    Open the site live

    File | Open | on the pop up box click 'Web Folders' on the left hand menu
    Insert the url of the site you wish to open
    e.g.: http://accessfp.net/

    Click ok

    A box will appear asking for your username and password insert these press ok

    In FrontPage, click on the navigation view so you know when the site will appear.

    The site will load once it is fully loaded you may publish to your hard drive.

    File | Publish | insert the location on your harddrive you wish to publish to or make an empty web beforehand in preparation and insert that location

    When the site has finished publishing close the live site and open the one on your hard drive for editing.

    This will retain shared borders and the navigation view, importing the site will not, if they are used on the site. It might have been easier to decern if you do have F. S. E. on the site with the url.

    It is always good to have a back up so I recommend you do this anyway, and work on your hd then upload, you can of course use reports from your hd you don't need to work live. You know how to get reports to verify hyperlinks?

    hth Tina

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •