Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Fax Modem Windows XP

    Couldn't find a solution to this issue anywhere on this board. Hope I'm in the right place. After failing to get a solution from HP's help line, I'm turning to the Lounge!

    My question concerns making our computer work with our HP All-in-One to enable me to receive our faxes into the computer. I want to be able to determine if thefaxes should be printed or are just "junk" faxes. HP support tells me that the "6110 series doesn't have this capability", but the manual suggests it can work with computer's fax modem. I don't know how to set this up, however.

    Does anyone here know how to do what I am trying to do? Is this even the right place to ask?

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Fax Modem Windows XP

    Hi Linda,

    Take a look in Control Panel /Printers and Other Hardware / Printers and Faxes and in the Printers Tasks on the left select Setup Faxing and see where that takes you with your hardware setup. I'm not sure if it will allow you to use the HP Fax, but it should give you the capability to receive Faxes through your computer and then deceide what to print and what to trash.

    I use the WinFax Pro program from Symantec and leave a FAX machine out of it altogether. Here's a screen shot of my Printers and Faxes window.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Fax Modem Windows XP

    Thank you very much! Great "work around", it sounds like and the screen shot is very helpful. Will work with your solution over the weekend and let you know how I do.

    Really appreciate your prompt and easy to understand reply!!

    Linda

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Fax Modem Windows XP

    Hi DocWatson - hope you check back in here!

    Using your advice and the section on faxing in Pogue's Missing Manual XP book, I did find the fax program and set it up, using the wizard. As things are now, however, the HP All-in-One fax keeps picking up the faxes before the computer can. If I turn off Auto Answer on the HP, the line just keeps on ringing.

    I THINK that, in order for the computer to pick up the fax before the HP does, I have to:
    1. get the Windows fax program to begin on start up, and
    2. turn Off Auto Answer on the HP.

    #2 is easy, but I can't quite figure out how to do #1. Thought the way to do it would be to put Windows Fax in the StartUp folder so it starts when the computer is turned on. I found the "StartUp" folder all right, but don't know which part of Windows Fax to click and drag into it from Wondows Explorer.

    Can you - or a fellow Lounger - help me with this?

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Fax Modem Windows XP

    Couldn't have done the explaining as well as you did Stuart. <img src=/S/nope.gif border=0 alt=nope width=15 height=15> My setup is completely different because I'm using third party software for Faxing, so your instructions would seem to be exactly what Linda needs to complete her transition from Fax machine to computer-based Faxing. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>

    The only thing I might add Linda, is that you disconnect the phone line from the HP and leave that device out of the loop completely. One less thing to concern yourself with and if you're not using it for Faxing any longer, it doesn't need a phone connection.
    IMHO. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Fax Modem Windows XP

    Stuart and DocWatson,

    Thanks for the advice. I followed Stuart's easy directions and discovered that everything was already set up as he had directed. The problem is that the HP picks up incoming faxes after one ring.

    Re. disconnecting the HP phone line: we still will need to send paper faxes using the machine so I don't want it disabled. What my goal is is to use the HP as we currently do (partner often sends out handwritten faxes), but proofread incoming to save printing the "junk" ones.

    The salesman where we bought the HP suggested that the computer fax program wasn't starting up automatically at start up so the HP fax took precedence. Hence my desire to get the computer fax starting when the computer (Windows XP) does. Or does it start automatically when the computer comes on?

    Another thought I had: what if I changed the HP's # of rings before answering to higher than 1? Would that enable the computer to pick up first? Or, back to my earier question, is the computer fax even on unless I do something to turn it on?

    Sorry to be so dense about all this. I appreciate your patience in trying to explain it in a way I can understand!

    Linda

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Fax Modem Windows XP

    Try

    Start > Control Panel > Printers and Faxes > Fax >
    Tools > Fax Printer Configuration > Devices > Select your modem > Properties >
    Receive Tab > Automatic After 1 ring

    StuartR

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Fax Modem Windows XP

    Changing the fax device to more than 1 ring sounds like a good idea.
    You shouldn't need to "start" a program to enable incoming FAX - this is done by the FAX service.
    To check that the FAX service is started use Start > Run > Services.MSC > OK

    StuartR

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Fax Modem Windows XP

    If push comes to shove, there's a good chance your HP won't answer if you take all the blank paper out of it. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Fax Modem Windows XP

    Linda,

    I reiterate, take the HP out of the phone loop. If it's an all-in-one then it should have scanning capabilities. Scan any paper Faxes into the computer and send them from there.

    If you really want to keep the HP involved, I suppose that changing the setting to "do not answer", if it has a setting to do that, or upping the number of rings to the max should do it.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Fax Modem Windows XP

    Can someone tell me the difference(s) between the basic low end Win Fax that comes in Norton System Works and Win Fax Pro? I know that it's supposed to be significant and have always been advised to use higher end fax software like Win Fax Pro--I just want to get a grip on the why. Also do you prefer any type of Fax Modem for its features?

    Thanks,

    SMBP

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Fax Modem Windows XP

    Stuart, DocWatson and jscher,

    Okay, here's where I am:
    1. Great screen shot, Stuart. I went to services.MSC and found the fax, as in your shot. Mine, however, despite all the set up I'd done, did not have the fax "started" and it was on "manual". I did manage to change it so it read like yours -- "Started" and "Automatic".
    2. Test fax still answered by HP!
    3. Increased # of rings before answering to max (6 - could find nowhere to tell if not to answer at all); HP still picked up. Actually, the computer rang as if it were picking up, but the fax was still printed by the HP.
    4. Applied jscher's Gordian knot solution of removing the paper and, voila, the computer fax worked!

    My frustration is that I can't seem to figure out how to fix things so e that it works the way it should, even if the paper is in it. I know DocWatson wants me to remove the HP from the loop, but my even-more-non-techie-than-I partner is only comfortable using normal fax, not scan, to send faxes.

    At this point, should I just give up and keep paper tray empty? I'll do that, if you all advise it, but I would REALLY like to be able to figure this out! It has become a challenge! (yes, it is probably taking up more time than it is worth, ergo the question at the front of this paragraph!!)

    Regardless, thanks for all the support to date. I'll follow your advice re. continuing or not.

    Linda

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Fax Modem Windows XP

    Not many more suggestions, but it would be nice to know what model of HP All-In-1 this is, maybe that will inspire something.

    StuartR

  14. #14
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Fax Modem Windows XP

    Sorry about that. It's an HP All in One OfficeJet 6110.

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Fax Modem Windows XP

    Hey SMBP !!

    I'm afraid I didn't even know that System Works contained ANY version of ANY Fax program.

    Although I do use WinFax Pro v10 I only use it on a limited basis (basic Faxing) when the people I'm doing business with are so far behind the times that they insist on using Faxing as the only way to transfer documents between two places and / or parties. I know it has many advanced capabilities that I don't even know about nor do I take advatage of those I do know about (A Selection of Cover Page Templates, Fax, Fax by E-mail, Binary File Transfer, Scan and Send, a Cover Page Design Utility, a Maintenance Utility, and more) to any great degree. I like knowing I have those capabilities at my disposal if I need them though. And, I never really liked the MS Fax utility. I have little choice when it comes to the OS and Qffice Suites I use, but I'd just as soon not use their utilities when there are so many alternatives that do those jobs faster and more simply and efficiently. WinFAX Pro is one of those alternatives.

    As to the modem, I use the one that came with the computer. Works for me. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •