Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: AVToolTip

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    San Diego, California, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    AVToolTip

    When exiting Windows after using the Adobe Acrobat Reader plug-in to view a pdf file, I get a message that a program called AVToolTipView is busy and I have to press Ctrl-Alt-Del to manually close the program before I can shut down. Does anyone know how to get rid of this problem? I would appreciate any help or ideas.

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    San Diego, California, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AVToolTip

    Thanks for the info about Acroread from Agent Ransack--I think I'll download that program for future reference.

    I found the same two links on Google, and agree, neither was helpful. I eventually discovered that the file was somehow related to Acrobat Reader.
    I'll try reinstalling Acrobat and see if that helps.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AVToolTip

    I must say, a search of Google is distincly un-helpful:

    AVToolTipView
    AVToolTipView anybody?

    The only thing that is clear is that Acrobat Reader is responsible for the problem. Maybe you need to re-install?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: AVToolTip

    For others reading this thread: see <post#=298800>post 298800</post#> for the solution.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Texas UTC -5:00, Texas
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AVToolTip

    Not to try to confuse things, but I think the latest version of Acrobat reader (v6) is called the Adobe Reader, when I downloaded it i did not see "Acrobat" anywhere in the name.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: AVToolTip

    That's correct, but the default installation folder C:Program FilesAdobeAcrobat 6.0 and the name of the executable AcroRd32.exe still refer to Acrobat. Is this relevant to the problem, or to the solution?

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Texas UTC -5:00, Texas
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AVToolTip

    When I iuninstalled Acrobat (V5) then nstalled the new Acrobat Reader (V6), and started to have trouble with it, i went into the Adobe folder and found both Acrobat Reader (V5)and Adobe Reader (V6) were in the same folder. I uninstalled both and reinstalled the regular Acrobat Reader (V5), which fixed mine. I did not try to install the reader v6 again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •