Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Timer

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Timer

    I have also put this question in the html forum, but thought it wortwhile posting here. Does anyone how to set up a timer so that after 30 seconds the page jumps to another page??? Note this is not a Frontpage enabled site, so it can't be a unique to FP trick..

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Timer

    Don't worry I go the answer I needed.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Timer

    A Meta Tag in HTML will do it (The Refresh Meta tag)
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Timer

    Cheers Catharine - thats what was suggested in the html forum and it has worked a treat. <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bremerton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Timer

    I need to have my site auto-refresh. The site is an Excel workbook (20 some pages) and the site is FrontPage enabled. The site contains only the coding supplied by the Publish function of FrontPage. Could you give me some specific detail of how to add code that will auto-refresh the whole site every 5 minutes or so. Every site user is accessing the site via cable modem, so speed is not a big issue, but data accuracy is.

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Timer

    Hi Mike
    Could I step in with a gentle reminder? The Lounge exists to help users solve problems. Now, you may well have had your particular difficulty sorted out - but would you just read over your thread and see how it could help another user with the same problem? Not very much, eh?
    Please if you've found an answer, or indeed got it in some other private way, would you share it with other readers? I looked in vain for the exact way to do this, and btw could not find it in the Lounge HTML Forum. A clear statement of what to do is worth a thousand expressions of thanks. Believe me.

    Cheers

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Timer

    You should find what you need her at the <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.submitcorner.com/Guide/Meta/>META Tag Guide</A> - look for Refresh.

    I'd originally pointed to this link in <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showthreaded.pl?Cat=&Board=front&Number=42134&page =&view=&sb=&o=&vc=1#Post42134>this post</A> although it was not obvious what the content was.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Timer

    MerC with all due respect I disagree with your comment. The thread had the answer from Catharine in post 29701 Refresh Tag "A Meta Tag in HTML will do it (The Refresh Meta tag)", to which I responded with thanks. Post 29679 from Jefferson in the HTML forum also answered my question with the same answer.

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Timer

    Hi Leif : slight misunderstanding here : I don't need the guidance, but someone else might have found the thread just a little less than they were looking for. Now at least they have a clear place to look. I do think, however, that the fact that 'Refresh' is not recommended (by using it your site could end up being banned by a search engine) should have merited a mention somewhere nearer home.

    Hi Mike : Imagine I'm not too far into HTML : do you feel the information would be enough for me to do anything useful? Even if it did, it could have been made far more explicit. Don't take it amiss - there's no obligation on you to do this : it's just more helpful that way.
    Didn't look that far back in the HTML Forum, but again it's a good idea not to make readers jump about from place to place trying to find something. OK for experienced Loungers; not so good for the tyros. Using a live link is an acceptable and generous gesture.

    Taking a slightly different tack, I'm not happy, personally, using the Refresh meta-tag. The reasons are set out in Leif's link above.

    Cheers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •