Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: triple boot?

  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    triple boot?

    I currently l have a dual boot system (W98se and W2k). It's using the W2k bootloader.
    I have a third partition that I want to load XP on.

    My questions (s) are:
    1) After loading XP, what bootloader will it default to use?
    2) Will it automatically add XP as the 3rd OS?
    3) Should XP be installed from the CD from DOS or starting from within W2k? The reason I ask this is because I'm trying to figure out why my system won't boot from my floppy (it reads from it fine, just won't boot from it). I haven't looked in the BIOS yet.

    Thanks
    --Ken

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: triple boot?

    The XP install will updaye the bootloader, and you will be given the new third choice. You can change the default loading OS by editing the "Boot.ini" file and make the setting there.

    You can startup the computer in in mode you wish, DOS with CD support, Win 98 or Win 2k. Put in your XP CD and let autorun run in win, or in DOS change to the CD and type in setup.
    Follow the instructions for clean install on the hard drive of your choice. Be sure to read the screens and follow the instructions.

    Been running these same OS's since the Beta days of XP.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: triple boot?

    Fantastic. Thanks. That's what I needed to hear. <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23>

    Any clues as to why I can't boot from my floppy? Will I need to access the CD from DOS mode before completed? If so, I'll need to make sure I get this figured out first. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    --KZ

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: triple boot?

    Are your BIOS settings set to boot to the floppy, CD and then the hard drive? If the hard drive is set first you will never get to the floppy.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: triple boot?

    Yep. For some reason it was trying the A LAST. Not sure, but it's fixed now. <img src=/S/stupidme.gif border=0 alt=stupidme width=30 height=30>

    I had to boot into W98 to make a good startup disk. Does W2k not have that function at all?

    --KZ

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: triple boot?

    Just a quick update to let everyone know that the triple boot worked super. No snags at all.

    The only thing I'm dealing with is that when I switch back to W2k, my mouse settings are back to the default. I update it, then go into XP, then back to W2k and I have to reset again. Isn't that strange? Each OS is on a separate partition.

    --KZ

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •