Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada, Ontario
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Autotext need accept change

    I have a real puzzle. I use a lot of autotexts for numerous things. As of a while ago, many when inserted mysteriously appear as though someone has marked them for change using the TRack change function. That is, a return address, let's say, will appear in green and underlined. If I right click and Accept Change, then it goes to normal. I have re-saved such entriues once the change has been accepted, but it happens again.

    any ideas?

    Thanks, Michael

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,870
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 266 Times in 243 Posts

    Re: Autotext need accept change

    Which version of Word are you using? Is it the entire autotext that is a revision or just selected lines/words of it?

    You say MANY of them do this, is there anything different about those that DON'T come is as revisions?
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada, Ontario
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autotext need accept change

    Thanks for the reply. I am using Office 2000, and there seems to be no rhyme or reason or logical correlation to which come up as marked for change and which do not - and I am a logician.

    yes, it is the entire entry. Iran the neat little macro from another thread and it listed all of my autotexts. Some came up marked as changed, others not. For example, I have a code, 'ex' that translates to an email address x - some are fine, others are not.

    [img]/w3timages/icons/yikes.gif[/img] it's baffling.

    Michael

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Autotext need accept change

    Michael,

    That really is baffling. Since it's intermittent, it's probably something going wrong with the application itself.
    Have you tried renaming and replacing your Normal.dot yet?

    Gary

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida, USA
    Posts
    901
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autotext need accept change

    Gary -- I think you're right. I suspect the "intermittent" is from documents created before and after Michael's "normal" or other template in File / New was created.
    My guess is that a common template on which the "problem" documents were created has Track Changes turned on.
    Karen

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •