Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Gillingham, Kent, England
    Posts
    511
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    97 runtime with Access XP (Access 97 runtime)

    Would anyone know where to download Access 97 Runtime?

    I have a database that has always been installed with access 97 runtime installed by install shield. This has worked fine until a customer used Win XP with Office XP. All works ok until Access XP is run. It seems to overwrite some runtime components as the following error occurs when trying to run a 97 database after using Access XP:

    error: can

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 97 runtime with Access XP (Access 97 runtime)

    The 97 runtime requires the 97 Office Developers Edition. Windows remembers the latest version used and tries to use that the next time. Have you created a shortcut to the 97 database that includes the path to the 97 runtime executable? We do this all the time and have no problems using the 97 runtime on a machine with later versions of Access installed.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Gillingham, Kent, England
    Posts
    511
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 97 runtime with Access XP (Access 97 runtime)

    Sorry Charlotte I completely forgot to add that bit to my description.

    Im opening the access 97 database using the path Acces runtime got installed to with MSAccess.exe /excl /runtime and path & name of database.

    I installed a version of runtime found in the software directory on our network and everything worked fine, but I dont feel confident sending this to a customer as I don't know where it came from and appears to be some kind of network version. It only seems to error when using the Install shield version but i'd like to fully test it with a "proper" version of Access 97 runtime.

    If it requires 97 developers edition, would it be on that CD? (if so, ill be spending some time in the cupboard of many MSDN subscriptions and all of the other software accumilated over the years!).

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 97 runtime with Access XP (Access 97 runtime)

    The original runtime files should have been on the developers CD, yes, but not on the Access 97/Office 97 CD. If you have the developer's version, you have the license to redistribute the runtime files, which is all you need, but it sounds like your InstallShield package might have gotten damaged.
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 97 runtime with Access XP (Access 97 runtime)

    Does your shortcut include the full path and filename for the runtime executable? Otherwise, it will default to the full version of Access if you just reference Msaccess.exe.
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Gillingham, Kent, England
    Posts
    511
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 97 runtime with Access XP (Access 97 runtime)

    p.s. Thanks for looking anyway Charlotte, always very much appreciated.

    Regards,

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Gillingham, Kent, England
    Posts
    511
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 97 runtime with Access XP (Access 97 runtime)

    Edited by HansV to make link clickable

    Yes the shortcut does include all it should do.

    After a bit more research I have found that apparently it is a common problem with installshield and as they don't support the access runtime 97 object any more, and microsoft don't support Access 97 any more, I don't think there is going to be a fix in that area.

    However, a colleague found the link below which will apparently solve the problem. Its not exactly cheap but it will have to do until we get time to upgrade our program so it isn't based on Access 97.

    https://www.sagekey.com/products/acc97/object.asp

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 97 runtime with Access XP (Access 97 runtime)

    We use sagekey scripts with Wise installer for our A97 runtime installs and our XP runtime installs. They are very good scripts and well worth the cost.
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •